Author Topic: Tektronix THS7xxx Scope Hack/Teardown/Discussion - FW 1.16 found  (Read 73795 times)

0 Members and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline Zucca

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 2166
  • Country: it
  • EE meid in Itali
Re: Tektronix THS7xxx Portable Scope Hack/Teardown/Discussion
« Reply #200 on: April 13, 2018, 05:03:14 pm »
I am out of office until middle May. I will then try to do that. My plan is still to desolder the chip and read it out.

Even if we give you the FW dump now, how can you be sure it will work on your unit?
Moreover I assume you know how to de/solder SMD components.

Z

Can't know what you don't love. St. Augustine
Can't love what you don't know. Zucca
 

Offline superman13

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 9
  • Country: md
Re: Tektronix THS7xxx Portable Scope Hack/Teardown/Discussion
« Reply #201 on: April 13, 2018, 05:47:32 pm »
I have two pieces of ts720A and one is working with 1.08 anotherone is dead (was with newer firmware)...
I desoldered both flash and soldered working flash with (1.08) to dead scope... And it is working. Memory from dead scope is alive... But I will try to clone it next week...

Will be very good if you can get newer firmware.
Next week I will post dump of 1.08.
 

Offline Zucca

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 2166
  • Country: it
  • EE meid in Itali
Re: Tektronix THS7xxx Portable Scope Hack/Teardown/Discussion
« Reply #202 on: April 13, 2018, 06:50:54 pm »
Next week I will post dump of 1.08.

If it works please post all the process details, and then let the hunt for the FW 1.16 begin. I have only the 1.14.
Can't know what you don't love. St. Augustine
Can't love what you don't know. Zucca
 

Offline BravoV

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 6253
  • Country: 00
Re: Tektronix THS7xxx Portable Scope Hack/Teardown/Discussion
« Reply #203 on: April 13, 2018, 06:53:32 pm »
Mine still at 1.11.  ::)


Offline superman13

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 9
  • Country: md
Re: Tektronix THS7xxx Portable Scope Hack/Teardown/Discussion
« Reply #204 on: April 13, 2018, 07:04:23 pm »
I will try to describe how to read flash... Problem is that dump will do one my friend who has socket, programmer and big experience with a lot of kinds of flash memory...

Will ask him to do some screenshots or photos.
 

Offline superman13

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 9
  • Country: md
Re: Tektronix THS7xxx Portable Scope Hack/Teardown/Discussion
« Reply #205 on: April 17, 2018, 01:41:21 pm »
Hi!
I have been cloned flash memory from old scope (1.08). And its working  :popcorn:

Flash was cloned using TL866.

I attached dump.

Will be perfect if someone can get dump of newer firmware  :-/O

https://drive.google.com/open?id=1yST43Pc7M_PxNIg4uqZ_9FiX2KKyKmao

Photos: https://photos.app.goo.gl/VDiYyJWrB1dgEPtp2


« Last Edit: April 17, 2018, 01:43:14 pm by superman13 »
 
The following users thanked this post: BravoV, Zucca

Offline Zucca

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 2166
  • Country: it
  • EE meid in Itali
Re: Tektronix THS7xxx Portable Scope Hack/Teardown/Discussion
« Reply #206 on: April 17, 2018, 01:48:24 pm »
superman13

Thanks, as soon I go back in my Lab in May I will unleash the 1.14 FW.
The FW 1.16 hunt is officially open, I will updated the thread title and first post.

Did you recalibrated the unit? As far as I now in that chip there are also the calibrations parameters.
« Last Edit: April 17, 2018, 01:53:59 pm by zucca »
Can't know what you don't love. St. Augustine
Can't love what you don't know. Zucca
 

Offline superman13

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 9
  • Country: md
Re: Tektronix THS7xxx Portable Scope Hack/Teardown/Discussion
« Reply #207 on: April 17, 2018, 01:55:33 pm »
superman13

Thanks, as soon I go back in my Lab in May I will unleash the 1.14 FW.
The FW 1.16 hunt is officially open, I will update the thread title and first post.

Did you recalibrated the unit? As far as I now in that chip there are also the calibrations parameters.

I have to calibrate it but now I have to buy another display, because one of my THS720 has broken LCD. But these lcd's are still expensive  |O

PS. Tried someone to replace LCD with another one more accessible, newer, cheaper? :D
 

Offline BravoV

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 6253
  • Country: 00
Re: Tektronix THS7xxx Portable Scope Hack/Teardown/Discussion
« Reply #208 on: April 17, 2018, 02:05:35 pm »
Did you recalibrated the unit? As far as I now in that chip there are also the calibrations parameters.

Really wish there is a way to copy the calibration values ... :'(

Offline jal1234

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 16
superman13

Thanks, as soon I go back in my Lab in May I will unleash the 1.14 FW.
The FW 1.16 hunt is officially open, I will update the thread title and first post.

Did you recalibrated the unit? As far as I now in that chip there are also the calibrations parameters.

I have to calibrate it but now I have to buy another display, because one of my THS720 has broken LCD. But these lcd's are still expensive  |O

PS. Tried someone to replace LCD with another one more accessible, newer, cheaper? :D
Is the LCD dead, or are the polarizers bad?  I successfully replaced both polarizers on mine with no prior experience. Time consuming, but not that difficult.
 

Offline superman13

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 9
  • Country: md
Is the LCD dead, or are the polarizers bad?  I successfully replaced both polarizers on mine with no prior experience. Time consuming, but not that difficult.

It's broken  :horse:

 

Offline jal1234

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 16
Is the LCD dead, or are the polarizers bad?  I successfully replaced both polarizers on mine with no prior experience. Time consuming, but not that difficult.

It's broken  :horse:


Oh well. Yeah, with new LCDs selling for $150 US on eBay, and whole 720s with accessories selling (I'm talking what units actually sold for, not the insane prices some people ask) for $300-350 or so, it's tough to justify.
 

Offline Zucca

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 2166
  • Country: it
  • EE meid in Itali
Re: Tektronix THS7xxx Portable Scope Hack/Teardown/Discussion
« Reply #212 on: April 17, 2018, 06:42:54 pm »
Really wish there is a way to copy the calibration values ... :'(

My unit needs to be calibrated anyway and the calibration procedure it is not so difficoult... Actually it's not so bad to recalibrate the unit after a while...

Anyway I will readout the FW before and after the calibration so we can see what does it change.
I am sure there is a CRC somewhere too...
« Last Edit: April 17, 2018, 06:48:19 pm by zucca »
Can't know what you don't love. St. Augustine
Can't love what you don't know. Zucca
 

Offline BravoV

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 6253
  • Country: 00
Re: Tektronix THS7xxx Portable Scope Hack/Teardown/Discussion
« Reply #213 on: April 17, 2018, 06:44:27 pm »
My unit needs to be calibrated anyway and the calibration procedure it is not so difficoult... Actually it's not so bad to recalibrate the unit after a while...

Really, if its not troubling you too much, please, share the recalibration process here.

Anyway I will readout the FW before and after the calibration so we can see what does it changed.
I am sure there is a CRC somewhere too...

Thank you  :-+ , looking forward to see the results.

Offline Zucca

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 2166
  • Country: it
  • EE meid in Itali
Can't know what you don't love. St. Augustine
Can't love what you don't know. Zucca
 

Offline BravoV

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 6253
  • Country: 00
I'm aware of that document, its just I don't have the supporting equipments as the minimum requirements to do that.

Offline Zucca

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 2166
  • Country: it
  • EE meid in Itali
Quote
156--6553--00 U1 IC, MEMORY; CMOS, FLASH;1MEG X 8,
120NS;E28F008SA, TSOP40

Flash memory which contains instrument
firmware, current setup, saved setups, saved
waveforms, saved data, waveforms, and
calibration constants.

We need to find out where the serial number and the calibrations parameters are... and then save them out.

 :-/O

It`s just a matter of time if some guys are playing with us here.
« Last Edit: April 17, 2018, 07:20:40 pm by zucca »
Can't know what you don't love. St. Augustine
Can't love what you don't know. Zucca
 

Offline Zucca

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 2166
  • Country: it
  • EE meid in Itali
I don't have the supporting equipments as the minimum requirements to do that.

Me neither... It would be an home made calibration... better than nothing.
Can't know what you don't love. St. Augustine
Can't love what you don't know. Zucca
 

Offline Zucca

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 2166
  • Country: it
  • EE meid in Itali
Can't know what you don't love. St. Augustine
Can't love what you don't know. Zucca
 

Offline z01z

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 140
We need to find out where the serial number and the calibrations parameters are... and then save them out.
Well, it should be easy to locate the calibration parameters if one can dump the contents of the flash before and after calibration.
 

Offline superman13

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 9
  • Country: md
I want to buy this scope from ebay to take DUMP of 1.16 (as I see from photos) and for display, one of mine scope have broken lcd... but this lot is too expensive and I have made an offer for 150$...

https://www.ebay.com/itm/Tektronix-THS730A-200MHz-Scope-DMM-Digital-Real-Time-1GS-s/163006175519?ssPageName=STRK%3AMEBIDX%3AIT&_trksid=p2055359.m2763.l2649

So, who can and want dump of firmware, please make offer for less than ~100$, hoping that seller will accept my 150$ offer  :-/O

In that case I will get DUMP from this scope and i'm that THS730 has the same firmware as THS710, 720 :)
If anyone knows if there are different firmwares, please let us know about this.
 

Online PA0PBZ

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 4151
  • Country: nl
In that case I will get DUMP from this scope and i'm that THS730 has the same firmware as THS710, 720 :)
If anyone knows if there are different firmwares, please let us know about this.

I found this in the firmware:

TDS 320
TDS 350
TDS 310
TDS 340
TDS 360
TDS 380
THS710A
THS720A
THS720P
THS730A
Keyboard error: Press F1 to continue.
 

Offline HighVoltage

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 4299
  • Country: de
I have a THS720P with FW 1.16

What is involved in reading out the FW?
There are 3 kinds of people in this world, those who can count and those who can not.
 

Offline superman13

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 9
  • Country: md
I have a THS720P with FW 1.16

What is involved in reading out the FW?

You have to unsolder  U1 (AM29F080) and using an external programmer with corresponding adapter to read it...

I don't know exactly how to make dump because it was done by one friend who has TL866, but I think there should be some info how to make dump of that kind of mem.
 

Offline Zucca

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 2166
  • Country: it
  • EE meid in Itali
Moreover you need the TSOP-40 adapter for the TL866, and I have a TSOP-40 hot air nozzle to disolder that chip properly.
I just need to go back at my lab.
Can't know what you don't love. St. Augustine
Can't love what you don't know. Zucca
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf