Author Topic: The Siglent SDG2042X Thread  (Read 280187 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Rerouter

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 4370
  • Country: au
  • Question Everything... Except This Statement
Re: The Siglent SDG2042X Thread
« Reply #1025 on: December 23, 2018, 11:22:57 am »
Dont forget many mice these days have programmable option keys  >:D
 

Offline MartyMacGyver

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 70
  • Country: us
Re: The Siglent SDG2042X Thread
« Reply #1026 on: December 25, 2018, 06:05:29 am »
I was looking for this file (SDG2000_eevblog_23R7.zip) and seems that all previously posted links are broken.
Could you please upload it again?

I second this request... my SDG2042X just arrived and I'm eager to open the throttle on it.  :D

(It currently has 2.01.01.23R8 on it. If the process for modding this has changed though, it'd be good to know that as well.)
 

Offline tv84

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 914
  • Country: pt
Re: The Siglent SDG2042X Thread
« Reply #1027 on: December 25, 2018, 09:32:57 am »
(It currently has 2.01.01.23R8 on it. If the process for modding this has changed though, it'd be good to know that as well.)

Alternative.
 
The following users thanked this post: MartyMacGyver, tycoon_9

Offline MartyMacGyver

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 70
  • Country: us
Re: The Siglent SDG2042X Thread
« Reply #1028 on: December 25, 2018, 09:53:27 am »
(It currently has 2.01.01.23R8 on it. If the process for modding this has changed though, it'd be good to know that as well.)
Alternative.
Funny you should mention that, because that is precisely the post I was reading and attempting to execute before just now seeing your reply.

However... it's not clear how to actually load this file (in my case `telnet_SDG2000X.ADS`). It won't flash as firmware (apparently I'm not the first to rule that method out), but it's not clear how else that can be flashed? Or is this a "boot with this file alone" sort of thing? Or is it a file naming thing?

Edit: OH HO HO! "Update Failed!" is not what it appears.... it actually worked.

Edit2: I followed along here and made the necessary updates. I now have an SDS2122X!

What's interesting (and I've seen mention of it elsewhere) is that my serial number got reset to `0123456789`. I was able to fix it by manually entering the digits in the field, but even replicating the process and carefully not removing `</system_information>` along with the rest of the `<license>` line as the dummies guide suggests still has the same net effect.

So, to others doing this, note your serial number (and maybe copy the whole block of XML out of the editor and into some safe place) so you can put it back in later. It's easy enough, just a bit of a quirk to be aware of.

Thanks once again for the help!
« Last Edit: December 25, 2018, 10:17:07 am by MartyMacGyver »
 
The following users thanked this post: tycoon_9

Offline bicycleguy

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 142
  • Country: us
Re: The Siglent SDG2042X Thread
« Reply #1029 on: December 26, 2018, 05:13:46 pm »
(It currently has 2.01.01.23R8 on it. If the process for modding this has changed though, it'd be good to know that as well.)
Alternative.
. . .
Edit: OH HO HO! "Update Failed!" is not what it appears.... it actually worked.
...

What worked exactly?  I get the update failed after about 4 seconds, 90% and everything appears the same, still can't get passed the login.  Do you have to reboot?  I'm on a Mac and using nc x.x.x.x 23 -ctv  for telnet.  Have tried all combinations of ct &v to no avail.  Any clue on what I am missing?
« Last Edit: December 26, 2018, 09:29:03 pm by bicycleguy »
 

Offline bicycleguy

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 142
  • Country: us
Re: The Siglent SDG2042X Thread
« Reply #1030 on: December 26, 2018, 05:19:29 pm »
Of course as soon as I ask the question I figure it out, reconnect to the 10101 port.
Thanks for all the work on this.
 
The following users thanked this post: tycoon_9

Offline bicycleguy

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 142
  • Country: us
Re: The Siglent SDG2042X Thread
« Reply #1031 on: December 26, 2018, 09:49:47 pm »
FWIW
The vi on the SDG2042X Ver 2.01.01.23R8 didn't seem to work using the root file.  Couldn't get it into command mode using either a mac or Rpi, both with nc.  Could see the text and add to it but no way to move around esc or save,  contrl-c to get out.  Could be how nc is configured or the root fix?

So copied the file to the usb stick, modified and copied back.  Definitely req'd 'Linux for Dummies'.
 

Offline bashmntl

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 1
  • Country: ca
Re: The Siglent SDG2042X Thread
« Reply #1032 on: January 05, 2019, 03:41:26 pm »
I tried booting my SDG2042x this morning and was met with this screen and a series of beeps. I noticed the fpga led is not flashing as per the service manual (all voltages are good). As well, from the console, I can see a slew of messages saying that writing to the fpga has failed eg.

fpga_init_load_fpga_file_to_fpga::str_path = /usr/bin/siglent/config/fpga/fpga.bin
[[33m[WARNNING]:[[0mfpga_check_read_operate_state_finish():line=4465:i=1001;ret=0;reg_value=0;read flash state, time out!

 and finally
E0101 00:00:25.526660   579 drv_fpga.cpp:127] chip not ok! write_value:85,read_walue:0
drv_fpga_t::fpga_is_clock_source_stable  clk_reg.value=1


I'm just a bit baffled as to why the fpga would be good one afternoon and bad the next morning. Has someone else suffered a similar problem or has some insight?
Thanks
 

Offline kim.dd

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 9
  • Country: be
Re: The Siglent SDG2042X Thread
« Reply #1033 on: January 18, 2019, 07:47:17 pm »
I unlocked my SDG2042X some time ago and noticed the amplitude starts to roll off after 40MHz (-1db @ 90MHz).
I think the unlock allows you to output up to 120MHz, but the amplitude will not be as accurate as below 40MHz.
Check this post https://www.eevblog.com/forum/beginners/measuring-bandwidth-ds1074z/msg1963346/#msg1963346.
Redid the measurement with an old 100MHz analog scope (Tektronix 2235) and same result.
Perhaps a hardware output filter or missing calibration for the higher frequencies?
 

Offline tautech

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 16194
  • Country: nz
  • Taupaki Technologies Ltd. NZ Siglent Distributor
    • Taupaki Technologies Ltd.
Re: The Siglent SDG2042X Thread
« Reply #1034 on: January 18, 2019, 07:58:20 pm »
I unlocked my SDG2042X some time ago and noticed the amplitude starts to roll off after 40MHz (-1db @ 90MHz).
I think the unlock allows you to output up to 120MHz, but the amplitude will not be as accurate as below 40MHz.
Check this post https://www.eevblog.com/forum/beginners/measuring-bandwidth-ds1074z/msg1963346/#msg1963346.
Redid the measurement with an old 100MHz analog scope (Tektronix 2235) and same result.
Perhaps a hardware output filter or missing calibration for the higher frequencies?
Maybe but it needs checking against the datasheet spec:
P8 Output Characteristics:
Accuracy ±(1%+1mVpp) 10 kHz sine, 0 V offset
Amplitude flatness
+0.4 dB 100~120 MHz (Included), 50Ω load, 2.5Vpp, 10kHz Sine
« Last Edit: January 18, 2019, 08:00:16 pm by tautech »
Avid Rabid Hobbyist
 

Offline kim.dd

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 9
  • Country: be
Re: The Siglent SDG2042X Thread
« Reply #1035 on: January 19, 2019, 08:50:35 am »
I bought a 40Mhz unit and it looks like it's in spec to 40MHz so no complaining here.
Just saying unlocking doesn't mean your unit will be in spec for the higher unlocked bandwidth.
Still a good buy, the unit is unlocked still in spec somewhat above 60MHz and is cheaper than the Rigol DG952 + doesn't look like crap :)
 

Offline 2N3055

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2113
  • Country: hr
Re: The Siglent SDG2042X Thread
« Reply #1036 on: January 19, 2019, 11:42:45 am »
I bought a 40Mhz unit and it looks like it's in spec to 40MHz so no complaining here.
Just saying unlocking doesn't mean your unit will be in spec for the higher unlocked bandwidth.
Still a good buy, the unit is unlocked still in spec somewhat above 60MHz and is cheaper than the Rigol DG952 + doesn't look like crap :)

What you measured is a frequency response of your scope. Normally scope's don't have a specification for frequency response flatness, and cannot be used to verify sig-gens that are order of magnitude better in that respect than general purpose scopes. That is a job for at least calibrated spectrum analyser, or better (how it should be done) a calibrated power sensor should be used (that is how siggens are calibrated).

All AWG units that are field upgradeable to a higher bandwidth with just license come adjusted for full span from factory.
Otherwise it would be return to factory upgrade.
 

Offline kim.dd

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 9
  • Country: be
Re: The Siglent SDG2042X Thread
« Reply #1037 on: January 19, 2019, 12:50:07 pm »
I guess your right, just checked the measurements and to fit them I need a first order low pass with a -3dB somewhere around 180MHz.
So both the digital and analog scope probably have an analog -3dB bandwidth of around 180MHz causing a measurable roll off above 40MHz.
I do not have the equipment to check if the applied hack from 40MHz to 120MHz is flat within +-0.4db, but probably is.
 
The following users thanked this post: 2N3055

Offline kawasakix

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 3
  • Country: fr
Re: The Siglent SDG2042X Thread
« Reply #1038 on: March 08, 2019, 06:47:33 pm »
Upgrading from 40 MHz to 120 MHz still possible.
Generator received today with firmware 2.01.01.23R8 installed.
Firmware update performed in version 2.01.01.17R5. Editing the file.
Update again in firmware 2.01.01.23R8 and everything is OK.
The 120 MHz are present.  8)
 

Offline dkggpeters

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 18
  • Country: us
Re: The Siglent SDG2042X Thread
« Reply #1039 on: March 08, 2019, 07:22:25 pm »
Upgrading from 40 MHz to 120 MHz still possible.
Generator received today with firmware 2.01.01.23R8 installed.
Firmware update performed in version 2.01.01.17R5. Editing the file.
Update again in firmware 2.01.01.23R8 and everything is OK.
The 120 MHz are present.  8)

FYI, you can do the hack direltly from 23R8 and there is no need to downgrade then upgrade again.
 

Offline kawasakix

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 3
  • Country: fr
Re: The Siglent SDG2042X Thread
« Reply #1040 on: March 08, 2019, 08:46:18 pm »


FYI, you can do the hack direltly from 23R8 and there is no need to downgrade then upgrade again.

I do not agree.
I understood that from the version 2.01.01.21R2, it was necessary a login and a password and it is very true.
I just checked at the moment and without login and password, with the version 2.01.01.23R8, it is impossible.
« Last Edit: March 08, 2019, 09:46:28 pm by kawasakix »
 

Offline dkggpeters

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 18
  • Country: us
Re: The Siglent SDG2042X Thread
« Reply #1041 on: March 08, 2019, 08:51:03 pm »


FYI, you can do the hack direltly from 23R8 and there is no need to downgrade then upgrade again.

I do not agree.
I understood that from the version 2.01.01.21R2, it was necessary a login and a password and it is very true.
I just checked at the moment and without login and password, with the version 2.01.01.23R8, it is impossible.

Use the Telnet_SDG2000X file as in the link in post # 1027 above.  That is how I did it.
 

Offline kawasakix

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 3
  • Country: fr
Re: The Siglent SDG2042X Thread
« Reply #1042 on: March 08, 2019, 09:45:56 pm »


FYI, you can do the hack direltly from 23R8 and there is no need to downgrade then upgrade again.

I do not agree.
I understood that from the version 2.01.01.21R2, it was necessary a login and a password and it is very true.
I just checked at the moment and without login and password, with the version 2.01.01.23R8, it is impossible.

Use the Telnet_SDG2000X file as in the link in post # 1027 above.  That is how I did it.

OKAY. Sorry, I did not know.
I do not read English well.
Thank you.  :D
 

Offline dkggpeters

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 18
  • Country: us
Re: The Siglent SDG2042X Thread
« Reply #1043 on: March 09, 2019, 07:24:33 pm »
Nice read in this thread.   I just ordered a SDG2122X and should be here for my birthday (it was my birthday present to myself)  Ordered from TEquipment.
Have to say they are great.   They recently had it on sale and honored the EEVBLOG discount so got it for just over 700  :clap:  :phew:
Congrats, I only heard good stuff too from my internal sources.  ;)

Good for you smgvbest - I really love my SDG2082X.
Thanks for your feedback too.  :-+

No worries.  I was just trying to let others now and wasn’t trying to argue with you.  My mistake if taken that way.
 

Offline TWMIV

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 18
  • Country: us
Re: The Siglent SDG2042X Thread
« Reply #1044 on: March 20, 2019, 03:21:54 am »
Is there a way to save the accumulated data from the counter, export a csv of the data or something?
I cant find anything in the manual, from a google search or poking around on the device.
 

Offline tautech

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 16194
  • Country: nz
  • Taupaki Technologies Ltd. NZ Siglent Distributor
    • Taupaki Technologies Ltd.
Re: The Siglent SDG2042X Thread
« Reply #1045 on: March 20, 2019, 04:11:24 am »
Is there a way to save the accumulated data from the counter, export a csv of the data or something?
I cant find anything in the manual, from a google search or poking around on the device.
Maybe use a command string with the SCPI command set.
http://www.siglentamerica.com/wp-content/uploads/dlm_uploads/2017/10/SDG_Programming_Guide.pdf

Check P36/68
3.17 Frequency Counter Command
Avid Rabid Hobbyist
 

Offline TWMIV

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 18
  • Country: us
Re: The Siglent SDG2042X Thread
« Reply #1046 on: March 20, 2019, 04:29:11 am »
That will work for the future, FCTN? will return the current information.
Looks like it just can not export counter data that it has been taking other than the statistical information.
 

Offline tautech

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 16194
  • Country: nz
  • Taupaki Technologies Ltd. NZ Siglent Distributor
    • Taupaki Technologies Ltd.
Re: The Siglent SDG2042X Thread
« Reply #1047 on: March 20, 2019, 04:37:55 am »
That will work for the future, FCTN? will return the current information.
Looks like it just can not export counter data that it has been taking other than the statistical information.
I'm no expert on SCPI but as I see it FCTN FRQ should just return the frequency then all you need is to run this in a loop for whatever logging time you need.
Dunno how to do that but someone smarter than me will chime in lets hope.
Avid Rabid Hobbyist
 

Offline TWMIV

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 18
  • Country: us
Re: The Siglent SDG2042X Thread
« Reply #1048 on: March 20, 2019, 04:39:49 am »
That is what I am planning on doing. If I have time tomorrow I will see if I can put together a small python program to handle that with pyvisa. I got it working in Keysight connection expert, so it will work.
 

Offline k8943

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 73
  • Country: be
Re: The Siglent SDG2042X Thread
« Reply #1049 on: April 07, 2019, 06:39:41 pm »
I keep wanting to get this machine.... then keep thinking won't use it enough.

Anyone give some clues or encouragement?!   :scared:
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf