Author Topic: Repairing, hacking and upgrading an Ellisys USB Explorer 200  (Read 1176 times)

Offline MindBenderTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
Hi,

Like many people here, I too scavenge eBay for test equipment I always wanted to have, but is way to expensive to buy (new). So I've got a number of saved searches that trigger once in a while.

I'm a freelance embedded software engineer, usually closely involved with hardware design, and during my professional career I have enjoyed using the Ellisys USB Explorer 200 at various customers. They are incredibly useful. Their software is intuitive, versatile and can everything you could possibly need, without needing a masters degree in USB. So I have always wanted to have one. Customers who really need one, buy one, but sometimes I just want to check something, which just doesn't justify the €899 for the cheapest model.

So end of August two appeared on eBay. Simultaneously from different traders. I bought one, for $150,00 + $24,27 shipping + $42,82 import tax (I really hate eBay Global Shitment Service). I was untested, but more ofter than not sellers don't know how, or can't be bothered to test. And since it's professional equipment it usually doesn't break easily.

Not this one, though. I was broken. Plugging it in my old Mac Pro made the power LED flash, but that turned out to be a Mac artifact; Booting it into Windows showed a continuously lit power LED. After downloading and installing the excellent Ellisys Visual USB software, the analyser even got recognised, serial number and all. However, after clicking the 'Record'-button to start a capture, an error popped up with the following message:
"This software was not properly activated for this operation. Please contact your local distributor or the Ellisys support team for more information."
So I contacted support and they were very friendly and very helpful. Unfortunately their diagnosis was that the analyser was broken.