Author Topic: Tek CSA7404/TDS7000 repair project (Upgraded memory/CPU)  (Read 168309 times)

0 Members and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline Xyphro

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 71
  • Country: de
Re: Tek CSA7404/TDS7000 repair project (Upgraded memory/CPU)
« Reply #625 on: March 21, 2021, 01:43:22 pm »
Lets hope I get there again, that it tries to boot from floppy disc. Right now I think the SF810 board is broken.
Anybidy has a NLX board for sale?
Looking for a unique, cheap versatile USB to GPIB adapter with standard USBTMC interface?
Build it yourself :-) https://github.com/xyphro/UsbGpib
 

Offline charlyd

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 346
  • Country: nl
Re: Tek CSA7404/TDS7000 repair project (Upgraded memory/CPU)
« Reply #626 on: March 21, 2021, 04:12:18 pm »
Hi why not pull out the X86 board and feed it with external PSU.  of course check the coin battery for 3v. but i assume you already did.
connect a VGA monitor to the onboard svga.

and see what happens.
 

Offline Xyphro

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 71
  • Country: de
Re: Tek CSA7404/TDS7000 repair project (Upgraded memory/CPU)
« Reply #627 on: March 21, 2021, 04:41:37 pm »

That is feasible, but not easy as there is no AT or ATX supply connector. I have the riser pinout. Honestly, before soldering 30 cables for a test, I wait now for a new board to arrive from Israel. If this is not going to help, I will likely sell it.

As the signals and voltages towards the board are ok and it is not trying to boot, I expect the mainboard to be broken.
Looking for a unique, cheap versatile USB to GPIB adapter with standard USBTMC interface?
Build it yourself :-) https://github.com/xyphro/UsbGpib
 

Offline charlyd

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 346
  • Country: nl
Re: Tek CSA7404/TDS7000 repair project (Upgraded memory/CPU)
« Reply #628 on: March 21, 2021, 09:29:58 pm »
hi i would just pull the board out of the scope and connect by soldering at the end (printside)of the riser connector (the 4 voltages, +5/-5/+12/-12 wires from an old atx psu. and if the board is really dead there is not much to loose. checked caps already
« Last Edit: March 21, 2021, 09:32:12 pm by charlyd »
 

Offline Xyphro

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 71
  • Country: de
Re: Tek CSA7404/TDS7000 repair project (Upgraded memory/CPU)
« Reply #629 on: March 22, 2021, 06:44:52 pm »
Hi!

I need to run killcmos headless. I can out it in autostart.bat to do so. But: do I need to press any button? If so, which ones?

Best regards,

Kai
Edit:
I managed to run. Killcmos does not need any keypresses, it also resets the oc afzer execution. Bios was correctly shoeing that cmos data is corrupt.
Still my pc board boots only every now and then. I esit for replacement board.
The ppc works fine, just if the PC does not boot and show a vga signal, it is also not capable to load from harddisk its image. Story thus continues... :-(
« Last Edit: March 23, 2021, 09:12:29 pm by Xyphro »
Looking for a unique, cheap versatile USB to GPIB adapter with standard USBTMC interface?
Build it yourself :-) https://github.com/xyphro/UsbGpib
 

Offline RaymondMack

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 2
  • Country: us
Re: Tek CSA7404/TDS7000 repair project (Upgraded memory/CPU)
« Reply #630 on: April 28, 2021, 07:43:59 am »
Does anyone know what the fastest CPU that is supported on the Intel SU810 NLX mainboard is?

I have a 500MHz/128k/66FSB Mendocino Celeron that I would like to upgrade.

The "Intel SU810 Motherboard Specification Update" .pdf states that an 800MHz/256k/100FSB Coppermine Pentium III is the fastest drop-in upgrade (the P08 bios and up allow for 100MHz FSB PIIIs). This same document (dated Nov. 2000) references the P09 bios, so maybe the P10 bios (dated 2/7/2001) allows for faster CPUs?

Looking through the 26 pages of this thread, I've seen replies that say a 1100MHz/256k/100FSB Coppermine PIII will work with the SU810 and another that says they used a 1.2GHz/256k/100FSB Tualatin Celeron. I want to believe that last one is true, but my gut says that it shouldn't work due to the lower signaling voltage (1.25 AGTL vs 1.5 GTL+) that the Tualatins use.

The high clock speed Tualatin and 100FSB Coppermine based Celerons are significantly easier and cheaper to get than 100FSB Coppermine Pentium IIIs. If I can drop one of these newer Celerons in without having modify the CPU, like Tin did with his 1.4GHz/512k/133FSB Tualatin PIII and RadiSys SF810 board, I would love to do it.
« Last Edit: April 28, 2021, 09:08:44 am by RaymondMack »
 

Online Johnny10

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 778
  • Country: us
Re: Tek CSA7404/TDS7000 repair project (Upgraded memory/CPU)
« Reply #631 on: April 28, 2021, 11:14:21 am »
There is an eBay seller that has provided a kit to upgrade the TDS 7000 series.

You could contact him about the many options.
I found this a couple of years back as I repaired my two TDS7104s.

I wonder just how much of a difference faster CPU makes to oscilloscope?
Imagine boot-up would be faster but scope? I don't know.

https://www.ebay.com/itm/184796108047?hash=item2b06b4d50f:g:LQEAAOSwyytdYzXq






Tektronix TDS7104, DMM4050, HP 3561A, HP 35665, Tek 2465A, HP8903B, DSA602A, Tek 7854, 7834, HP3457A, Tek 575, 576, 577 Curve Tracers, Datron 4000, Datron 4000A, uTracer, HP5335A, EIP534B 20GHz Frequency Counter, TrueTime Rubidium, Sencore LC102, Tek TG506, TG501, SG503, HP 8568B
 

Offline RaymondMack

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 2
  • Country: us
Re: Tek CSA7404/TDS7000 repair project (Upgraded memory/CPU)
« Reply #632 on: April 28, 2021, 07:56:35 pm »
Thanks for the reply Johnny,

I sent the seller a message, and he said that they use an SL5Q PIII (1000/256/100/1.75V). This is a D0 core stepping, so the P10 bios probably supports the entire Coppermine PIII family (all the way to 1.1GHz). However, I'm not sure if the 100MHz FSB Coppermine Celerons are supported.

What CPU do you have installed in your oscilloscope?

With a 66MHz FSB Mendocino Celeron (having only MMX instructions), literally any 100MHz FSB CPU with SSE would improve boot time and responsiveness of the Windows environment. Since the oscilloscope interface is dependent on the host OS, I would think even the oscilloscope software should see at least a small improvement in responsiveness with a newer CPU.

(For anyone wanting to upgrade CPUs: The 810-DC100 requires A3 stepping of the chipset to be compatible with newer CPUs, regardless of bios version. So make sure the S-Spec is SL3P6 before trying to upgrade. Recommended memory is PC100-222-620, CL2 timings are used to address errata related to the integrated video card.)
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf