Author Topic: Tektronix TDS340 with noise on channel 1 only, where to start? Schematics?  (Read 873 times)

Offline cincinTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
Hi, noob here,

I have an old Tektronix TDS 340 (w/ Option 14) in great condition. It's clean in and out has obviously been well taken care of, was calibrated in 2018, and passes all diagnostic self tests and calibration.

The one flaw is that channel 1 is a bit noisy compared to channel 2.

I know that these can often use new caps. While the noise is not *necessarily* caused by bad cap(s), I think it's a good place to start.

My question is: Since the noise is only on channel 1, I'm guessing the problem probably isn't on the power supply board, that would affect both channels, but which area, or which caps, are past the channel separation? Or generally which caps should I suspect first?

Also, if anyone has the schematics for this unit, that would be great. All I can find is the TDS340A Technical Reference manual, and I don't know how different those 2 units are.

Cheers!

Offline bdunham7

• Super Contributor
Re: Tektronix TDS340 with noise on channel 1 only, where to start? Schematics?
« Reply #1 on: November 29, 2021, 08:04:58 pm »
Throwing caps at it is not an efficient way of solving the issue, even if it turns out that a defective capacitor is the issue.

The place to start would be to characterize the noise.  Compared to CH2, how much noise, at what frequencies, periodic or random, etc.  Maybe a screenshot at the lowest V/div and timebases 10ms/div, 1ms/div, 1us/div and 50ns/div?

I don't know the differences between the TDS340 and TDS340A.  There's probably enough similarity that you can start with the TDS340A manual.
A 3.5 digit 4.5 digit 5 digit 5.5 digit 6.5 digit 7.5 digit DMM is good enough for most people.

The following users thanked this post: cincin

Offline Wallace Gasiewicz

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: November 29, 2021, 09:05:11 pm »