Author Topic: DS2072A Vmax  (Read 5572 times)

Offline arobyTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
DS2072A Vmax
« on: April 18, 2014, 03:58:54 am »
I just bought one of the $20 voltage references from eBay.  I checked out my DMMs and they are pretty close to what the voltage reference puts out.  But if I connect the reference to my DS2072A and look at Vmax, it's about 0.1v out on all of the reference voltages.

Now, I'm new to oscilloscopes, but my understanding is that they are basically voltmeters with a time dimension, so I assume that this difference should not to be expected?

Anthony

Offline Mandelbrot

• Regular Contributor
Re: DS2072A Vmax
« Reply #1 on: April 18, 2014, 04:29:42 am »
To my knowledge, oscilloscopes measure voltage digitally using an 8-bit ADC. 8-bits only leaves room for 256 discrete voltage measurements, so there can be a large room for error. If an 8-bit ADC is measuring voltage from zero to five volts, the most accurate it can be is (5-0)/2^8 = 0.01953125V or about 20mV.

Also, it is important to keep in mind that wires can act as antennas and all sorts of interesting electromagnetic field magic happens that can also alter what your scope reads by a few millivolts.

Hopefully someone here will give a better explanation than me...

EDIT: I forgot that the 256 levels are spread across all vertical divisions, not just 1 division, so the error is even larger than I stated above.
« Last Edit: April 19, 2014, 06:47:57 am by Mandelbrot »

Offline Rigby

• Super Contributor
  • Learning, very new at this. Righteous Asshole, too
« Reply #2 on: April 18, 2014, 05:13:46 am »
how are you hooking it up?

Offline Wim13

• Regular Contributor
« Reply #3 on: April 18, 2014, 08:37:45 am »

it is even worse, on the scale of 10 Volts/dev on the DSO,

Full scale is then 80 Volts, over 8 divs, at 8 bits ( 256 steps) where 200 are visible...

That gives 80/200 as smallest change, thats is 0,4 Volts resolution... plus the jitter of the ADC..