Author Topic: Tek CSA7404/TDS7000 repair project (Upgraded memory/CPU)  (Read 117419 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline TxB

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 8
  • Country: pl
Re: Tek CSA7404/TDS7000 repair project (Upgraded memory/CPU)
« Reply #375 on: February 06, 2018, 04:04:14 am »
Hi,
The chip used as NV memory: FM28V100 has internal write inhibit function if supply is out of tollerance.
I test the scope everyday and it work with my chip without problem for three weeks.
Tom.
 

Offline Kurapica

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 1
  • Country: cn
Re: Tek CSA7404/TDS7000 repair project (Upgraded memory/CPU)
« Reply #376 on: February 08, 2018, 08:05:49 pm »
Hello ALL,

I'm a newcomer here attracted by this GREAT thread.

After read this thread, I got a used but full functional TDS7254B for about 35000 RMB in China, a great deal.

I'd like to know is there many people have TDS7000B series? Is there any thread talk about how to improve/hack this series?

Thanks.
 

Offline plazma

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 441
  • Country: fi
    • Homepage
Re: Tek CSA7404/TDS7000 repair project (Upgraded memory/CPU)
« Reply #377 on: February 17, 2018, 08:07:34 pm »
Hi,
The chip used as NV memory: FM28V100 has internal write inhibit function if supply is out of tollerance.
I test the scope everyday and it work with my chip without problem for three weeks.
Tom.
Nice. I'll make a clone of this design. I just got a TDS7104 for free. I'm looking into upgrading the CPU and RAM. I'll also search for an IDE SSD. 
I guess the 3M option is the maximum record length memory.
 

Offline plazma

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 441
  • Country: fi
    • Homepage
Re: Tek CSA7404/TDS7000 repair project (Upgraded memory/CPU)
« Reply #378 on: February 17, 2018, 10:25:31 pm »


Hi,
After two weeks replacement chip with FRAM memory works well.
I have two partially mounted boards without FRAM soldered to share if someone need it.
If there is some need I can order few pcb more.
I attach schematics of the board.

Tom.

Can you share the layout?

Has anyone replaced the floppy drive with a Gotek floppy emulator?

One option would be to route an USB extension cable to the floppy slot.

I would like to have an USB port at the front for saving waveforms and images
 

Offline plazma

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 441
  • Country: fi
    • Homepage
Re: Tek CSA7404/TDS7000 repair project (Upgraded memory/CPU)
« Reply #379 on: February 17, 2018, 10:50:46 pm »
Phew.... I though at first this only got 50ohm inputs. Luckily this model also got 1M inputs.

Has anyone made diy active probes for TDS7000 series?
 

Offline plazma

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 441
  • Country: fi
    • Homepage
Re: Tek CSA7404/TDS7000 repair project (Upgraded memory/CPU)
« Reply #380 on: February 20, 2018, 12:27:17 am »
Only fault so far is signal path compensation failure. It passed the fifth time. Any idea what may be the cause?

The prope compensation square wave got some spiking. Is it normal?
 

Offline TxB

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 8
  • Country: pl
Re: Tek CSA7404/TDS7000 repair project (Upgraded memory/CPU)
« Reply #381 on: February 20, 2018, 04:57:27 am »
@plazma
Please write to priv about the chip with FRAM.
Tom
 

Offline plazma

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 441
  • Country: fi
    • Homepage
Re: Tek CSA7404/TDS7000 repair project (Upgraded memory/CPU)
« Reply #382 on: February 28, 2018, 08:07:11 am »
Is it possible to get more info about the SPC fail from the PPC debug port?
 

Offline PrecisionAnalytic

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 74
  • Country: us
Re: Tek CSA7404/TDS7000 repair project (Upgraded memory/CPU)
« Reply #383 on: March 10, 2018, 04:11:18 am »

I'd like to know is there many people have TDS7000B series? Is there any thread talk about how to improve/hack this series?


I have the TDS8000 and TDS8000B and am interested in hacking to improve this series also.  Read through the thread as there are a few easy upgrades documented well.

I would like to see DIY Options modules and probes since they are so expensive.  Anyone aware of references?

Thanks
:popcorn:
 

Offline PrecisionAnalytic

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 74
  • Country: us
Re: Tek CSA7404/TDS7000 repair project (Upgraded memory/CPU)
« Reply #384 on: March 10, 2018, 04:28:06 am »

One option would be to route an USB extension cable to the floppy slot.

I would like to have an USB port at the front for saving waveforms and images

I haven't opened my TDS8000(B) up yet though am guessing the floppy is a slim or smaller height as I want to say there are smaller height than the 1" drives that were on the market like half inch in height.  Parts lists notes 0.5 IN.

In regards to the USB, a USB hub I'm thinking will work with a USB 3.5" drive also... though velcro an extension cable on the case may be easier to implement unless there is room to cut into.   I have to look inside to see what the space and connections are like.

I haven't looked at the BIOS capabilities for use as the USB as a FLOPPY.

The USB options seem real easy unless there is a BIOS limitation for FLOPPY boot up functions.
 

Offline plazma

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 441
  • Country: fi
    • Homepage
Re: Tek CSA7404/TDS7000 repair project (Upgraded memory/CPU)
« Reply #385 on: March 10, 2018, 04:33:26 am »
I assembled the FRAM board today. I'll install it later after I receive the rest of the upgrade parts.
 

Offline Ice-Tea

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1359
  • Country: be
    • Freelance Hardware Engineer
Re: Tek CSA7404/TDS7000 repair project (Upgraded memory/CPU)
« Reply #386 on: March 31, 2018, 05:52:50 am »
A little update, with EEVBlog forum member magic, we can get keys for options on TDS7000/CSA7000 and probably other 70000 series scopes too :)

Quick check of concept proof with my CSA7404:



16 options enabled :)
Need to find out which bit does what and we good to go!

Hi Tin,

I recently picked up a TDS7104 myself. This one was missing it's hard drive. After sorting that out, and repairing a SPC issue I noted two things: It had option 3M which was a nice surprise, but it would crash the tek scope application when I ran the diagnostic.

After fiddling around with different ghost images for the scope and messing around through the console port I found that option 3M had disappeared, but now I have option Jitter analysis 2, which wasn't there before.  |O
Crap! I'd much rather have option 3M back...

I suspect that it was my mucking about with the console port settings. The original looked like this:


boot device          : sm
processor number     : 0
file name            : c:/vxboot/vxWorks.st
inet on backplane (b): 192.168.0.1:ffffff00
host inet (h)        : 192.168.0.2
gateway inet (g)     : 192.168.0.1
flags (f)            : 0x1008
target name (tn)     : tds7000
startup script (s)   : c:/vxboot/topScript.hw

But it seems I cannot go back to that, as the prompts are now somewhat different.
Update: I also just noticed that the serial number reported in the about menu now does not match what is on the sticker of the unit in the back of the scope. The "about" menu reports it as B021068, but the sticker says it is B021079! I bet that has something to do with it!

Would you have any idea how I could get option 3M back?

Thanks!

Jay

Just wanted to add that I just restored a TDS7104 with these settings. Thanks for sharing :D
eBay shop with all the gear you need!
FS: Agilent 54815A, 54825A, R&S CMU200, CRTU, SFU, SMIQ06L, Marconi 6201B, Lecroy WP 950, 9354TM, Tek THS720P, Anritsu MG3671A 2.75G I/Q RF gen, Keithley 238 SMU
 

Offline Ice-Tea

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1359
  • Country: be
    • Freelance Hardware Engineer
Re: Tek CSA7404/TDS7000 repair project (Upgraded memory/CPU)
« Reply #387 on: April 14, 2018, 06:04:06 am »
Figured this is as good a place as any to ask: I'm putting back together the TDS7104 but I can either put her back in a rack mount jacket or I can, I think, take the trim of a CSA8000 and make here a nice desktop unit.

What would you guys do? What would be easiest to sell?
eBay shop with all the gear you need!
FS: Agilent 54815A, 54825A, R&S CMU200, CRTU, SFU, SMIQ06L, Marconi 6201B, Lecroy WP 950, 9354TM, Tek THS720P, Anritsu MG3671A 2.75G I/Q RF gen, Keithley 238 SMU
 

Offline Ice-Tea

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1359
  • Country: be
    • Freelance Hardware Engineer
Re: Tek CSA7404/TDS7000 repair project (Upgraded memory/CPU)
« Reply #388 on: April 16, 2018, 07:22:20 pm »
Well, the trim of the CSA8000 doesn't  fit anyway, so I put her back together with the rack handles  :-+
eBay shop with all the gear you need!
FS: Agilent 54815A, 54825A, R&S CMU200, CRTU, SFU, SMIQ06L, Marconi 6201B, Lecroy WP 950, 9354TM, Tek THS720P, Anritsu MG3671A 2.75G I/Q RF gen, Keithley 238 SMU
 

Offline leon255

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 3
  • Country: by
Re: Tek CSA7404/TDS7000 repair project (Upgraded memory/CPU)
« Reply #389 on: May 09, 2018, 04:47:44 pm »
Hello!
May anybody help me with TDS7154B? Can't find right video driver for Tvia CyberPro 5202 video card (received error message: "videport.cpp error ----> CreateVideoPort::hr::..............")?
Thank you!
« Last Edit: May 09, 2018, 04:50:14 pm by leon255 »
 

Offline TxB

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 8
  • Country: pl
Re: Tek CSA7404/TDS7000 repair project (Upgraded memory/CPU)
« Reply #390 on: May 16, 2018, 03:41:04 am »
Hello everybody.
I need some help with DPO7104 scope.
I'm trying to restore system and aplications after hdd serious crash in DPO7104 scope in our lab.
After lots of attempts I can install dpo software version 5.3.5.
However during aplication startup there is an error: clr20r3.
Maybe someone can provide  original restore disc contents ?.
I looks I don't have some driver installed.

HDD image from working DPO7104 will be also very usefull fo me.
 

Offline Ice-Tea

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1359
  • Country: be
    • Freelance Hardware Engineer
Re: Tek CSA7404/TDS7000 repair project (Upgraded memory/CPU)
« Reply #391 on: May 16, 2018, 04:11:52 am »
Would love to help but I sold mine  :-\
eBay shop with all the gear you need!
FS: Agilent 54815A, 54825A, R&S CMU200, CRTU, SFU, SMIQ06L, Marconi 6201B, Lecroy WP 950, 9354TM, Tek THS720P, Anritsu MG3671A 2.75G I/Q RF gen, Keithley 238 SMU
 

Offline leon255

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 3
  • Country: by
Re: Tek CSA7404/TDS7000 repair project (Upgraded memory/CPU)
« Reply #392 on: May 16, 2018, 04:27:03 pm »
May be someone can help with information about unlocking options on this oscilloscopes?
 

Offline Ice-Tea

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1359
  • Country: be
    • Freelance Hardware Engineer
Re: Tek CSA7404/TDS7000 repair project (Upgraded memory/CPU)
« Reply #393 on: July 05, 2018, 12:34:06 am »
Gents, I got a TDS7104 on the bench that has NVRAM restored but there are still some issues. Mostly 'forgetting' saved states, stuff like that. I'm also missing a file: 'dio_rst.vsh'

Anyone has it for me by any chance?

*edit*: never mind. Read page 5  8)

Anyone ever fixed the fact it doesn't rememeber mast state?
« Last Edit: July 05, 2018, 02:23:59 am by Ice-Tea »
eBay shop with all the gear you need!
FS: Agilent 54815A, 54825A, R&S CMU200, CRTU, SFU, SMIQ06L, Marconi 6201B, Lecroy WP 950, 9354TM, Tek THS720P, Anritsu MG3671A 2.75G I/Q RF gen, Keithley 238 SMU
 

Offline paul@yahrprobert.com

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 3
  • Country: us
Re: Tek CSA7404/TDS7000 repair project (Upgraded memory/CPU)
« Reply #394 on: July 12, 2018, 12:55:01 pm »
The serial port pinout on the 10 pin connector is easy: it is such that if you get a 10 pin connector to IDC ribbon cable, then a female 9 pin D connector to IDC ribbon cable, it will work with your standard RS232 line from a PC.
 

Offline dretay

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 10
  • Country: us
Re: Tek CSA7404/TDS7000 repair project (Upgraded memory/CPU)
« Reply #395 on: July 18, 2018, 04:14:04 pm »
Hey,

Recently had the need to decode some UART data and replay it over an arbitrary waveform generator. Wrote a quick python script to do the decode and show the resulting frames on the scope and on a bitmap on my laptop. Library supports most low speed serial protocols and USB 2.0 as well, so should be pretty flexible. Including in case anyone else finds it useful:

Code: [Select]
import ivi
import numpy as np
import vxi11
import re
from numpy import *
from matplotlib import pyplot as plt

import ripyl
import ripyl.streaming as stream
import ripyl.protocol.uart as uart
from collections import OrderedDict
try:
    import matplotlib
    matplotlib_exists = True
except ImportError:
    matplotlib_exists = False

if matplotlib_exists:
    import ripyl.util.plot as rplot

class AsciiWaveform:

def __init__(self, waveformString ):
waveform_list = re.split(';',waveformString)
self.CURVE(waveform_list[17])

def CURVE(self,value):
# Make this faster later
waveform = []
for val in re.split(',',value):
try:
waveform.append(float(val)/6400)
except:
pass
self.waveform = np.array(waveform)

tds = vxi11.Instrument("192.168.1.25")
awg = ivi.tektronix.tektronixAWG2021("ASRL::COM5,19200::INSTR")

tds.write("DATA:SOURCE CH1")
tds.write("DATA:ENCDG ASCII")
tds.write("DATa:BYT_NR 1")
record_length = int(tds.ask("HORizontal:RECOrdlength?"))
tds.write('DATa:STOP {}'.format(record_length))
tds.write("CURSor:VBArs SNAp")
waveform_data = tds.ask("WAVFrm?")
awf = AsciiWaveform( waveform_data )

 # transfer to AWG2021
awg.outputs[0].arbitrary.create_waveform(awf.waveform)
awg.outputs[0].arbitrary.gain = max(awf.waveform)
awg.outputs[0].arbitrary.offset = float(tds.ask("WFMInpre:YOFf?"))
awg.arbitrary.sample_rate = tds.ask("HORizontal:MAIn:SAMPLERate?")
awg.outputs[0].enabled = True

sample_period  = float(tds.ask("WFMOutpre:XINcr?"))
txd = stream.samples_to_sample_stream(awf.waveform, sample_period)
bits = 8
parity = 'even'
stop_bits = 1
polarity = uart.UARTConfig.IdleHigh
baud_rate = 115200
records = list(uart.uart_decode(txd, bits, parity, stop_bits, polarity,  baud_rate=baud_rate))

data = [rec.data for rec in records]

lines = ''.join(chr(d) for d in data).split()

tds.write("CH1:LABEL:NAMe \"{}\"".format(lines))
tds.write("CH1:LABEL:XPOS 5")
tds.write("CH1:LABEL:YPOS 3.5")
txd = stream.samples_to_sample_stream(awf.waveform, sample_period)
channels = OrderedDict([('Volts', txd)])
title = 'UART Plot'
plotter = rplot.Plotter()
plotter.plot(channels, records, title, label_format=stream.AnnotationFormat.Text)
plotter.show()


 

Offline TiN

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 3962
  • Country: tw
  • xDevs.com/live - 24/7 lab feed
    • xDevs.com
Re: Tek CSA7404/TDS7000 repair project (Upgraded memory/CPU)
« Reply #396 on: July 18, 2018, 08:05:34 pm »
Recently had the need to decode some UART data and replay it over an arbitrary waveform generator. ...

Not sure I follow, can you share more details? You sampled data from scope and analyzed using python, or ?  :-BROKE
YouTube | Chat room | Live-cam | Have documentation to share? Upload here! No size limit, firmware dumps, photos.
 

Offline dretay

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 10
  • Country: us
Re: Tek CSA7404/TDS7000 repair project (Upgraded memory/CPU)
« Reply #397 on: July 18, 2018, 10:56:05 pm »
Yah so it's pretty difficult to run any modern software directly on the scope, even with it being upgraded to WinXP. Most packages that will do waveform analysis rely on Intel instruction sets like MMX that don't exist on the Celeron processor my scope uses. Since the scope runs a VXI-11 server you can connect to it over TCP and do things like copy waveform data / draw labels. To decode my captured UART waveform I ran the above script on my laptop, which dumped the waveform, decoded it, and generated an image / labeled the waveform on the scope with the resulting ascii data.

Separately I wanted to replay the captured waveform with some introduced noise, so the script also shows how to take the captured waveform and send it to an arbitrary waveform generator.
 

Offline Jwalling

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 1160
  • Country: us
  • This is work?
Re: Tek CSA7404/TDS7000 repair project (Upgraded memory/CPU)
« Reply #398 on: July 19, 2018, 01:55:49 am »
Yah so it's pretty difficult to run any modern software directly on the scope, even with it being upgraded to WinXP. Most packages that will do waveform analysis rely on Intel instruction sets like MMX that don't exist on the Celeron processor my scope uses.

The TDS7000 scopes use a minimum of a 500MHz socket 370 Celeron which does have MMX. MMX was introduced with the socket 7 processors (a 233MHz Pentium IIRC).
Jay

System error. Strike any user to continue.
 

Offline dretay

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 10
  • Country: us
Re: Tek CSA7404/TDS7000 repair project (Upgraded memory/CPU)
« Reply #399 on: July 19, 2018, 02:15:20 am »
Excellent info thanks! I actually tried running this script on my scope with a 1.x version of anaconda (newer versions need windows 7 or higher I think) and the runtime threw an exception about the cpu architecture not supporting a specific  instruction set extension. Must have misremembered the specific error though.

EDIT: attached a screenshot - it fails on SSE2 instructions
« Last Edit: July 19, 2018, 11:45:19 am by dretay »
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf