Author Topic: Tektronix THS7xxx Scope Hack/Teardown/Discussion - FW 1.16 found  (Read 97762 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Online tv84

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2244
  • Country: pt
Re: Tektronix THS7xxx Scope Hack/Teardown/Discussion - FW 1.16 found
« Reply #350 on: May 17, 2021, 08:49:15 pm »
I have checked the binary transfer mode, there is the same result as for the ascii mode. I don't know what I should do?

From what you say, the problem is originated in the scope software so you can't do nothing unless you decide to do some averaging...

Or, when on a falling slope, just swap the consecutives readings in pairs...  :-DD
 

Offline mrprecision

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 74
  • Country: de
Re: Tektronix THS7xxx Scope Hack/Teardown/Discussion - FW 1.16 found
« Reply #351 on: May 17, 2021, 09:00:13 pm »
This has to be a bug from the scope...

Maybe averaging is a good idea. I tried it, see the result:
 

Online tv84

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2244
  • Country: pt
Re: Tektronix THS7xxx Scope Hack/Teardown/Discussion - FW 1.16 found
« Reply #352 on: May 17, 2021, 09:06:15 pm »
This has to be a bug from the scope...

Maybe averaging is a good idea. I tried it, see the result:

Beauty!  :-+

I would go with the averaging solution. Another Tek bug corrected.
 

Offline mrprecision

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 74
  • Country: de
Re: Tektronix THS7xxx Scope Hack/Teardown/Discussion - FW 1.16 found
« Reply #353 on: May 17, 2021, 09:44:54 pm »
I guess I figured out what the problem was. The scope is right and my software is also right too.

The acquisition mode set to Peak Detect, so one sample is the min value, the second the max value. So that is the reason why we will only see this on the falling slope. So the scope represents the min and than the max value in the datastream. On the option Sample or Average this problem is not there, for this modes the same values is transfered twice.

The everything is fine.
 
The following users thanked this post: kleiner Rainer

Offline kleiner Rainer

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 83
  • Country: de
  • Rainer DG1SMD JN48ts
Re: Tektronix THS7xxx Scope Hack/Teardown/Discussion - FW 1.16 found
« Reply #354 on: May 18, 2021, 07:52:05 am »
Problem solved - setting acquisition to "sample" was all that was needed.  :-+


Greetings,

Rainer
 

Offline mrprecision

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 74
  • Country: de
Re: Tektronix THS7xxx Scope Hack/Teardown/Discussion - FW 1.16 found
« Reply #355 on: May 18, 2021, 06:47:05 pm »
Thanks for the feedback, so you are happy with my tool, or do you have ideas for improvements?
 

Offline kleiner Rainer

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 83
  • Country: de
  • Rainer DG1SMD JN48ts
Re: Tektronix THS7xxx Scope Hack/Teardown/Discussion - FW 1.16 found
« Reply #356 on: May 19, 2021, 12:33:07 pm »
The tool is ideally suited for my purposes, logging data like charging/discharging curves of batteries. One little thing that comes to mind is a button to turn off the backlight during very long logging sessions (maybe via the POWER:BACKlight command?), and, if you are extremely bored, a way to set amplitude and time remotely.

Here the latest logging of a car battery being charged by an intelligent charger:

[attach=1]

The two voltage drops to 12.5V are load tests, then you can see the charger starting with 3.8A, then at 13.9V dropping to 3A, then at 14.25V dropping to 800mA, and at 14.52V switching to trickle charge/standby.

Again, thank you for a well-made and useful tool.

Greetings,

Rainer
 

Offline harrimansat

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 161
Re: Tektronix THS7xxx Scope Hack/Teardown/Discussion - FW 1.16 found
« Reply #357 on: May 23, 2021, 10:54:07 am »
I think that there is no possibility to switch off backlight when is connected to AC with serial commands. The trick is disconnect the AC adapter and when backlight is off, connect AC againt. If you dont touch any key light will remain off.





The tool is ideally suited for my purposes, logging data like charging/discharging curves of batteries. One little thing that comes to mind is a button to turn off the backlight during very long logging sessions (maybe via the POWER:BACKlight command?), and, if you are extremely bored, a way to set amplitude and time remotely.

Here the latest logging of a car battery being charged by an intelligent charger:

[attach=1]

The two voltage drops to 12.5V are load tests, then you can see the charger starting with 3.8A, then at 13.9V dropping to 3A, then at 14.25V dropping to 800mA, and at 14.52V switching to trickle charge/standby.

Again, thank you for a well-made and useful tool.

Greetings,

Rainer
 

Offline mrprecision

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 74
  • Country: de
Re: Tektronix THS7xxx Scope Hack/Teardown/Discussion - FW 1.16 found
« Reply #358 on: June 18, 2021, 08:17:08 pm »
I will sell one of my THS720A which is modded to a THS720P. I also changed the CCFL tube by a LED backlight for a much brighter display. The battery is pretty new and last for over two hours. There are two probes, the Tektronix bag, the serial cable, the power supply with the scope. I can send it in Europe.
« Last Edit: June 18, 2021, 08:21:51 pm by mrprecision »
 

Offline mrprecision

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 74
  • Country: de
Re: Tektronix THS7xxx Scope Hack/Teardown/Discussion - FW 1.16 found
« Reply #359 on: June 19, 2021, 06:43:44 pm »
I have made a Video how to replace the CCFL Tube with a LED strip. The audio comments are in German.

https://youtu.be/O7xh8Brg5Z8
 
The following users thanked this post: BravoV, HighVoltage

Offline 1audio

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 115
  • Country: us
Re: Tektronix THS7xxx Scope Hack/Teardown/Discussion - FW 1.16 found
« Reply #360 on: June 21, 2021, 05:45:31 am »
I followed the video as best I can without understanding the German. If you could share a few specific details-
1) source for LED strip
2) info on voltage converter
3) details on the connections for the voltage converter.

As I remember the wires are not colorcoded which is a great pain.

I have two THX720's and they are both dim with the stock light, even with a new tube. I'm ready to do this.
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf