Author Topic: Test/review of Power supply frontend DPS5015 50V/15A  (Read 11114 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Online HKJ

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1149
  • Country: dk
    • Tests
Test/review of Power supply frontend DPS5015 50V/15A
« on: October 30, 2016, 01:16:55 pm »
I have tested the DPS5015 at different voltage and current levels.
It is a module that can be used after any fixed voltage power supply to convert it into a decent lab power supply.

Review:
http://lygte-info.dk/review/Power%20DPS5015%20UK.html

Many more charts:
http://lygte-info.dk/review/Power%20DPS5015%20charts%20UK.html

 
The following users thanked this post: kostasb, bianchifan, RD Tech

Online BravoV

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 6767
  • Country: 00
  • +++ ATH1
Re: Test/review of Power supply frontend DPS5015 50V/15A
« Reply #1 on: October 30, 2016, 01:21:30 pm »
Thanks for sharing.

As you have a scope, any chance for transient response tests ?

Online HKJ

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1149
  • Country: dk
    • Tests
Re: Test/review of Power supply frontend DPS5015 50V/15A
« Reply #2 on: October 30, 2016, 01:25:42 pm »
As you have a scope, any chance for transient response tests ?

I did test with (electronic) load on/off, but it is not really that fast transients.
 
The following users thanked this post: RD Tech

Online BravoV

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 6767
  • Country: 00
  • +++ ATH1
Re: Test/review of Power supply frontend DPS5015 50V/15A
« Reply #3 on: October 30, 2016, 02:02:52 pm »
As you have a scope, any chance for transient response tests ?

I did test with (electronic) load on/off, but it is not really that fast transients.

Ok, recommend to build a dynamic electronic load designed and also already built by respected eevblog member here -> Dynamic Electronic Load Project , using common parts and components. Its even posted in Dangerous Prototypes blog.  :-+

Again, just a suggestion, as you are one of my respected reviewer, especially for batteries and chargers.  :-+
« Last Edit: October 30, 2016, 02:04:27 pm by BravoV »
 
The following users thanked this post: RD Tech

Online HKJ

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1149
  • Country: dk
    • Tests
Re: Test/review of Power supply frontend DPS5015 50V/15A
« Reply #4 on: October 30, 2016, 10:57:20 pm »
I do have some dynamic load included:





But as you can see my load is fairly slow at turning on.
 

Offline Dielectric

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 127
  • Country: us
Re: Test/review of Power supply frontend DPS5015 50V/15A
« Reply #5 on: October 31, 2016, 01:58:35 pm »
That's awesome, thank for all of the work!  I was eyeing those modules up, thinking about piecing together a new supply with this 48V supply I have laying around.  Looks good enough for home work, right?  Probably way better than this old tank of a supply I have that I'm 75% certain is just a heatsinked LM317 and a transformer in a big metal box.  The variable supply has like no current capacity.
 

Offline bianchifan

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 66
  • Country: de
Re: Test/review of Power supply frontend DPS5015 50V/15A
« Reply #6 on: November 20, 2016, 11:33:37 am »
THX!!
I discovered those DP/DPS models early this year when searching on infos about CPS-3205 models.
And I was wondering about missing any useful information. Nowhere..., though they were offered on Ali pretty cheap.
Not to forget, Banggood too.
Over the time I forgot them.

Some interesting chinese site.. MyDigit.cn
DPS5005 disassambled


DPS.. Load Test
 

Offline RD Tech

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • !
  • Posts: 87
  • Country: cn
Re: Test/review of Power supply frontend DPS5015 50V/15A
« Reply #7 on: July 31, 2017, 07:28:14 am »
we just make a video for DPS5015 ripple test , you can compare it with your result ..
https://youtu.be/QbcLtOT1IAQ
 

Offline rev0

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 11
Re: Test/review of Power supply frontend DPS5015 50V/15A
« Reply #8 on: July 23, 2018, 05:45:01 pm »
Sorry to bump an old thread, but does anyone here know if these can be modified with sense leads for compensating for voltage drop? I do see sense traces on the board, but wonder if bad things would happen if I cut those and put them on external sense wires going to the test clips.
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf