Author Topic: ET5410 rotary encoder issue (fixed) + thermal imaging photos  (Read 1594 times)

Offline andyB2022Topic starter

• Regular Contributor
ET5410 rotary encoder issue (fixed) + thermal imaging photos
« on: January 28, 2022, 12:42:12 pm »
Hi! It's my very first time posting here so sorry if I do some kind of mistake.
I've got on of these ET5410 Electronic Load from banggood. The only issue with it is that the knob on the front with the encoder only increments the value on the display. No matter how I rotate the knob it just increments it. Menus are suffering from the same problem too..

https://youtu.be/htFG2En_Wv0

Up there is a link to better understand this issue. Thank you for your time!
« Last Edit: January 30, 2022, 09:38:48 am by andyB2022 »

Offline electr_peter

• Supporter
Re: ET5410 issue
« Reply #1 on: January 28, 2022, 02:21:29 pm »
Device is defective, rotary encoder doesn't work properly. I suggest to get in touch with the seller for return/repair.
Either rotary encoder or associated circuitry are defective - maybe just a bad solder joint somewhere. Probably easy repair with disassembly and measurement. Do not repair yourself until you get in touch with the seller.

• Regular Contributor
Re: ET5410 issue
« Reply #2 on: January 30, 2022, 09:37:28 am »
Update: Luckily for me it was quite a simple fix (solder bridge across two terminals of the encoder). Photos speek from themselves. Wish this post will help other buyers in case they have the same issue.

I have also took some pics with an IR camera to see how the unit performs at full load. Maximum temp I could measure was 90 degrees Celsius on the rear top Mosfet. It makes sens why the rear ones are hotter then the first one. (as the air goes from intake to exhaust it gets warmer, so the first mosfet sees a lower temperature, it increases the heat of the air and this repeats until the air is finally exhausted.)