Author Topic: Test Equipment Anonymous (TEA) group therapy thread  (Read 14786260 times)

Offline Specmaster

• Super Contributor
Re: Test Equipment Anonymous (TEA) group therapy thread
« Reply #79950 on: January 17, 2021, 11:16:33 pm »

Right, I'm going to ask a question about electric cars, has anyone here either got one, or has driven one? I have no experience of them personally, but I have been told that they are extremely difficult to control the speed of when you are driving them. A friend of a friend claimed that they had been told by someone who has a Tesla that it was hard to control the speed of it, claiming that felt like the motor was either full power or no power with almost nothing in between. My question is, is this sort of correct? Logic tells me that it can't be, otherwise they wouldn't be allowed to be on the road?
I can't make any comment on Teslas but I recently bought a Mercedes EQC400 electric car and I am still trying to adapt to the different driving style required.

The speed control does seem more twitchy than an ICE but it is certainly not a case of full power or no power. The apparent twitchiness may be due to the throttle response of the electric motor being more rapid than an ICE so it is possible to overshoot your desired power setting by being a little bit too heavy on the accelerator pedal. More delicate control of the pedal pressure is required.

Also, the regenerative braking from the electric motor on releasing the accelerator pedal is more aggressive than what you get from the engine braking of an ICE.

Another aspect that is quite difficult is keeping within the speed limit. Since there is no audible feedback from the motor on acceleration it is very easy to creep up over the speed limit without realising it.
Now that makes more sense, thanks for your input, I think you hit the nail with the response being quicker and therefore easier to overshoot the power setting desired  :-+
Who let Murphy in?