Author Topic: AMPX1 Process Calibrator Multimeter  (Read 571 times)

Illusionist, gnavigator1007, Kean, kosomsk and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Online amspire

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 3763
  • Country: au
AMPX1 Process Calibrator Multimeter
« on: October 10, 2019, 11:33:52 am »
Here is some code to dump the USB output of the "INSANE A 0.02% Process Meter for $9? WTF" multimeter describes in Dave's #1248 blog.

It is a modified version of the code from this site:

https://sourceforge.net/projects/qm1571-multimeter/files/

It gives a continuous output like this:

+2.496 V DC, AUTO
+2.496 V DC, AUTO
+2.496 V DC, AUTO
+2.496 V DC, AUTO
+2.496 V DC, AUTO

You have to edit it for the correct COM port. This one is set to COM3, but check Device Manager for the correct port. For Linux, you will have to change it to something like '/dev/ttyUSB0'.

It should work with Python 2 and 3, but I tested it on Python 3.7.

Richard
« Last Edit: October 10, 2019, 12:11:25 pm by amspire »
 
The following users thanked this post: BravoV, thm_w, Xenoamor, Electro Detective, Kosmic

Online amspire

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 3763
  • Country: au
Re: AMPX1 Process Calibrator Multimeter
« Reply #1 on: October 10, 2019, 12:08:59 pm »
Found a couple of typo's. Here is an updated version.

If the code from the multimeter is messed up, you get an output like this:

-018.0 mV DC, AUTO
-018.0 mV DC, AUTO
? 17.2f.3d.40.55.67.7f.8f.9d.a0.b8.c0.c0.e8
-018.0 mV DC, AUTO
-018.0 mV DC, AUTO

In this case, there were two 0xC0's and the 0xD0 was missing.
 

Online amspire

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 3763
  • Country: au
Re: AMPX1 Process Calibrator Multimeter
« Reply #2 on: October 10, 2019, 01:18:27 pm »
This program also works to capture the serial output of the AMPX1:
http://www.postcogito.org/Kiko/UtSixtyEDecoder.html#Features

This means that it should be possible to get Sigrok to work, but I haven't worked out how to use it yet. Sigrok-cli can see the Silabs CP2101 on the COM3 port, but when I run this:

sigrok-cli -d uni-t-ut60e:conn=COM3  -C P1 --continuous -O analog

it complains about no HID-PID. There should be a way to use the com port, but the documentation is very meagre.

Any sigrok experts out there?
« Last Edit: October 10, 2019, 01:20:18 pm by amspire »
 

Offline Smokey

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1585
  • Country: us
Re: AMPX1 Process Calibrator Multimeter
« Reply #3 on: October 11, 2019, 08:54:43 am »
Cool.  Marked. 
 

Offline Electro Detective

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2105
  • Country: au
Re: AMPX1 Process Calibrator Multimeter
« Reply #4 on: Yesterday at 10:49:37 pm »


Here is some code to dump the USB output of the "INSANE A 0.02% Process Meter for $9? WTF" multimeter describes in Dave's #1248 blog...



Friendly FYI: the infamous 'Metergate' blog post #1248 is at this url > eevblog.com/forum/blog/eevblog-1248-insane-a-0-02-process-meter-for-$9-wtf/

 

Online amspire

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 3763
  • Country: au
Re: AMPX1 Process Calibrator Multimeter
« Reply #5 on: Today at 01:28:01 am »
Friendly FYI: the infamous 'Metergate' blog post #1248 is at this url > eevblog.com/forum/blog/eevblog-1248-insane-a-0-02-process-meter-for-$9-wtf/
Thanks. I wanted a thread for the useful info on the meter. I actually managed to damage my first meter  :palm: , so I have to do a bit of digging into the hardware now. Turns out the calibrate inputs have very little protection. Not sure what I did - I may have put 15V into the 10V input, or I may have had a negative polarity - the inputs are for positive polarity only. I think I have caused some semiconductor device to fuse shorted.

Richard
 

Offline Electro Detective

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2105
  • Country: au
Re: AMPX1 Process Calibrator Multimeter
« Reply #6 on: Today at 02:01:55 am »

Ouch!  :(

post what you can here, am certain it will attract the usual suspects to help out  :-+

and or suggest some non sledge based options and troubleshoots  :-/O
 

Offline maginnovision

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1113
  • Country: us
Re: AMPX1 Process Calibrator Multimeter
« Reply #7 on: Today at 02:26:07 am »
Friendly FYI: the infamous 'Metergate' blog post #1248 is at this url > eevblog.com/forum/blog/eevblog-1248-insane-a-0-02-process-meter-for-$9-wtf/
Thanks. I wanted a thread for the useful info on the meter. I actually managed to damage my first meter  :palm: , so I have to do a bit of digging into the hardware now. Turns out the calibrate inputs have very little protection. Not sure what I did - I may have put 15V into the 10V input, or I may have had a negative polarity - the inputs are for positive polarity only. I think I have caused some semiconductor device to fuse shorted.

Richard

What sort of output are you getting now? I have one here counting up before resetting.
 

Online amspire

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 3763
  • Country: au
Re: AMPX1 Process Calibrator Multimeter
« Reply #8 on: Today at 04:30:09 am »
Something is completely shorted - even on Ohms I get 0 ohms. Obviously something different to your problem.

Was the counting up only the calibration ranges?
 

Offline maginnovision

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1113
  • Country: us
Re: AMPX1 Process Calibrator Multimeter
« Reply #9 on: Today at 04:50:58 am »
Yes, my failure mode everything worked except calibrated output. Even then if it's set to <2V it outputs 0. After 2V it goes 0-10V pretty quick. One of the opamps is very hot and both of its outputs also count up(and down) so 0-5V and 0-(-5)V. I haven't had a chance to look at it with a scope though, and it's not an easy board to follow with vias everywhere and sort of a messy layout.
« Last Edit: Today at 04:53:00 am by maginnovision »
 

Online amspire

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 3763
  • Country: au
Re: AMPX1 Process Calibrator Multimeter
« Reply #10 on: Today at 04:57:18 am »
I think it will be very valuable to work out the calibration circuit since it can be damaged far more easily then a conventional multimeter.

In your case, a hot opamp sounds like a problem that could be solved easily with the help of a circuit.
 

Offline maginnovision

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1113
  • Country: us
Re: AMPX1 Process Calibrator Multimeter
« Reply #11 on: Today at 05:13:20 am »
I just scoped the output and it's odd. Maybe a failed dac?
 

Online BradC

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1622
  • Country: au
Re: AMPX1 Process Calibrator Multimeter
« Reply #12 on: Today at 05:14:29 am »
It'd be interesting to pop a PIC ICSP on and see if they enabled code protection.
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf