Author Topic: The Siglent SDG1000 and SDG800 thread  (Read 113629 times)

0 Members and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline EVS

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 26
Re: The Siglent SDG1000 and SDG800 thread
« Reply #350 on: August 22, 2018, 08:05:45 pm »
I had this once. SDG805. Stripping down and cleaning buttons PCB contacts.
 
The following users thanked this post: rspt1908

Offline rspt1908

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 11
  • Country: ph
Re: The Siglent SDG1000 and SDG800 thread
« Reply #351 on: August 23, 2018, 04:22:38 am »
Thank you EVS :) May I ask if the screw threads on the front panel pc are metal or just plastic (for self tapping screws)? :)
 

Online tautech

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 16701
  • Country: nz
  • Taupaki Technologies Ltd. NZ Siglent Distributor
    • Taupaki Technologies Ltd.
Re: The Siglent SDG1000 and SDG800 thread
« Reply #352 on: August 23, 2018, 04:29:00 am »
Thank you EVS :) May I ask if the screw threads on the front panel pc are metal or just plastic (for self tapping screws)? :)
Not had an 800 apart but the SDG1000 were self threaders IIRC.
Just be careful when refitting them and LH them until they drop into their old threads.....like any that are self tappers.  ;)
Avid Rabid Hobbyist
 
The following users thanked this post: rspt1908

Offline EVS

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 26
Re: The Siglent SDG1000 and SDG800 thread
« Reply #353 on: August 23, 2018, 08:36:04 am »
>rspt1908
Of course, it's a plastic  :).
 
The following users thanked this post: rspt1908

Offline southpacific

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 1
  • Country: au
Re: The Siglent SDG1000 and SDG800 thread
« Reply #354 on: January 31, 2019, 09:32:34 pm »
Repair Solution- Siglent SDG1050 - Erratic Output Level

A Siglent SDG1050 (PCB Version SDYB.007.009C) was in use for 7 years, until the main (Ch1) output went erratic.

On Channel 1 (right hand socket), the output voltage at 1.999V was correct. At 2.000V the output dropped to around 400mV.

An initial replacement of all relays did not correct the problem.

So another SDG1050 (PCB Version SDYB.007.009G) was purchased (These are quite good instruments).

The tracking and comparison of signals between units was difficult (no schematic), as the PCB output section on the newer unit had been changed (to rectify fault issues in the earlier units - which caused this failure).

With the faulty unit, as an opamp's output signal was followed, the signal suddenly dissappeared across a resistor. But the signal level was good on the newer unit. The resistor had gone open.

The 1.999V to 2.000V fault resulted from R154 (24R9 0603 marking 39X) going open (There were two in series for ~50R). On the newer instrument, they had been replaced by a higher wattage 2512 49R9 resisor. So Siglent knew about the problem and has fixed it.

If others have faults with their Siglent Signal Generator, in the relay area (near the BNC sockets), check as many resistors as possible. Get a resistor value marking table (on the web) and check that each resistor is close to its expected value.   
 

Online tautech

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 16701
  • Country: nz
  • Taupaki Technologies Ltd. NZ Siglent Distributor
    • Taupaki Technologies Ltd.
Re: The Siglent SDG1000 and SDG800 thread
« Reply #355 on: February 04, 2019, 07:59:32 am »
New firmware for the SDG1000 series AWG's.

1.01.01.39R7
https://www.siglentamerica.com/download/8125/

Changelog
1. Fixed a bug that the generator may freeze when being
connected to a USB-GPIB adapter.
Avid Rabid Hobbyist
 

Offline Fennec

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 119
  • Country: 00
Re: The Siglent SDG1000 and SDG800 thread
« Reply #356 on: February 05, 2019, 11:02:36 pm »
Changelog
1. Fixed a bug that the generator may freeze when being
connected to a USB-GPIB adapter.

Lol, does anybody ever seen this GPIB option?
 

Online tautech

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 16701
  • Country: nz
  • Taupaki Technologies Ltd. NZ Siglent Distributor
    • Taupaki Technologies Ltd.
Re: The Siglent SDG1000 and SDG800 thread
« Reply #357 on: February 06, 2019, 01:27:11 am »
Changelog
1. Fixed a bug that the generator may freeze when being
connected to a USB-GPIB adapter.

Lol, does anybody ever seen this GPIB option?
:-//
It's listed as an accessory for these AWG models:
https://www.siglentamerica.com/accessory/usb-gpib-adapter/
Avid Rabid Hobbyist
 

Offline Fennec

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 119
  • Country: 00
Re: The Siglent SDG1000 and SDG800 thread
« Reply #358 on: February 07, 2019, 11:02:22 am »
Aw, I thought it is a PCB to plug in into the device, not an external USB >> GPIB.

Thank you.
 

Offline dimtass

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 3
  • Country: de
  • Wannabe engineer
Re: The Siglent SDG1000 and SDG800 thread
« Reply #359 on: August 07, 2019, 08:33:30 pm »
For those who are interested in controlling the SDG1000 (I've only tested on my 1025) via USB from Linux (e.g. Ubuntu) which doesn't have official support for ni-visa, then they can use this method.
I've tested this on a Ubuntu 18.04.2

Edit: of course you could use any linux device to control the siglent, like a raspberry pi or any other Linux SBC that runs python. That way you can run automated tasks, without having to leave your workstation powered on.

Create a python virt-env
Code: [Select]
sudo apt-get install python3-venv
python3 -m venv sdg1025
source ~/pyenv/sdg1025/bin/activate

Then install python-usbtmc (https://github.com/python-ivi/python-usbtmc)
Code: [Select]
cd ~/Downloads
git clone https://github.com/python-ivi/python-usbtmc
python setup.py install

Then on your sdg1000 select the TMC USB option
Utility >> Interface >> USB Setup >> USBTMC

Now you need to create a udev rule so your user has access to the device
Code: [Select]
sudo vi /etc/udev/rules.d/51-siglent-sdg1025.rules

And add this rule
Code: [Select]
SUBSYSTEM=="usb", ATTRS{idVendor}=="f4ed", ATTRS{idProduct}=="ee3a", MODE="0666"
Before do this, run lsusb to verify the VID/PID. In my case for example is:
Code: [Select]
Bus 001 Device 066: ID f4ed:ee3a Shenzhen Siglent Co., Ltd. SDG1010 Waveform Generator (TMC mode)
Then reload and trigger udev rules, while the sdg is still connected
Code: [Select]
sudo udevadm control --reload-rules && sudo udevadm trigger
Now, to test that it works load python
Code: [Select]
python
And try this:
Code: [Select]
>>> import usbtmc
>>> usbtmc.list_resources()

This should list your device, e.g.
Code: [Select]
['USB::65432::12345::SDG10GA1234567::INSTR']
Now you can create an instance with this string:
Code: [Select]
>>> sdg =  usbtmc.Instrument('USB::65432::12345::SDG10GA1234567::INSTR')

To print the device info:
Code: [Select]
>>> print(sdg.ask("*IDN?"))
*IDN SDG,SDG1025,SDG10GA1234567,1.01.01.39R5,04-00-00-30-28

Now you can use [this](https://mediacdn.eu/mage/media/wysiwyg/siglent/Downloads/Command/SDG_Programming_Guide.pdf) pdf to run any command you like.

For example to get channel configuration:
Code: [Select]
>>> sdg.ask('C1:BSWV?)
'C1:BSWV WVTP,SINE,FRQ,1000HZ,PERI,0.00100000006S,AMPHLEV,2V,LLEV,-2V,PHSE,0\n\x00-2V,PHSE,0'

To set the channel configuration to a 10MHz 3.3V square waveform
Code: [Select]
>>> sdg.write('C1:BSWV WVTP,SQUARE,FRQ,10000000,AMP,3.3V')

To turn on CH1
Code: [Select]
sdg.write('C1:OUTP ON')

Turn off channel
Code: [Select]
sdg.write('C1:OUTP OFF')

You can now write automations in python and control the generator. You can also use pyqt or tkinter to create a small GUI interface.
« Last Edit: August 07, 2019, 09:08:24 pm by dimtass »
 
The following users thanked this post: tinhead

Offline dimtass

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 3
  • Country: de
  • Wannabe engineer
Re: The Siglent SDG1000 and SDG800 thread
« Reply #360 on: August 09, 2019, 10:00:18 am »
I've written a small post on how to work with the usbtmc on Linux and SDG1025.

https://www.stupid-projects.com/write-python-scripts-for-your-siglent-sdg1025/

I've also uploaded a video using the web interface on a tablet. The slider updates the frequency while sliding and every 2 or 30ms depending the async method is used. It's really fast, but I couldn't show it on the video as my tablet touch screen is not working properly.


I've used a small SBC (nanopi-neo) to run the web app backend. You can even use an SBC which has WiFi support (nanopi-neo-air) and power it on from the SDG's USB port.
 
The following users thanked this post: tinhead

Online tautech

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 16701
  • Country: nz
  • Taupaki Technologies Ltd. NZ Siglent Distributor
    • Taupaki Technologies Ltd.
Re: The Siglent SDG1000 and SDG800 thread
« Reply #361 on: August 20, 2019, 03:19:00 am »
New firmware for SDG800 models

Version 1.08.01.13R9
6.3 MB
https://siglentna.com/download/14908/

Release notes
Fixed the abnormal display issue during start-up on some units with previous releases. It is not necessary to update to this version if the unit has no such a problem.
Avid Rabid Hobbyist
 

Online tautech

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 16701
  • Country: nz
  • Taupaki Technologies Ltd. NZ Siglent Distributor
    • Taupaki Technologies Ltd.
Re: The Siglent SDG1000 and SDG800 thread
« Reply #362 on: September 07, 2019, 08:56:05 pm »
Grabbed from another thread:
ET12 - Siglent SDG1025 0.1ppm TCXO Hack - YouTube

Avid Rabid Hobbyist
 

Offline tablatronix

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 200
  • Country: us
Re: The Siglent SDG1000 and SDG800 thread
« Reply #363 on: January 14, 2020, 07:27:23 pm »
Hello folks, I have a SDG805 from ebay.. It seems to work well.

One problem I am seeing, is someone seems to have installed the wavestation firmware ( ok who's unit is this, points fingers around  :) )
But now I cannot update it, it just fails when applying updates via usb drive. Tries to run, and says failed. I am assuming some mismatch.

I am wanting to update because the version is very old (R6, assuming the versions align with siglent.. :-// )

Anyone have any tips ? Should I just try to obtain lecroy firmware see if it will update?

As far as I can tell the warranty sticker is still intact also, so probably still factory inside.
« Last Edit: January 14, 2020, 07:29:27 pm by tablatronix »
 

Online tv84

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 989
  • Country: pt
Re: The Siglent SDG1000 and SDG800 thread
« Reply #364 on: January 14, 2020, 07:39:07 pm »
For now don't flash any other Lecroy FW.

Tell us all the info that you see in the system info menu so that we know which is, precisely, the FW that you have.

 

Online tautech

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 16701
  • Country: nz
  • Taupaki Technologies Ltd. NZ Siglent Distributor
    • Taupaki Technologies Ltd.
Re: The Siglent SDG1000 and SDG800 thread
« Reply #365 on: January 14, 2020, 07:46:18 pm »
Hello folks, I have a SDG805 from ebay.. It seems to work well.

One problem I am seeing, is someone seems to have installed the wavestation firmware ( ok who's unit is this, points fingers around  :) )
But now I cannot update it, it just fails when applying updates via usb drive. Tries to run, and says failed. I am assuming some mismatch.

I am wanting to update because the version is very old (R6, assuming the versions align with siglent.. :-// )

Anyone have any tips ? Should I just try to obtain lecroy firmware see if it will update?

As far as I can tell the warranty sticker is still intact also, so probably still factory inside.
Suggestions to try, at your own risk !

Hunt through all the SDG800 firmware updates for a Config file and run it before installing any Siglent firmware.
This will allow the UI change to Siglent from LeCroy.

Carefully study the release notes, there is an defined order firmware must be installed to get to the latest version.
Also, the release notes might have mention of a firmware version needing the Config file and that will give clues of which version to use. Make notes of the steps you will use before you even start.

Don't give up as too hard, you need to do this to get to recent firmware so to not have boot freeze problems that late version firmware has fixed.

I have some advanced resources  ;) if you get into trouble.
Avid Rabid Hobbyist
 

Offline tablatronix

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 200
  • Country: us
Re: The Siglent SDG1000 and SDG800 thread
« Reply #366 on: January 14, 2020, 08:44:03 pm »
Thanks for replies,

Info Attached, I have read the firmware docs and have tried all of them, even the transition.ads and its says "Update Failed" instantly or "Choice Valid update file"
(also it(the docs) has no mention of upgrading from .06 ) only .05 and .07 with regards to the order. shrug


EDIT: I read it wrong I think , I will try again , maybe I did not run 07 first as I am supposed to to be sure. 07,transition, + etc, is doesn't say if a restart between each is necessary though. But I will give it another go.
The file names were 8_3 short on the usb soooo.. lol
« Last Edit: January 14, 2020, 08:58:56 pm by tablatronix »
 

Online tautech

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 16701
  • Country: nz
  • Taupaki Technologies Ltd. NZ Siglent Distributor
    • Taupaki Technologies Ltd.
Re: The Siglent SDG1000 and SDG800 thread
« Reply #367 on: January 14, 2020, 08:57:12 pm »
Thanks for replies,

Info Attached, I have read the firmware docs and have tried all of them, even the transition.ads and its says "Update Failed" instantly or "Choice Valid update file"
(also it(the docs) has no mention of upgrading from .06 ) only .05 and .07 with regards to the order. shrug


EDIT: I will try again , maybe I did not run 07 first as I am supposed to to be sure. 07,transition, + etc, is doesn't say if a restart between each is necessary though. But I will give it another go.
Have a look here for many more SDG800 FW versions than listed on the US site:
https://int.siglent.com/download/firmwares/?ProId=21
Avid Rabid Hobbyist
 
The following users thanked this post: tablatronix

Online tv84

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 989
  • Country: pt
Re: The Siglent SDG1000 and SDG800 thread
« Reply #368 on: January 14, 2020, 09:14:12 pm »
Why do you say it has a Lecroy FW? Because of the boot logo?

Show me these SCPI commands:

*IDN?
MD5_PR?
MD5_SRLN?
IDN-SGLT-AWG?
PRO_SRLN?
MCBD?

From the link tautech provided, install 07, reboot, transition, reboot.  After transition is installed I think you can go directly to 13R9.
« Last Edit: January 14, 2020, 09:39:30 pm by tv84 »
 

Online tautech

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 16701
  • Country: nz
  • Taupaki Technologies Ltd. NZ Siglent Distributor
    • Taupaki Technologies Ltd.
Re: The Siglent SDG1000 and SDG800 thread
« Reply #369 on: January 14, 2020, 09:42:04 pm »
Why do you say it has a Lecroy FW? Because of the boot logo?
V6 is the first FW for SDG800 AFAIK and yes the LeCroy boot image as you know will be part of that/all firmware.

tablatronix can contact me privately for another solution but it involves removing the covers to access the HW inside.
We have had HW failures (boot freeze) with these models but they are SW related and we now have a box of tools to successfully recover them. tablatronix might find the FW he needs I dunno and I think the freeze recovery tools might be the simplest remedy.
Avid Rabid Hobbyist
 

Online tv84

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 989
  • Country: pt
Re: The Siglent SDG1000 and SDG800 thread
« Reply #370 on: January 14, 2020, 09:59:18 pm »
If that was a Lecroy, what model would it be? I can't find any Lecroy model equivalent to the Siglent SDG805...
 

Offline tablatronix

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 200
  • Country: us
Re: The Siglent SDG1000 and SDG800 thread
« Reply #371 on: January 15, 2020, 01:27:32 am »
Thanks all!

I was doing something wrong, I was missing 07 install first,
yay, running latest firmware now, SD830
instek SFG2010 is channel 2

FYI, before the update,
The boot screen says siglent, but the help info screen, help page were saying wavestation, its back to siglent now.


I did not run any commands, because I cannot get a console, I am on mac. anyone know if there are drivers for osx?


Also I am getting some voltage out of the usb port, it repeatedly crashes my hub on bootup, not sure what could be wrong to cause this. The device did show up, but this seems odd and glitches my usb hub. Attached a trace.
« Last Edit: January 15, 2020, 01:30:05 am by tablatronix »
 

Online tautech

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 16701
  • Country: nz
  • Taupaki Technologies Ltd. NZ Siglent Distributor
    • Taupaki Technologies Ltd.
Re: The Siglent SDG1000 and SDG800 thread
« Reply #372 on: January 15, 2020, 02:04:04 am »
Thanks all!

I was doing something wrong, I was missing 07 install first,
yay, running latest firmware now, SD830
:-//
Do you mean it's now a SDG830 ?
And with FW 13R9 ?

Quote
I did not run any commands, because I cannot get a console, I am on mac. anyone know if there are drivers for osx?
Yes because you are USB restricted to using the EasyWave SW utility and IIRC there's a SCPI command console in there. No LAN in these models to use Telnet or Putty consoles.
Check the install notes on EasyWave as you should be able to run it in a Win VM yet don't overlook it needs NIVISA Runtime for the USB connectivity drivers.

Quote
Also I am getting some voltage out of the usb port, it repeatedly crashes my hub on bootup, not sure what could be wrong to cause this. The device did show up, but this seems odd and glitches my usb hub.
With the latest FW allowing for USB boot freeze recovery the unit polls the USB port on boot looking for the recovery files and if/when not found procedes with normal boot.
Can you turn OFF the power on one port of the hub ?
Avid Rabid Hobbyist
 

Offline tablatronix

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 200
  • Country: us
Re: The Siglent SDG1000 and SDG800 thread
« Reply #373 on: January 15, 2020, 12:40:38 pm »
Yes It says sdg830, others have reported similar

I expected a serial uart, but I see now it uses a usb stack, boo

I would expect there to be a backfeed diode here or vusb to not be connected at all. Very strange. ( I thought usb boot protection meant the front usb port for usb drives. )
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf