Author Topic: Tek CSA7404/TDS7000 repair project (Upgraded memory/CPU)  (Read 123113 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Ice-Tea

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1442
  • Country: be
    • Freelance Hardware Engineer
Re: Tek CSA7404/TDS7000 repair project (Upgraded memory/CPU)
« Reply #400 on: July 19, 2018, 08:40:10 am »
I assembled the FRAM board today. I'll install it later after I receive the rest of the upgrade parts.


Just wondering... Did you ever install it? Does it work?
eBay shop with all the gear you need!
FS: Agilent 54825A, R&S CMU200, CRTU, SMIQ06L, Marconi 6201B, Lecroy WP 950, 9354TM, 9354M, 9374L LC584A, Tek THS720P, TDS7154B, Anritsu MG3671A 2.75G I/Q RF gen, Keithley 238 SMU, HP 8642B, 8903A, 8110A, 8156A
 

Offline GastonBA

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 8
  • Country: us
Re: Tek CSA7404/TDS7000 repair project (Upgraded memory/CPU)
« Reply #401 on: August 13, 2018, 01:19:57 am »
Hey, could you help? I have a CSA8000 that get stuck on the initialization screen of the 8000 series scope. I already changed the battery (used a bigger one this time, no use to change it to the same) and I had the cables connected to the MAX232 chip as you shown on your photos, plugged in with micro connector. I do have some serial to USB device (NI USB to RS232) that I connected, but I fail to capture the activity in any terminal.
Is connecting the USB-232 OK or the chip connections that you show are only UART signals? What terminal software you use to capture all that chat?
Thank you very much in advance,
Gaston
GastonBA@gmail.com
 

Offline Ice-Tea

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1442
  • Country: be
    • Freelance Hardware Engineer
Re: Tek CSA7404/TDS7000 repair project (Upgraded memory/CPU)
« Reply #402 on: August 13, 2018, 06:43:44 am »
I use Putty. You can also catch it on the 2x8 0.100" on the edge of the board
eBay shop with all the gear you need!
FS: Agilent 54825A, R&S CMU200, CRTU, SMIQ06L, Marconi 6201B, Lecroy WP 950, 9354TM, 9354M, 9374L LC584A, Tek THS720P, TDS7154B, Anritsu MG3671A 2.75G I/Q RF gen, Keithley 238 SMU, HP 8642B, 8903A, 8110A, 8156A
 

Offline GastonBA

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 8
  • Country: us
Re: Tek CSA7404/TDS7000 repair project (Upgraded memory/CPU)
« Reply #403 on: August 13, 2018, 04:09:16 pm »
I am connecting like this through a USB to serial National Instrument device, that does not show any activity.
Programming putty just show me a green cube. Something is wrong.
Could someone confirm that these connections are intended for Serial device and not a other kind, like UART?

Thank you,

Gaston
 

Offline GastonBA

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 8
  • Country: us
Re: Tek CSA7404/TDS7000 repair project (Upgraded memory/CPU)
« Reply #404 on: August 21, 2018, 03:43:29 pm »
I got it working by browsing the million posts that are in this repair topic... Got the side RS232 connection port made with a special cable. Thank you all.
 

Offline hoo121

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 2
  • Country: us
Re: Tek CSA7404/TDS7000 repair project (Upgraded memory/CPU)
« Reply #405 on: October 05, 2018, 03:50:01 am »
Hello All,

My TDS7054 was finally working fine.  I removed the 3 V battery on the motherboard for couple of minutes and placed it back. subsequently the scope stopped working.  When it is turned on, all its buttons light up and stay on, you can hear floppy drive noise and couple of beeps but display remains blank, that is all, no further activity!
I hope someone be able to guide me through solving this problem.  I am hoping that there will not be a need for programming anything which is beyond my capability as I am not a computer specialist.

Regards
 

Offline Ice-Tea

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1442
  • Country: be
    • Freelance Hardware Engineer
Re: Tek CSA7404/TDS7000 repair project (Upgraded memory/CPU)
« Reply #406 on: October 05, 2018, 07:17:58 am »
The 3V battery of the 'windows system'? That's the CMOS battery, in which case the Bios 'forgot' to put the screen on the LCD screen. Attach a display with VGA cable on the back.

It's probably stuck on 'CMOS checksum error' or 'Keyboard error' or some such which is also why it is not booting very far.
eBay shop with all the gear you need!
FS: Agilent 54825A, R&S CMU200, CRTU, SMIQ06L, Marconi 6201B, Lecroy WP 950, 9354TM, 9354M, 9374L LC584A, Tek THS720P, TDS7154B, Anritsu MG3671A 2.75G I/Q RF gen, Keithley 238 SMU, HP 8642B, 8903A, 8110A, 8156A
 

Offline Jwalling

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 1269
  • Country: us
  • This is work?
Re: Tek CSA7404/TDS7000 repair project (Upgraded memory/CPU)
« Reply #407 on: October 05, 2018, 09:32:36 am »
The 3V battery of the 'windows system'? That's the CMOS battery, in which case the Bios 'forgot' to put the screen on the LCD screen. Attach a display with VGA cable on the back.

It's probably stuck on 'CMOS checksum error' or 'Keyboard error' or some such which is also why it is not booting very far.

What he said. You have to plug into the motherboards VGA port instead of the scope out VGA port. In the BIOS setup, set the default video interface to PCI instead of AGP/onboard. Save and reboot.

Tek should have had the BIOS customized for this. :--
Jay

System error. Strike any user to continue.
 

Offline hoo121

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 2
  • Country: us
Re: Tek CSA7404/TDS7000 repair project (Upgraded memory/CPU)
« Reply #408 on: October 05, 2018, 03:46:59 pm »
Gentlemen,

I really appreciate for your help and your fast reply.  I know now what to do.

I however have one more problem (my original problem that led me to remove the CMOS battery).  Some two weeks ago, I decided to replace the scope's hard drive with a SSD (bad bad mistake!).  The scopes hard drive got damaged during making the image file (friend was helping) and although I have the original restoration dick that came with the scope, it was giving the lack of memory error message when I tried to recover TEK's original win98.  Finally TEK emailed me with the right restoration file and I managed to install the original win98 on SSD along with the firmware 2.55. This process by itself was a major time sink for me (FAT 32 formatting for the SSD to be recognized, etc, etc).

After everything working again, I needed to install the scope's option, but realized that the scope's serial number was somehow missing on TEK Scope program. I called TEK for help and they wanted me to send them the scope for repair! That is when I came across your website and learned that one could add a .sn in vxBoot folder to provide the serial number to the scope. I decided to experiment first with an example file that was provided by someone with their own serial number, since I did not know how to create and edit HEX files.  Well, it did work, but the scope has stuck with the wrong serial number and I can't override the wrong serial number (on the positive side, I now know how to edit HEX files :)). I still can't install the original options.  After further reading on your website, I learned that one should both delete the .sn file and remove the battery for the Dallas chip to be wiped clean in order to change the serial number to is original value.   You may laugh, but the only battery that I could clearly see, was the CMOS battery on the motherboard so I removed it, which of course added to my original problems. 

Would you please let me how I can override the wrong serial number stored on the scope and replace it with the original one so that I can install its options.

Thanks in advance.
 

Offline Ice-Tea

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1442
  • Country: be
    • Freelance Hardware Engineer
Re: Tek CSA7404/TDS7000 repair project (Upgraded memory/CPU)
« Reply #409 on: October 05, 2018, 05:12:29 pm »
You may want to read through the entire thread. Taking away the battery from the Dallas chip will keep the Tek soft from working until you restore the contents of it.
eBay shop with all the gear you need!
FS: Agilent 54825A, R&S CMU200, CRTU, SMIQ06L, Marconi 6201B, Lecroy WP 950, 9354TM, 9354M, 9374L LC584A, Tek THS720P, TDS7154B, Anritsu MG3671A 2.75G I/Q RF gen, Keithley 238 SMU, HP 8642B, 8903A, 8110A, 8156A
 

Offline viniciusmuri

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 1
  • Country: br
Re: Tek CSA7404/TDS7000 repair project (Upgraded memory/CPU)
« Reply #410 on: February 15, 2019, 09:14:09 pm »
Good morning guys, I just got a TDS7054 and in the product description it was saying “it doesn’t work”. It happens that at the first moment I turned on, it showed a white screen, and about 2 minutes later it turned off and didn’t turned on again. I checked up the boards and seems like there is no damaged components. The PPC board doesn’t give any operation signal. I tried to measure the voltage of the power supply, but the only voltage found was the + 5VDC in pin c1 of the rear power distribution. When I do the jumper on Power-On Debug on the PPC card, all LEDs flash once more without any operation signal. Has anyone ever seen such problem? Could anyone give me any suggestions? And, another thing, is there a way to perform the voltage test on the power supply with it off the oscilloscope.
 

Offline r_anton

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 1
  • Country: ru
Re: Tek CSA7404/TDS7000 repair project (Upgraded memory/CPU)
« Reply #411 on: February 22, 2019, 09:54:56 am »
Hello All,
Some messages above was mentioned the board with FRAM, does someone has the gerber file for the board please ?

Best Regards


 

Offline Xyphro

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 34
  • Country: de
Re: Tek CSA7404/TDS7000 repair project (Upgraded memory/CPU)
« Reply #412 on: March 08, 2019, 06:07:53 am »

Hi Guys,

Just want to add to the thread some things.

My tds7104 had a broken 2.5V dcdc converter module on the poeerpc board.
After removing the w soic8 fets with hot air,  it was clear, that this was due to nad soldering - actually it looked as if there was never solder under some pads.
I checked the fets externally and they were working fine.
After resoldering them properly rhe ppc board started up nicely and I saw first time the scope application :-)

Best regards,

Kai

Offline pipb

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 1
  • Country: ro
Re: Tek CSA7404/TDS7000 repair project (Upgraded memory/CPU)
« Reply #413 on: March 12, 2019, 03:40:47 pm »
Thanks to this great forum I was able to restore a TDS7104.

BIOS battery was dead on the BL440ZX mainboard and HDD was missing. Would not enter BIOS at startup and would not recognize any drive on the second IDE channel. Default video output was VGA (no output on the LCD).
I therefore loaded up a DOS floppy and corrupted the CMOS (a small program called "corrupt.exe" was posted in another thread). I could then enter BIOS and switched to PCI video output. This also solved the missing second IDE channel and I could boot the CDROM.

I then installed a fresh WIN 2K SP4 copy on a 40GB HDD, the required Tek drivers posted in this thread and the Tek app v2.5.5 (max version for this scope).

NVRAM battery was still juicy though on the low side. Of course to find that out one would need to take it apart and RAM content just vanishes |O. So I reconfigured the PPC boot sequence via the serial console. Now the scope app started just fine, the relays were clicking and front panel was switching. However there was no trace in display and SN and key was missing.
I edited the SN and key files with the data on the back of the scope, placed them in the c:\vxBoot\ folder and modified the topScript.hw file by uncommenting the line  "# NvramClearDb = 1". I boot once and the SN and key were transferred to the NVRAM. I then commented back the line. Now the SN and key were available in the scope app but still no trace.

Some other thread offered a hint: the custom PPC video driver was not loaded properly so I reloaded the files in Windows Device Manager. This did the magic: the scope is now fully functional and passes the self diagnosis flawlessly.

I did try to install Win 98SE but the scope app just kept crashing. So I will stay with Win 2K for the moment. CPU is much cooler than in Win 98 and it's fast enough. RAM consumption is a bit on the high side so I might supplement it.

Thanks TiN, Jwalling and all the others for the great info!
 

Offline Ice-Tea

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1442
  • Country: be
    • Freelance Hardware Engineer
Re: Tek CSA7404/TDS7000 repair project (Upgraded memory/CPU)
« Reply #414 on: March 19, 2019, 08:49:30 pm »
So... Have another one of these on my bench. Two actually. This one boots but hangs in windows trying to load the application. Also crashes when you plug in a USB mouse in one of the ports. Serial was clean (ie loaded NVRAM fine...) but this doesn't look great:

Code: [Select]
     tcsLoadTableToNVRAM "pc:c:/vxBoot/setup.tcs"
value = 0 = 0x0
     updateAcqProcFirmware("dbfs:c:/vxBoot/acqProc.hex")
0x16987e0 (tShell): Program enable command didn't echo back properly.
logTask: 1 log messages lost.
value = 0 = 0x0
     cd "pc:"
value = 0 = 0x0

    raxInitializeDevices
done
0x16987e0 (tShell): (Re)starting Acq Processor
0x16987e0 (tShell): Acq processor powerup failure!

Hmm, cracking her open. Any guesses as to what my next move would be?



eBay shop with all the gear you need!
FS: Agilent 54825A, R&S CMU200, CRTU, SMIQ06L, Marconi 6201B, Lecroy WP 950, 9354TM, 9354M, 9374L LC584A, Tek THS720P, TDS7154B, Anritsu MG3671A 2.75G I/Q RF gen, Keithley 238 SMU, HP 8642B, 8903A, 8110A, 8156A
 

Offline Ice-Tea

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1442
  • Country: be
    • Freelance Hardware Engineer
Re: Tek CSA7404/TDS7000 repair project (Upgraded memory/CPU)
« Reply #415 on: March 27, 2019, 07:53:58 pm »
Eh, well, I'll tell you.

I cracked open another 7404B to swap the Intel boards. Guess what...



eBay shop with all the gear you need!
FS: Agilent 54825A, R&S CMU200, CRTU, SMIQ06L, Marconi 6201B, Lecroy WP 950, 9354TM, 9354M, 9374L LC584A, Tek THS720P, TDS7154B, Anritsu MG3671A 2.75G I/Q RF gen, Keithley 238 SMU, HP 8642B, 8903A, 8110A, 8156A
 

Offline Blagoje

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 1
  • Country: ca
Re: Tek CSA7404/TDS7000 repair project (Upgraded memory/CPU)
« Reply #416 on: May 27, 2019, 02:41:07 am »
My TDS7154 came from Taiwan, lots of dust inside but otherwise in very good shape in and out. On power up, all front face LEDs are lit, fans spinning and nothing else was going on. By accident I discovered that W2000 boots up after 5 minutes or so. Power PC (PPC) 7 segment display was solid on .8 no activity on console port. I went through all eevblog posts related to TDS7104 as originated by TiN, learned a lot but couldn’t make meaningful start. I contacted andy2000 because symptoms on his TDS7154B were similar to mine. He responded but couldn’t help at the time, he helped me greatly later with opening the world of options. Big thanks. Because I learned a lot, or better to say everything about TDS scopes from this forum I thought it would be fair to share my experience and potentially help somebody new like me. In retrospect, all the answers were already in the forum trail, thanks TiN. I just didn’t read them right and understood things correctly. Reading back the same posts as my understanding of the problem became better was the path to the solution.
 
In summary my TDS7154 needed PPC fix, hardware, new DC/DC converter PT6409P and Dallas NVRAM DS1245Y – 120 chip and, software, restoring NVRAM data using service port and directing vxWorks  boot sequence to copy serial number (SN) form hidden directory c:\vxBoot\.sn file to the NVRAM.

There are folks in the forum that mentioned DC/DC converter on the PPC board and I initially didn’t pay much attention to it. Nevertheless, after checking voltage as per the service manual table (all values were good) I checked DC/DC chip output too and it was 0.4V instead of 2.5V. I struggled removing it from the board, could not desolder 3 ground pins in the middle. In the end I had to swing it left and right until all pins broke, then I hot air blew the stubs out. Pins on the removed chip were still accessible so I hooked up 5V to input and ground and indeed the output was missing. I thought what might have caused the failure, quick resistance check on the PPC board did not show any shorts. I attributed the failure to the chip itself. Removing Dallas NVRAM was a breeze, version I have is older DIL with encapsulated battery. I thought of grinding off the case to expose the battery, chop off the original and solder new one on top but gave up for fear of damaging the PCB. I’m not sure that it was even defective, it was reasonable to assume the battery is dead given the vintage of the instrument. I thought of installing a socket, unfortunately didn’t have one in the shop. I reassembled everything, on power up all was good except for the missing SN on the scope Help/About page.

I celebrated too early, restoring the SN turned out to be more challenging than I anticipated. I spent some time following eevblog folks’ steps (i.e. removing the # in # NvramClearDb = 1 line of vxBoot/topScript.hw script and making sure that .key and .sn files are there and have correct content). I also used HyperTerminal on console port (old RS232 ribbon cable was perfect interconnect between RS232 cable and console port, it was difficult to find one) to see if there are any errors while booting but all looked normal and terminated correctly when scope application is loaded and running. Not that I have a need for it (as a matter of fact I don’t have any need for the scope itself except for the challenge of fixing it) or the options, it is just part of the whole adventure. I Ghost imaged existing HD to 2 SSD disks, both work correctly so I’ll be more confident playing aggressively with software artifacts.

I reread again eevblog posts related to vxWorks boot sequence, did some Google work to educate myself on vxWorks subject and I realized that I didn’t read the eevblog posts carefully enough to see important details as outlined in the initial TiN post. With new understanding using service port and HyperTerminal I stopped vxWorks boot sequence by hitting any key at the right time. Then used “p” to see/record initial parameters the most important being flags (f): 0x1008. I used “c” command parameter to force vxWorks boot to copy *.sn from HD location by setting flags (f): 0x1000, and other (o): nvfs=0x1000. I kept startup script (s) :c:\vxBoot\topscript.hw, used “p” again to verify that I entered the right thing, then “@” to reboot and the whole script flew, 7 segment went through P then blinking ‘-“. I didn’t see Help/About updated until I shut down the instrument and rebooted again. Voila, all was good now, S/N was correct and options were listed. Since I was in vxWorks mood I tried different .sn (not equal to the S/N printed on the back of the scope and inside on the chassis) but I was not able to install any options, either I don’t know what I’m doing or the S/N is hard coded somewhere in the PPC board or elsewhere. I’ll have to read eevblog TDS trail again; I remember somebody was talking about this.

Big thanks goes to TiN and all other folks who contributed and helped me to fix the device.  In my view, the biggest help is to know that there are still good and competent people somewhere in the universe, so the hope still remains despite all the buffoonery we witness every day!

« Last Edit: June 09, 2019, 07:09:41 pm by Blagoje »
 

Offline n

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 1
  • Country: jp
Re: Tek CSA7404/TDS7000 repair project (Upgraded memory/CPU)
« Reply #417 on: July 18, 2019, 12:41:12 pm »
Hello

I bought TDS7104 without HDD.

Just installed usual Win2000 OS in 32GB ssd, installed drivers for PPC board and USB Front panel and downloaded TekScope 2.5.5 from tek site.

Tek scope starts up.
However, there are buttons that are not glowing.
Also, such a screen appears and does not work properly.

Do you know any solution?
 

Offline TiN

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 4045
  • Country: tw
  • xDevs.com/live - 24/7 lab feed
    • xDevs.com
Re: Tek CSA7404/TDS7000 repair project (Upgraded memory/CPU)
« Reply #418 on: July 18, 2019, 01:01:53 pm »
Yup, you need read a thread :).
Keys don't work because USB FP driver not installed.
Screen does not show signals because Tek VGA driver not installed.
YouTube | Chat room | Live-cam | Have documentation to share? Upload here! No size limit, firmware dumps, photos.
 

Offline harrimansat

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 83
Re: Tek CSA7404/TDS7000 repair project (Upgraded memory/CPU)
« Reply #419 on: August 21, 2019, 07:23:33 pm »
The code is still up on the xDevs site (https://dev.xdevs.com/projects/rnd/repository/revisions/344cfa743297/raw/Tektronix/TDS7000/). There are some hints in the code about how to enable various options, but I think I ended up just setting a bunch of FF's and enabling everything.


 ########################################################################
4   
 # options masks/names/descriptions, conversion functions
5   
6   
 # 01 - 1M
7   
 # 02 - 2M
8   
 # 04 - 3M
9   
 # 06 - 2M 2A
10   
 # 08 - 4M
11   
 # 00 00 00 00 00 00 04 - USB
12   
 # 00 00 00 00 00 00 20 - JT3
13   
 # 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 80 - ET3
14   
 # 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 08 - JA3
15   
16   
 # 00 00 05 00 00 00 00 00 00 10 - ASM DDRA DJA
17   
 # 00 44 00 00 00 00 02 08 - SM ST J1 J3E
18   
 # 04 40 00 00 00 00 06 C0 10 - 3M JT2 USB2 ST
19   
 # 04 44 FF 03 00 00 8D A3 EF FF 17 - 10XL, MTH, PTH1, ASM, LT, DDRA, SLE, EQ, TDSDDM2, TDSUSB2, YDSCPM2, RTE, IBA, PCI, TDSDVI, TDSET3, SAS, TDSHT3, TBD, JA3, TDSPTD, TDSVNM, DPOPWR, TDSHT3v1.3, 73, 74, DJE, DJA, 77, 78, 79, SVE, SVP, SVM, SLA

It works!, firts I have ask Tektronix for a quote for 2M option with out answer, is a old scope, may be is out of support.

Now I have 8 megapoints for sweep!

 :scared: :scared: :scared: :scared:
 

Offline free_electron

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 7218
  • Country: us
    • SiliconValleyGarage
Re: Tek CSA7404/TDS7000 repair project (Upgraded memory/CPU)
« Reply #420 on: August 23, 2019, 02:26:04 pm »
i have a PC motherboard (the pentium board) ,  PowerPC motherboard (the one with the powerpc process, dallas chip and led display that runs vxworks) , acquisition board (damaged , but a good donor for parts and connectors !) , power supply and LCD / touchscreen  for sale for these machines.

Working PC motherboard : 150$
Working PowerPC controller : 150$
Acquisition board (shot. broken channel , missing some heatsinks ). Good donor for the special input connectors and rigid cables. : 50$
Power supply board : 150$
Touchscreen ( has a small scratch, but works fine ) : 100$
Professional Electron Wrangler.
Any comments, or points of view expressed, are my own and not endorsed , induced or compensated by my employer(s).
 

Offline OH2LIY

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 32
  • Country: fi
Re: Tek CSA7404/TDS7000 repair project (Upgraded memory/CPU)
« Reply #421 on: August 25, 2019, 04:21:46 pm »
Quote from: dretay on November 29, 2017, 23:42:37
The code is still up on the xDevs site
(https://dev.xdevs.com/projects/rnd/repository/revisions/344cfa743297/raw/Tektronix/TDS7000/). There are some hints in the code about how to enable various options, but I think I ended up just setting a bunch of FF's and enabling everything.


 ########################################################################
4   
 # options masks/names/descriptions, conversion functions
5   
6   
 # 01 - 1M
7   
 # 02 - 2M
8   
 # 04 - 3M
9   
 # 06 - 2M 2A
10   
 # 08 - 4M
11   
 # 00 00 00 00 00 00 04 - USB
12   
 # 00 00 00 00 00 00 20 - JT3
13   
 # 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 80 - ET3
14   
 # 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 08 - JA3
15   
16   
 # 00 00 05 00 00 00 00 00 00 10 - ASM DDRA DJA
17   
 # 00 44 00 00 00 00 02 08 - SM ST J1 J3E
18   
 # 04 40 00 00 00 00 06 C0 10 - 3M JT2 USB2 ST
19   
 # 04 44 FF 03 00 00 8D A3 EF FF 17 - 10XL, MTH, PTH1, ASM, LT, DDRA, SLE, EQ, TDSDDM2, TDSUSB2, YDSCPM2, RTE, IBA, PCI, TDSDVI, TDSET3, SAS, TDSHT3, TBD, JA3, TDSPTD, TDSVNM, DPOPWR, TDSHT3v1.3, 73, 74, DJE, DJA, 77, 78, 79, SVE, SVP, SVM, SLA

It works!, firts I have ask Tektronix for a quote for 2M option with out answer, is a old scope, may be is out of support.

Now I have 8 megapoints for sweep!

 :scared: :scared: :scared: :scared:





Hi, all old url's for "testing" options don't work anymore. Is there anyway to  get information how to do this option "testing"?  :)


Ramppa
 

Offline NOP

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 1
  • Country: gb
Re: Tek CSA7404/TDS7000 repair project (Upgraded memory/CPU)
« Reply #422 on: September 04, 2019, 11:19:32 am »
I came along a TDS7154B and the test shows an error for DemuxG and DemuxH (377 and 378). Everything else seems to work. The memory on the acquisition board are Cypress CY7C1360B-133AC i think. But there are 64 of them and obviously it could be something else. So any information is welcome ! Is there any more information on the serial when one is running this test ? Thanks !
 

Offline mlefe

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 68
  • Country: ar
Re: Tek CSA7404/TDS7000 repair project (Upgraded memory/CPU)
« Reply #423 on: September 05, 2019, 07:40:12 pm »
Hi guys, I was able to repair a TDS7054 thanks to this forum: THANK YOU!! (specially TiN that started the whole thing)  ^-^
I do have a couple of questions:
a) I've seen that memory used should be PC133 but mine says PC100: As I'm looking to upgrade, what should I be aiming for? (my MOBO is a BL440ZX)
b) Do you know where I can find the program for the options? (I already have 3M but I don't mind testing the others)
c) What's the benefit of upgrading the OS to win2000? (I feel that win98 is fast and I can't see how it's limiting me at the moment)
d) Is it possible to do serial decoding with this oscilloscope? (UART mainly)
Thank you!
« Last Edit: September 05, 2019, 10:13:01 pm by mlefe »
 

Offline TiN

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 4045
  • Country: tw
  • xDevs.com/live - 24/7 lab feed
    • xDevs.com
Re: Tek CSA7404/TDS7000 repair project (Upgraded memory/CPU)
« Reply #424 on: September 06, 2019, 04:10:24 am »
a) You wouldn't see a difference be it PC100 or PC133.
c) I think w2k is easier to work with if you have network/usb drives etc.
d) Nope, too old stuff.
YouTube | Chat room | Live-cam | Have documentation to share? Upload here! No size limit, firmware dumps, photos.
 
The following users thanked this post: mlefe


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf