Author Topic: Rohde & Schwarz CMU200  (Read 46262 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Qw3rtzuiop

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 60
  • Country: de
Re: Rohde & Schwarz CMU200
« Reply #175 on: January 27, 2019, 07:27:08 am »
Hello,

R&S calls it the TXDSP MODULE. So it is plausible that your generator didn't work.

I have a spare broken DIG board that contains this module. I had rx problems with that board. The tx worked fine. But you have the newer version 1100.2130.03. The one at mine is the older 1100.2100.03.
I don't know if they are compatible.
 
The following users thanked this post: Kribok

Offline Ice-Tea

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1353
  • Country: be
    • Freelance Hardware Engineer
Re: Rohde & Schwarz CMU200
« Reply #176 on: January 27, 2019, 10:23:04 pm »
I'll check if I have the right version somewhere.
eBay shop with all the gear you need!
FS: Agilent 54815A, 54825A, R&S CMU200, CRTU, SFU, SMIQ06L, Marconi 6201B, Lecroy WP 950, 9354TM, Tek THS720P, Anritsu MG3671A 2.75G I/Q RF gen, Keithley 238 SMU
 
The following users thanked this post: Kribok

Offline Kribok

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 18
  • Country: pl
Re: Rohde & Schwarz CMU200
« Reply #177 on: January 28, 2019, 08:54:27 am »
This small PCB is damaged at 100%, because after replacing it with another CMU it works normally. Thank you for your answer, and I will gladly buy back such an efficient one, of course if someone has such a plate for sale. Possibly any suggestions, what usually goes bad on these PCBs, if someone has already repaired it?
 

Offline Kribok

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 18
  • Country: pl
Re: Rohde & Schwarz CMU200
« Reply #178 on: January 29, 2019, 06:04:47 am »
This is the PCB that is damaged - the smaller one with the inscription in the middle of the DIG. In the pictures I showed the connectors. I do not know if there are any other versions of this tile, but after converting it to another, the CMU worked normally. During the test I did not even check the subtitles on this board, because it looked similar and when it was put in its place it worked normally. I do not know if there are other versions of this PCB that may not work in my CMU, if anyone knows something about it, please write. I greet everyone
 

Offline Ice-Tea

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1353
  • Country: be
    • Freelance Hardware Engineer
Re: Rohde & Schwarz CMU200
« Reply #179 on: January 29, 2019, 07:09:50 am »
Got one :D
eBay shop with all the gear you need!
FS: Agilent 54815A, 54825A, R&S CMU200, CRTU, SFU, SMIQ06L, Marconi 6201B, Lecroy WP 950, 9354TM, Tek THS720P, Anritsu MG3671A 2.75G I/Q RF gen, Keithley 238 SMU
 
The following users thanked this post: Kribok

Offline Qw3rtzuiop

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 60
  • Country: de
Re: Rohde & Schwarz CMU200
« Reply #180 on: January 29, 2019, 08:09:06 am »
The soldering at the yellow tantalum cap looks sketchy.
 
The following users thanked this post: Kribok

Offline Kribok

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 18
  • Country: pl
Re: Rohde & Schwarz CMU200
« Reply #181 on: January 29, 2019, 06:40:42 pm »
I checked this with a multimeter, and it turned out that there is a short circuit, just like you, I thought it was a tantalum capacitor, but after desoldering the PCB did not work, as before. The colleague dismantled this PCB from his CMU and soldered it something, because it also showed a short circuit, but the PCB was working and working in CMU, it turned out that it has an inductance, i.e. a choke! That's why I sold it back to my PCB.
Greetings.
 

Offline Ivan_Vetrov

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 5
  • Country: ru
Re: Rohde & Schwarz CMU200
« Reply #182 on: February 01, 2019, 11:52:07 am »
Hello! How to make a calibration after replacing the hard drive? I now have the level of the generator from the level of the analyzer differs by 3 dB. When the generator level is set to -27 dB, the analyzer level is -30 dB. The D-Line marker shows -22 db. What do I need to do to calibrate?  |O Thank .
« Last Edit: February 01, 2019, 12:02:38 pm by Ivan_Vetrov »
 

Offline Kribok

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 18
  • Country: pl
Re: Rohde & Schwarz CMU200
« Reply #183 on: March 06, 2019, 06:30:29 am »
Thank you very much for the positive transaction and delivery of a working PCB to my CMU 200.
Now the RF generator works like new.
The repair of my CMU is closed, but no further modifications, I really like this machine and it is worth attention!
Thank you again to the Ice-Tea forum user
Greetings to all Kribok
 

Offline axel

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 5
  • Country: us
Re: Rohde & Schwarz CMU200
« Reply #184 on: April 09, 2019, 04:59:17 am »
Hi all!

Wondering if anyone is using their CMU200 with an external reference. I've got an HP Z3801 feeding into the unit at the REF IN port, and I keep getting "Reference frequency not locked" on the screen when I select external reference mode. I've verified that the output of the 3801 is a clean sinewave at about 3.5V pk-pk. Is the CMU picky about its input waveform, or is something else up?

Cheers!
 

Offline MarkW

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 6
  • Country: nl
Re: Rohde & Schwarz CMU200
« Reply #185 on: April 12, 2019, 04:51:46 am »
Hi All,

Maybe it is just me, but when I try to download the FreRes software from the R&S website I get a 'page not found'. Does anyone still have this laying around somewhere?

Thanks!

Mark
 

Offline ZL1CVD

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 49
  • Country: nz
Re: Rohde & Schwarz CMU200
« Reply #186 on: April 12, 2019, 07:41:22 am »
I saved them a while back. You can download then from here:
https://drive.google.com/open?id=154oZ86KouXtVO8aD0SCfACZSBnVj5Qa6

73s
Chris ZL1CVD
 
The following users thanked this post: MarkW

Offline MarkW

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 6
  • Country: nl
Re: Rohde & Schwarz CMU200
« Reply #187 on: April 15, 2019, 04:49:08 pm »
Thanks!
 

Offline MarkW

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 6
  • Country: nl
Re: Rohde & Schwarz CMU200
« Reply #188 on: April 17, 2019, 02:04:19 am »
I tried out the FreRes application from R&S and I had two issues with it:

- It crashes when you try to normalize to a calibration run.
- It does not run on Linux.

So, I made a small python script that can do more or less the same and runs you through a calibration process. It works for 'thru' and 'reflection' measurements (when using a coupler or RF bridge). Hopefully it is useful for someone, feel free to modify or update it. The script assumes that you have linux-gpib running on your system.

The script is in the attachments, together with an example antenna measurement and filter measurement.

EDIT: updated the script to use 'read' instead of 'fetch' so it is synchronous with the initiated measurement.

Best regards,

Mark
« Last Edit: April 17, 2019, 02:59:00 am by MarkW »
 
The following users thanked this post: sab, _Wim_, ZL1CVD, Octane

Offline pedroavex

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 1
  • Country: pt
Re: Rohde & Schwarz CMU200
« Reply #189 on: May 26, 2019, 11:41:57 pm »
Hi Manuel!

I have been looking for the R&S Remote Service Tool software to download, but cannot find it anywhere...
I've noticed you said something about having used it some time ago.
By lucky, do you still have its installation file?
Thanks from your neighbour from Portugal!
 

Offline lordium

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 16
  • Country: cn
Re: Rohde & Schwarz CMU200
« Reply #190 on: May 27, 2019, 10:43:22 am »
I have been looking for the R&S Remote Service Tool software to download, but cannot find it anywhere...
I've noticed you said something about having used it some time ago.
By lucky, do you still have its installation file?
Thanks from your neighbour from Portugal!

Here you go
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf