Author Topic: Tek CSA7404/TDS7000 repair project (Upgraded memory/CPU)  (Read 263761 times)

0 Members and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline drdiff

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 4
  • Country: us
Re: Tek CSA7404/TDS7000 repair project (Upgraded memory/CPU)
« Reply #750 on: April 17, 2023, 04:04:00 am »
No Crap-acitors today. I ran killcmos and got into bios finally. Thanks. Now when I boot, I get "Incorrect System! Press any key to reboot"
 :P
 

Offline coromonadalix

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 5285
  • Country: ca
Re: Tek CSA7404/TDS7000 repair project (Upgraded memory/CPU)
« Reply #751 on: April 17, 2023, 11:08:05 am »
find the magic recipe  for the drive ... until it sees it,   is there an auto detect mode in the ide / hhd bios settings  ?
 

Offline drdiff

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 4
  • Country: us
Re: Tek CSA7404/TDS7000 repair project (Upgraded memory/CPU)
« Reply #752 on: April 17, 2023, 05:14:33 pm »
Up and running! All I changed in CMOS was date/time and AGP -> PCI. (HDD was autodetect) It then came alive. :-+
Thanks for the help

Update: It's dead, Jim. Won't even power up now. Clicks off in a second.  :--

Update 2: Never give up! I tore it apart, yanked the PS to look for bad caps, found nothing. Put the PS back and tested it w/o the NLX board (there's a debug/pwron jumper on the PPC board). The power came on and the status was a ".8" on the 7seg LED. Put the NLX board back and it booted up again into a working scope. I was at this point before, then I put the case on and it wouldn't boot. I'll update after i inspect the interconnect boards under uScope then reassemble with case. Before I reassemble, I'm going to install a db9 on the back panel connected to the PPC. :-+

Update 3: Cut a hole in the chassis for a db9 - when I went to reassemble, it collided. Oops. Cut it a second time vertically and covered most of the mistake with aluminum tape. Doesn't look too bad and works great! I bought a Win7 upgrade kit from stlabs on eBay (SU810, PIII, DVD drive, 32G PATA SSD s/w preinstalled). They have a stripped down version of Win7 that boots up in reasonable time and gives me network access. Wasn't working at first, various behaviors. I contacted the seller and he suggested the riser to the NLX is fussy.

After some measurements, I found that the board wants to be parallel to the mounting plane at about 0.210" from the plate to the board bottom. This makes the card edge go into the connector without any stress with the connector at its correct position. After careful remounting, all problems are gone and it runs like a champ!
1773986-0
« Last Edit: May 02, 2023, 08:06:14 pm by drdiff »
 
The following users thanked this post: coromonadalix

Offline Yroger

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 12
  • Country: fr
Re: Tek CSA7404/TDS7000 repair project (Upgraded memory/CPU)
« Reply #753 on: April 26, 2023, 12:34:43 pm »
Good morning,
I've had a TDS 8200 for a month that wouldn't start. The problem was with the motherboard (leaky capacitors). At the same time I went through this discussion thread and checked the battery of the ppc card thinking that it was soldered on the chip so I removed the cover thinking that it was only a cover. what a disappointment when once removed I see that the battery is attached to the cover  :palm: There, I understand that the data from the chip is now gone somewhere in paradise...
Confirmation when booting unit that hangs on Tektronix software boot image. Although having acquired knowledge for repair from a hardware point of view, as far as programming is concerned, I am a beginner. I found thanks to this discussion thread how to establish a connection between my TDS and my pc via the rs232 and the J790 connector. I use as monitoring software: Advanced serial port monitor. For a week I have tried to enter various commands without success to date. Compared to what is mentioned several times throughout this discussion, I couldn't find the folder and file like many of you: c:/vxboot/vxWorks.st
I've only found this that comes closest: c:\Program Files\TDSCSA8000\Firmware\vxWorks.st
Copy my console log as it was before I started playing with it.

Quote
auto-booting...

Error in boot line:
¼ÿ.þ.çðk÷N¼¯ºŒ&Ô©d‰rãaÕo.°¯2‚?È•gµ~¹ÇÙÿ.¯.ᦽ‘÷‘ÈC..́ª€.¦WQÛîu²œ.Ø.¯«pK¦ŸF
H…&¢§ÿ1ÀOé.‘.N.
¿Ëî“Ÿ_.ØÏ|ÞÜ×x%td!´bqWöIù.Ê.Ð.B.RîRSçiÔ÷Ž"ÂÌ%”R:RZGN]J¿ú°`&Ò[
¥ìƒ^…òÏ“¾Û.ôr±Ý—ð².ætƒTc¥½ŽoNæ.ŽÍccv_.•[ÿ«S2.Ô./æ .>—$i.êë€..̃ükDg§!tûϏ¸ÖmÄZÂT@:Ï0.½Æ7>
                   ^
Can't load boot file!!

[VxWorks Boot]: Starting at 0xfff00100...



UUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUU

romPost: MPC106  Walking-one passed.

romPost: MPC106 configuration passed.

romPost: First PCI access  passed.

romPost: PC87560 Walking-one passed.

romPost: PC87560 configuration passed.

romPost: DEC21554 configuration passed.


romPost: PERFORMING ROM CHECKSUM TEST...

romPost: ROM checksum passed.


romPost: PERFORMING DRAM CELL TEST...

romPost: Enabling data cache...
romPost: Data cache enabled.
romPost: Enabling instruction cache...
romPost: Instruction cache enabled.

romPost: DRAM Cell test passed.
romPost: Disabling data Cache...
romPost: Data cache disabled.
romPost: Disabling instruction cache...
romPost: Instruction cache disabled.

romPost: PERFORMING DRAM MARCH TEST WITH CACHE OFF...
romPost: Writing address to each *address...
romPost: Reading address from each *address...
romPost: DRAM march test passed...

romPost: PERFORMING DRAM MARCH TEST WITH CACHE ON...

romPost: Enabling data cache...
romPost: Data cache enabled.
romPost: Enabling instruction cache...
romPost: Instruction cache enabled.
romPost: Writing address to each *address...
romPost: Reading address from each *address...
romPost: DRAM march test passed...

romPost: PERFORMING DRAM WALKING-ONE  TEST...

romPost: DRAM Walking-one test passed.

romPost: PERFORMING NV-MEMORY WALKING-ONE  TEST...

romPost: NV-MEMORY Walking-one test passed.
romPost: Disabling data Cache...
romPost: Data cache disabled.
romPost: Disabling instruction cache...
romPost: Instruction cache disabled.
romPost: Enabling instruction cache...
romPost: Instruction cache enabled.


romPost: POWER-UP DIAGNOSTIC COMPLETE.

Hel




                  VxWorks System Boot


Copyright 1984-1996  Wind River Systems, Inc.


CPU: Tektronix HPP - PowerPC 740
Version: 5.3.1
BSP version: 1.0.3
Creation date: Jul 26 2002, 10:13:07


Press any key to stop auto-boot...
 7
 6
 5
 4
 3
 2
 1
 0

Here are the system properties:



Where can I find this vxworks folder ?




By this message I hope to find a help, thank you in advance. To read to you.
« Last Edit: April 29, 2023, 08:34:56 am by Yroger »
 

Offline coromonadalix

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 5285
  • Country: ca
Re: Tek CSA7404/TDS7000 repair project (Upgraded memory/CPU)
« Reply #754 on: April 26, 2023, 06:13:29 pm »
I dont think you have more hdd partitions

Normally vxWorks sit on the C:\     or root  if i may say

Can you re-install the scope software ?  dont know for the 8000 series


and we see after the auto booting message  you have garbage ...  corruption issues /  file issues   

I dont think  just loosing the battery would cause this ?    our  tds7254B  still booted after the dallas died on me ?  sure the cal   will take a hit,  but you should  be able to do an spc check ??

« Last Edit: April 26, 2023, 06:16:03 pm by coromonadalix »
 

Offline Yroger

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 12
  • Country: fr
Re: Tek CSA7404/TDS7000 repair project (Upgraded memory/CPU)
« Reply #755 on: April 26, 2023, 10:14:34 pm »
Thank you for the answer. I'm not at all familiar with command lines. I'm playing a little sorcerer's apprentice to tell you the truth...
For me I only have the vxWorks file found here:



« Last Edit: April 26, 2023, 10:18:11 pm by Yroger »
 

Offline Yroger

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 12
  • Country: fr
Re: Tek CSA7404/TDS7000 repair project (Upgraded memory/CPU)
« Reply #756 on: April 26, 2023, 11:17:43 pm »
By carrying out multiple tests I managed to partially load the program but it stops as shown in the quote below.  :-// Does anyone understand what this means ?? I don't have a topscript file on my disk ??!!



Initializing backplane net with anchor at 0x1e80000... done.
Backplane anchor at 0x1e80000... Attaching network interface sm0... done
done.
Attaching network intPC1 dio device driver installed
erface lo0... done.
Attaching DIO client... done.
Loading c:\vxWorks.st...1771964
Starting at 0x200000...

Initializing backplane net with anchor at 0x1de0010... done.
Backplane anchor at 0x1de0010... Attaching network interface sm0... done
done.
PC1 dio device driver installed
Attaching network interface lo0... done.

Adding 6006 symbols for standalone.
 =========
Adding 6006 symbols for standalone.
 

 ]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]
 ]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]
 ]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]
      ]]]]]]]]]]]  ]]]]     ]]]]]]]]]]       ]]              ]]]]         (R)
 ]     ]]]]]]]]]  ]]]]]]     ]]]]]]]]       ]]               ]]]]           
 ]]     ]]]]]]]  ]]]]]]]]     ]]]]]] ]     ]]                ]]]]           
 ]]]     ]]]]] ]    ]]]  ]     ]]]] ]]]   ]]]]]]]]]  ]]]] ]] ]]]]  ]]   ]]]]]
 ]]]]     ]]]  ]]    ]  ]]]     ]] ]]]]] ]]]]]]   ]] ]]]]]]] ]]]] ]]   ]]]] 
 ]]]]]     ]  ]]]]     ]]]]]      ]]]]]]]] ]]]]   ]] ]]]]    ]]]]]]]    ]]]]
 ]]]]]]      ]]]]]     ]]]]]]    ]  ]]]]]  ]]]]   ]] ]]]]    ]]]]]]]]    ]]]]
 ]]]]]]]    ]]]]]  ]    ]]]]]]  ]    ]]]   ]]]]   ]] ]]]]    ]]]] ]]]]    ]]]]
 ]]]]]]]]  ]]]]]  ]]]    ]]]]]]]      ]     ]]]]]]]  ]]]]    ]]]]  ]]]] ]]]]]
 ]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]
 ]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]       Development System
 ]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]
 ]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]       VxWorks version 5.3.1
 ]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]       KERNEL: WIND version 2.5
 ]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]       Copyright Wind River Systems, Inc., 1984-1997

                               CPU: Tektronix HPP - PowerPC 740.  Processor #0.
                              Memory Size: 0x2000000.  BSP version 1.0.3.5.
                             WDB: Ready.

usrNvFsInit: NAME=/nvram BASE=0xfd0ff100 BPRB=412 BPRT=8 NBR=8 BO=0
nvfs: STATUS: Mounting existing NVRAM file system
KERNEL: THERMAL CONTROL INITIATED
Executing startup script c:\vxWorks.st ...
dbFsIoctl: invalid code 3
ELF...
syntax error

Done executing startup script c:\vxWorks.st
KERNEL:  RUNNING TIME SLICED AT 10 TICKS PER SLICE!
-> [/quote]
« Last Edit: April 29, 2023, 08:36:13 am by Yroger »
 

Offline coromonadalix

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 5285
  • Country: ca
Re: Tek CSA7404/TDS7000 repair project (Upgraded memory/CPU)
« Reply #757 on: April 27, 2023, 12:50:52 am »
in 2019 on a thread    answered by TIN


You need to use c:\vxBoot\topScript.hw in standard config.

??


https://www.eevblog.com/forum/testgear/tektronix-tds7104-scope-hang-on-splash-screen/
 

Offline Yroger

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 12
  • Country: fr
Re: Tek CSA7404/TDS7000 repair project (Upgraded memory/CPU)
« Reply #758 on: April 27, 2023, 09:01:43 am »
Good morning,
thanks for the help !
I copied pasted the text displayed in the wen page of the indicated link; but I'm no further ahead. Maybe we could try to load the complete missing files. Could someone pass me the VxWorks Boot or vxboot folder  and topscript.hw ??
« Last Edit: April 27, 2023, 09:05:49 am by Yroger »
 

Offline charlyd

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 513
  • Country: nl
Re: Tek CSA7404/TDS7000 repair project (Upgraded memory/CPU)
« Reply #759 on: April 27, 2023, 09:17:29 am »
goodmoring @Yroger  swap out your NVram.  95% it died overtime, sure there lies part of your problem.

then run a clearDB ( see topscript) and you be good to go.. also check you 3v batteries on the MB boards. and swap them  ;-)
« Last Edit: April 27, 2023, 09:19:23 am by charlyd »
 

Offline Yroger

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 12
  • Country: fr
Re: Tek CSA7404/TDS7000 repair project (Upgraded memory/CPU)
« Reply #760 on: April 27, 2023, 09:47:04 am »
My ppc battery is ok !!
nvram dallas acquisition board battery is ok !! This is what is displayed now. it looks like it's progressing...a little...
What is displayed in the last lines, I am not a programmer and I do not see what he is talking about ??


Quote
]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]
 ]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]
 ]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]
      ]]]]]]]]]]]  ]]]]     ]]]]]]]]]]       ]]              ]]]]         (R)
 ]     ]]]]]]]]]  ]]]]]]     ]]]]]]]]       ]]               ]]]]           
 ]]     ]]]]]]]  ]]]]]]]]     ]]]]]] ]     ]]                ]]]]           
 ]]]     ]]]]] ]    ]]]  ]     ]]]] ]]]   ]]]]]]]]]  ]]]] ]] ]]]]  ]]   ]]]]]
 ]]]]     ]]]  ]]    ]  ]]]     ]] ]]]]] ]]]]]]   ]] ]]]]]]] ]]]] ]]   ]]]] 
 ]]]]]     ]  ]]]]     ]]]]]      ]]]]]]]] ]]]]   ]] ]]]]    ]]]]]]]    ]]]]
 ]]]]]]      ]]]]]     ]]]]]]    ]  ]]]]]  ]]]]   ]] ]]]]    ]]]]]]]]    ]]]]
 ]]]]]]]    ]]]]]  ]    ]]]]]]  ]    ]]]   ]]]]   ]] ]]]]    ]]]] ]]]]    ]]]]
 ]]]]]]]]  ]]]]]  ]]]    ]]]]]]]      ]     ]]]]]]]  ]]]]    ]]]]  ]]]] ]]]]]
 ]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]
 ]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]       Development System
 ]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]
 ]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]       VxWorks version 5.3.1
 ]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]       KERNEL: WIND version 2.5
 ]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]]       Copyright Wind River Systems, Inc., 1984-1997

                               CPU: Tektronix HPP - PowerPC 740.  Processor #0.
                              Memory Size: 0x2000000.  BSP version 1.0.3.5.
                             WDB: Ready.

usrNvFsInit: NAME=/nvram BASE=0xfd0ff100 BPB=512 BPT=8 NB=8 BO=0
nvfs: STATUS: Mounting existing NVRAM file system
KERNEL: THERMAL CONTROL INITIATED
Executing startup script c:\dio_rst.vsh ...
dbFsIoctl: invalid code 3
    ################### topScript starts ###############################




         cd "dbfs:c:/dio_rst.vsh"

value = 0 = 0x0


value = 0 = 0x0

"value" is overloaded - Please select:
    1: value__C24RWHashDictionaryIteratorP13RWCollectable
    2: value__C24RWCollectableAssociation
    3: value__C24RWHashDictionaryIterator
    4: value__24RWCollectableAssociationP13RWCollectable
Enter <number> to select, anything else to stop: new symbol "value" added to symbol table.
value = 0x1d90c00: value = 0 = 0x0

Done executing startup script c:\dio_rst.vsh
KERNEL:  RUNNING TIME SLICED AT 10 TICKS PER SLICE!

Quote
then run a clearDB ( see topscript)

Where can i find it?
« Last Edit: April 27, 2023, 09:52:12 am by Yroger »
 

Offline charlyd

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 513
  • Country: nl
Re: Tek CSA7404/TDS7000 repair project (Upgraded memory/CPU)
« Reply #761 on: May 15, 2023, 01:25:12 pm »
@Yroger

replace your NVram and follow the procedure  as written many times here in the topic. 
99% of al the weird messages and corruption while booting are Dallas - NVram related !!


these errors like in the log are NVRam related it is not only the battery which is important .. just swap out.  the nvram

- booting ->  re-enter the right bootsetting
- clearDB -procedure (topscript.hw)  !!  unhide  system folders in windows and you l find vxboot dir in the root of c:\  ( make a complete copy before your edit anything )
- rebuild NVram content from you eeprom field cal.  by booting few times and follow the debug what is happening.

after putting back the remark in line # clearDB.....     2 more reboots should do the work

btw post here your boot settings please. so we can check if they are good
« Last Edit: May 15, 2023, 01:31:32 pm by charlyd »
 

Offline Yroger

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 12
  • Country: fr
Re: Tek CSA7404/TDS7000 repair project (Upgraded memory/CPU)
« Reply #762 on: May 19, 2023, 08:16:54 am »
Good morning,
as said previously I have no Vxboot folder on the hard drive even when displaying the hidden folders and files of the system !! Maybe it's named differently as the scope is from the 8000 series... I only found files that looked a bit similar in the firmware folder see below:

[url=https://ibb.co/jDwsdNf]TDS8200" border="0[/url]

Thank you for help
 

Offline charlyd

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 513
  • Country: nl
Re: Tek CSA7404/TDS7000 repair project (Upgraded memory/CPU)
« Reply #763 on: July 12, 2023, 06:49:23 pm »
ok.check in your boot settings after you connected to you debug port.  with a terminal progr. and check if the correct files is set.
 

Offline charlyd

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 513
  • Country: nl
Re: Tek CSA7404/TDS7000 repair project (Upgraded memory/CPU)
« Reply #764 on: August 06, 2023, 10:30:23 am »
i have a TDS7154 for repair with option  Available 60.  displayed
i guess it is TDSET2 because  ET2 is written on the back i have option software TDSET3 (TDSET2 is not downloadble anymore) but that does not clear my avail. 60 in the option screen  does anybody still have the install file TDSET2 or know how to get rit of the available 60. in the option screen list. when using TDSET3 software.

is this a registry setting or something? where Ethernet Compliance is getting filled in?

i still have old OS (chinese version) where parts of the option are visible in some folders as tdset2 folder, what do i need?
« Last Edit: August 06, 2023, 11:07:58 am by charlyd »
 

Offline charlyd

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 513
  • Country: nl
Re: Tek CSA7404/TDS7000 repair project (Upgraded memory/CPU)
« Reply #765 on: August 06, 2023, 03:09:27 pm »
i went for a second strategy taking the orginal disk (chinese W2K) and tried to change the language back to let say 0409  English US
i  copied in the complete documents and settings from the english OS disk W2KSP3 so after a reboot i could read the most again.. apart from the  logonscreen and the shutdown screen.

i tried to  swap out the whole  winnt\system32\config  folder and yes that helped met getting  the OS to english but my options were broken .  grrrrr  so now i am looking for how to easy change the loginscreen and shutdown screen.

is this a registry setting which i overlooked or do i need to swap some files? if yes which onces. .?

and not to forget i still haven t back my ascii set  so no backshlash  and more and chinese caracters so  where can this be changed?
« Last Edit: August 06, 2023, 03:11:48 pm by charlyd »
 

Offline coromonadalix

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 5285
  • Country: ca
Re: Tek CSA7404/TDS7000 repair project (Upgraded memory/CPU)
« Reply #766 on: August 07, 2023, 12:57:48 am »
i think you should start all new and re-install everything ....

the tek software is still available for the 7k series, and you have updates files too to add into your installation,  but for your option,  maybe   before going too far, an registry export  should be good

ill check in the 7254 at my job

maybe some people here, can chime and check for this folder ??

@charlyD  there is some tek  option generator code here, python based ??
or

startup script c:\vxBoot\dio_rst.vsh   ???

BUt if i recall was the options loaded thru     vxboot   topScript.hw  file at boot stage ??

« Last Edit: August 07, 2023, 01:48:46 am by coromonadalix »
 

Offline charlyd

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 513
  • Country: nl
Re: Tek CSA7404/TDS7000 repair project (Upgraded memory/CPU)
« Reply #767 on: August 07, 2023, 09:02:57 am »
Hi why should i reinstall if this disk is working ok.
apart from drivers difference the disks are a sort of interchangable. which does not mean you don t have to do anything.
i don t have the W2K restore disks for the SF810 boards and the TDSet2 is not downloadable anywhere i found in the manual from TDSet3 you need to uninstall TDSet2 first but then it doesn t fill the option Ethernet Compliance or whatis called.

so the chinese pre-install works great, with a small last little problem the  correct  caracters and logon and shutdown in chinese. both are ok when i swap out the  system32\config

so it must be in the registry hive somewhere. i will  come back on this one as soon as it is fixed.
 

Offline coromonadalix

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 5285
  • Country: ca
Re: Tek CSA7404/TDS7000 repair project (Upgraded memory/CPU)
« Reply #768 on: August 07, 2023, 10:39:56 am »
i think you should try to correctly install win2k language pack .... it should correct your keyboard login logout   etc ...

ill poke in our scope later today or this week  for tdset2 ....   if you have this folder  do you see some inf files ?? an executable  ???

do you really need this option ?


for the registry, i'm not so sure  it will be easy,  normally you export all related registry keys in to a reg file and try to import it ...   switching hive files is not simple,  you need all the other drivers folders etc ... and you do it on an second computer with your bootable drive and you chineese one ...  the scope os must not load ...

Im not sure (no pun intended)  the win2k registry contains all you need,  i think  tekscope is seen as an application on top of windows, and contain all it need to work ... i think  the secrets may reside in the VXWORK folder(s)

checking all the scripts  etc  ... may help you  ???   
« Last Edit: August 07, 2023, 10:53:34 am by coromonadalix »
 

Offline charlyd

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 513
  • Country: nl
Re: Tek CSA7404/TDS7000 repair project (Upgraded memory/CPU)
« Reply #769 on: August 07, 2023, 10:52:23 am »
Hi thanks for your reply. i tried the language packs already but will try again.  i want to bring the unit to its original (options) state which is ST and ET2 .  i exported parts of the registry already from the english US  installed OS but i can not get the right part one way or another. things to do which if found on the web will not work .....yet.  or let say it different i didn t find the right clue.

btw i even tried  SP4 _english  and changed some reg setting to 0409  but nothing
 

Offline coromonadalix

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 5285
  • Country: ca
Re: Tek CSA7404/TDS7000 repair project (Upgraded memory/CPU)
« Reply #770 on: August 07, 2023, 11:59:43 am »
Sadly   

TDS7254B on Xp Sp3
TDS7404   on Win98

both  are TDSET3  ????

no setup file where laying around ??     :(
 

Offline charlyd

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 513
  • Country: nl
Re: Tek CSA7404/TDS7000 repair project (Upgraded memory/CPU)
« Reply #771 on: August 07, 2023, 03:32:06 pm »
i fixed everything despide it took me a long time, i had to change the codepage from 936 back to 850 and the oemcp and acp in the registry and unstall the east asia lang. with the MUI language pack.  but all English now and loaded wirh options .thanks for the help and your time @coromonadalix
« Last Edit: August 08, 2023, 04:20:48 pm by charlyd »
 
The following users thanked this post: coromonadalix

Offline charlyd

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 513
  • Country: nl
Re: Tek CSA7404/TDS7000 repair project (Upgraded memory/CPU)
« Reply #772 on: August 08, 2023, 04:23:44 pm »
did people here workput which option byte is which
in the keygen. i saw lots of reader.txt but most of them were tables and Keys from units.  so directions are welcome.

i posted already here first two is 4m(long record length) , second two is ST and SM.   
and for the rest i am curious...
« Last Edit: August 08, 2023, 04:33:19 pm by charlyd »
 

Offline sintoodio

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 5
  • Country: br
Re: Tek CSA7404/TDS7000 repair project (Upgraded memory/CPU)
« Reply #773 on: August 10, 2023, 01:13:31 pm »
hi everyone, really glad to learn from this thread. recently i got a tds7104,boot stop at the scope start screen,I use vxboot to reset and now it boots ok.
but self test ,it reports 521 factory cal integrity ,factory cal data error. I read the boot log,it seems that it can't open some cal file in C:\vxboot\calcon. And i checked in C:\vxboot\calcon, there do missed cal file named 1 to 8 and 15,could this be the cause of error 521? Can anybody share the files ?  Or any other suggestion.


Error 521 is the EEPROM on the acquisition board has been corrupted. It's reference designation is U1052.
Here is a known good U1052 binary from a TDS7104. Obviously it won't have the correct constants for your scope, but it will get rid of the error.
Otherwise you'll need to have a proper calibration with adjustments done.



Thanks your U1502 binary files ,I fix my TDS7104 521 errors
 :) :clap:

Thanks charlyd give me a lot guide and advices :popcorn:

Hey bg8aak, Good Morning, I sent you a private message, could you reply?
 

Offline charlyd

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 513
  • Country: nl
Re: Tek CSA7404/TDS7000 repair project (Upgraded memory/CPU)
« Reply #774 on: August 13, 2023, 06:39:08 pm »
thanks for the compliment 😉.

can anybody help me with TDSSET2  and maybe other older options. i have  both option CD/DVDs posted here on the evv.
but i am looking for separate options not on those cd/dvd.

which could be downloaden in the earlier days....

can you help me out so i can reinstall them.   now they start but nothing happens i see a sort of opening the option and then disappear in the corner , no error is displayed so that ok.
may i can check some settings so al is in place?
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf