Author Topic: Tektronix 475(a?) I broke my oscilloscope, just when the fun had started...  (Read 1630 times)

Offline kevingnetTopic starter

Not to seem overly dramatic, but I'm quite sad at my stupidity. I'm actually a software engineer, and recently I started a hobby of learning electronics. I've been buying vintage audio stuff and restore, fix some, clean up, etc... for sort of fun...as the case usually ends up being, eventually my nature demands that I have ALL that's necessary in terms of tools and equipment, talk about going overboard.

Long story short, I had been doing fine without an oscilloscope, but by hook or crook, I must have it. I bought a 475, the lady that sold it said she got it at a estate sell and didn't know what to do with it, got it for $80 bucks taking a risk that it may not work, oh well, so be it. Got it home, started messing with it, read the manual a bit watched some videos, bought a signal generator and was able to see the long awaited sine wave.

So far so good. Then, since I had been doing clean up of audio equipment, the genius in me decides to 'clean it up,' turns out that it had several broken knobs, I think the shipping agency likes to play soccer with the items, to kill the boredom. So... I decide to buy a 'broken' one of the same model for $50 and then it turned out to be newer a 475A, I contacted the guy and he said he had no idea what to do with it or even the state it is in, he actually sold it as non working. Eventually found out that it does display a sweep line, but did not test it otherwise, since it was, the 'bad one.'