Author Topic: The Siglent SDG2042X Thread  (Read 274839 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Online ebastler

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2994
  • Country: de
Re: The Siglent SDG2042X Thread
« Reply #1075 on: April 16, 2019, 09:29:22 am »
...

Just in case Easywave was causing issues there, you could double check by creating the two-tone wave in another way.
I wrote a simple script for GNU Octave to create arb waves in Siglent CSV format. The included example is a two tone sine.

You got the quote attribution mixed up, it was plasmateur who ran into problems with the Easywave-generated waveform. But I second your recommendation to use a different tool to generate the samples. I have not become friends with EasyWave, and have simply used Excel to generate wave samples and export them as CSV.
 
The following users thanked this post: voltsandjolts

Offline voltsandjolts

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 734
  • Country: gb
Re: The Siglent SDG2042X Thread
« Reply #1076 on: April 16, 2019, 09:46:16 am »
Oops, fixed, thanks.
 

Online Rerouter

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 4314
  • Country: au
  • Question Everything... Except This Statement
Re: The Siglent SDG2042X Thread
« Reply #1077 on: April 16, 2019, 11:13:49 am »
For the burst and sweep mode you can set each channel up to use the external trigger, now I don't own that model to test that it works, but by using an external AUX trigger you may be able to accomplish what your trying to do
You tee off that aux trigger to the scope and I think that would meet your requirements.

I should point out you can use this to both burst and sweep arbitary waveforms,
« Last Edit: April 16, 2019, 11:17:52 am by Rerouter »
 

Offline colorado.rob

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 242
  • Country: us
Re: The Siglent SDG2042X Thread
« Reply #1078 on: April 16, 2019, 02:58:46 pm »
It also appears as there is no SCPI command that can be used to capture the screen display which could also be used to snapshot the data.

Anyone had any luck capturing this data via SCPI? Failing that there is always the cell phone camera :-DD

The SDG2000X uses the same screen dump command as all Siglent gear.  I have screen dumps via SCPI from SDS, SDG, SDM and SSA devices.

https://gist.github.com/mobilinkd/8a07cc124946c87715c6a1458118411e

Just point it at your AWG and give it a shot.
 

Offline 2N3055

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2087
  • Country: hr
Re: The Siglent SDG2042X Thread
« Reply #1079 on: April 16, 2019, 03:03:03 pm »
For the burst and sweep mode you can set each channel up to use the external trigger, now I don't own that model to test that it works, but by using an external AUX trigger you may be able to accomplish what your trying to do
You tee off that aux trigger to the scope and I think that would meet your requirements.

I should point out you can use this to both burst and sweep arbitary waveforms,

Problem is that you cannot burst and sweep at the same time. He needs to go from no signal to sweep to zero signal.
 

Offline Plasmateur

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 148
  • Country: us
Re: The Siglent SDG2042X Thread
« Reply #1080 on: April 17, 2019, 05:32:14 am »
Also, when I attempted to generate a two frequency sinusoid with the Easywave, the intermod products, or the sidebands that I observed on a spectrum analyzer appeared to much much higher than when just combining two channels.

Just in case Easywave was causing issues there, you could double check by creating the two-tone wave in another way.
I wrote a simple script for GNU Octave to create arb waves in Siglent CSV format. The included example is a two tone sine.

https://www.eevblog.com/forum/testgear/siglent-sdg1000-arbitrary-csv-file-format/msg1973726/#msg1973726

I'll give your code a shot.

I also tried to generate a CSV with Matlab, and found the sidebands to be higher than just combining two channels.

I'll probably end up running your code and finding out I was bad at generating a CSV. Thanks!
 

Offline bicycleguy

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 141
  • Country: us
Re: The Siglent SDG2042X Thread
« Reply #1081 on: May 08, 2019, 04:31:52 pm »
Anyone having problems with the PowerOn Last feature?

Supposed to startup up with last used settings.  Sometimes does, usually not and many times comes up with defective waveforms as attached, that can only be fixed by toggling Utility/Mode/Phase Locked and Independent.

Settings that don't seem to be saved are random, frequency, phase lock, waveform ect.  The defective waveforms don't seem to correspond with what's in channel 2.

ver 2.01.01.23R8
hw 02-02-00-35-00

Here's a 40Mz sine wave:

« Last Edit: May 08, 2019, 04:37:59 pm by bicycleguy »
 

Offline gammaburst

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 2
  • Country: us
Re: The Siglent SDG2042X Thread
« Reply #1082 on: May 25, 2019, 11:02:54 am »
Bricking alert!

My unit was running perfectly fine until did the following:

1) Firmware upgrade 22R5 => 23R3, after successful upgrade just continued to use and did following:
2) Used EasyWave to send 8pts wfm, played around with DDS/TrueArb setting etc. Turned unit off while custom wfm was loaded.

Next day unit now shows blank screen after logo. Controls non-responsive. Parameter button is lit. Not recognized as USB device. But LAN shows functional login screen. Do not know user/pass.

:-// Since did 2 things first time (not used EW before) cannot be sure which activity bricked it. My first idea would be delete custom wfm. Maybe loading it at boot bricks it. But cannot get in....

Ordered online from siglent.eu quite a hassle sending it back etc... Since LAN is working maybe there is some trick to resurrect it? Can firmware be upgraded / downgraded over LAN? Reset procedure? Telnet user / pass?

I realize MrW0lf's message is 2 years old, but I'd like to share my somewhat similar bricking experience and solution.

A couple hours ago I bricked my SDG2042X (modified long ago to SDG2122X by using patched 23R7 firmware and modified XML file). Today I was trying to upload a waveform into the instrument by using low-level SCPI over TCP without needing any NI or Siglent software. I accidentally fumbled my code, resulting in a zero-length waveform stored in the instrument, and then I power-cycled the instrument to clear its stuck TCP state. Bricked! During power-up it displayed the logo for about 25 seconds, then several LED flash briefly, then the LCD goes blank forever.

I unbricked the instrument by connecting via telnet (thanks to the patched firmware), moved into /usr/bin/siglent/usr/usr, deleted my bogus zero-length waveform, power-cycled the instrument, and now it boots fine. Whew!

Maybe that will be helpful to someone else.
 
The following users thanked this post: tautech, BillB

Online tautech

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 16014
  • Country: nz
  • Taupaki Technologies Ltd. NZ Siglent Distributor
    • Taupaki Technologies Ltd.
Re: The Siglent SDG2042X Thread
« Reply #1083 on: May 25, 2019, 11:13:12 am »
@ gammaburst
 :phew:
Thanks for sharing your recovery method. :clap: 
Avid Rabid Hobbyist
 

Offline bicycleguy

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 141
  • Country: us
Re: The Siglent SDG2042X Thread
« Reply #1084 on: May 25, 2019, 04:05:44 pm »
@ gammaburst
I guess that only works for 23R7 since password required  for 23R8 and usual USB boot wouldn't work?
« Last Edit: May 25, 2019, 10:25:25 pm by bicycleguy »
 

Offline helge

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 63
Re: The Siglent SDG2042X Thread
« Reply #1085 on: June 13, 2019, 12:01:36 pm »
This seems to be the right thread for the  :wtf: I'm having with my new SDG2082X running FW 2.01.01.23R8

I got it to replace the trusty SDG1050 with its limited output voltage and pulse width, but the "invert" behaves substantially different in the SDG2000 series:

Attached are two "pulse" waveforms when invert is switched with active output.

I'm observing the following behavior:
SDG1050 "invert output" == invert waveform pattern, respecting low and high voltage values as definitive
SDG2082X "invert output" == invert analog output voltage, treating "high voltage" only as an amplitude

is there a way to get the "invert pattern" separately from "invert output"?

I'm definitely running into changed paradigms here and not feeling the love for calculating the complementary pulse width each time.

ps. tested 10┬Ás inverted pulses by period:40ms, pulse width 39.99ms, but then the signal is low for a couple of seconds in burst mode (also differing from the previous interpretation.

pps. the logical solution would have been to define LOW 3V and HIGH as 0V, but for no reason whatsoever the firmware enforces HIGH level > LOW level.

ppps. with the new output stage design, the DC bias option is also gone, so I cannot just set it to +5V and have 0V / -5V pulses. Come on, Siglent :/

Someone please explain.



« Last Edit: June 13, 2019, 12:24:42 pm by helge »
 

Offline helge

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 63
Re: The Siglent SDG2042X Thread
« Reply #1086 on: June 13, 2019, 02:01:10 pm »
turns out the new way to invert a pattern with
low level == 0V, high level == 3V

is to set
low level == -3V, high level == 0V, output invert == on

  • solved



... still looks funny with the "-3V" on there while the output is >= 0V at all times. I'm not sure this is the best way to implement pattern inversion.
« Last Edit: June 13, 2019, 02:13:27 pm by helge »
 

Offline colorado.rob

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 242
  • Country: us
Re: The Siglent SDG2042X Thread
« Reply #1087 on: June 13, 2019, 02:09:56 pm »
I have to say that is surprising.  When I press "invert output" I expect it to behave as if the low/high values are swapped.  That's it.  I understand there is a work-around, but outputing voltages outside the limits specified is -- IMO -- wrong.
 
The following users thanked this post: helge

Offline exe

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 1280
  • Country: nl
  • self-educated hobbyist
Re: The Siglent SDG2042X Thread
« Reply #1088 on: June 14, 2019, 02:15:51 pm »
Interesting, for me "invert" is how SDG20xxX do it: mirror the signal on X axis.

What was not OK for me is that the waveform on the display remained the same, there was no indication on the display about invertion. So, I once fed in the circuit with negative voltage without even knowing it until I measured the output. I spent a lot of time to figure what the problem was, as well phantom "output overloaded" errors. Fortunately, both DUT and the signal gen survived it.
 
The following users thanked this post: helge

Online tautech

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 16014
  • Country: nz
  • Taupaki Technologies Ltd. NZ Siglent Distributor
    • Taupaki Technologies Ltd.
Re: The Siglent SDG2042X Thread
« Reply #1089 on: June 15, 2019, 09:02:03 am »
This is how it looks from my SDG1032X......much as I would expect.

Default outputs are of + amplitudes.
Following screenshots captured with Single shot trigger.





Outputs set to 0V as low level:

0V low level inverted:



« Last Edit: June 15, 2019, 09:04:39 am by tautech »
Avid Rabid Hobbyist
 

Offline rf-loop

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 3069
  • Country: fi
  • Starting with DLL21
Re: The Siglent SDG2042X Thread
« Reply #1090 on: June 15, 2019, 10:24:47 am »
It is extremely simple.
 
Inverting -1V is +1V.


Function is NOT waveform invert between its top and bottom. Function is OUTPUT invert.
It also works with DC.  Set output for +1Vdc and after you select output invert result is -1V.

If user have example pulses: from -5V upwards to -4V and then he invert instrument output he must get - and he get - narrow pulses from +5V downward to +4v.
This is why also this INVERT is in OUTPUT menu.

If user waveform is symmetric related to 0V then it is special case and output invert = waveform invert.

If there is special waveform invert  imho its right place is in waveform or wfm parameter menu. Then this kind of invert works so that in prev example original is so that from -5V narrow up pulses to -4V  and then result is narrow down pulses from -4V to -5V. And there is not at all this selection.
« Last Edit: June 15, 2019, 10:29:51 am by rf-loop »
If practice and theory is not equal it tells that used application of theory  is wrong or the theory itself is wrong.
It is much easier to think an apple fall to the ground than to think that the earth and the apple will begin to move toward each other and collide.
 

Offline helge

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 63
Re: The Siglent SDG2042X Thread
« Reply #1091 on: June 15, 2019, 11:14:48 am »
If there is special waveform invert  imho its right place is in waveform or wfm parameter menu. Then this kind of invert works so that in prev example original is so that from -5V narrow up pulses to -4V  and then result is narrow down pulses from -4V to -5V. And there is not at all this selection.

Yes - this is the invert feature SDG1050 provides, though it mixes up the two, and this is the feature I would have wanted to use to produce a complementary waveform. They could even call it "complementary waveform" to avoid any confusion with "invert output".

Besides that, there should be an indicator showing the output states (ON/OFF, NORM/INV).
« Last Edit: June 15, 2019, 11:30:22 am by helge »
 
The following users thanked this post: exe

Offline rf-loop

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 3069
  • Country: fi
  • Starting with DLL21
Re: The Siglent SDG2042X Thread
« Reply #1092 on: June 15, 2019, 11:53:27 am »
If there is special waveform invert  imho its right place is in waveform or wfm parameter menu. Then this kind of invert works so that in prev example original is so that from -5V narrow up pulses to -4V  and then result is narrow down pulses from -4V to -5V. And there is not at all this selection.

Yes - this is the invert feature SDG1050 provides, though it mixes up the two, and this is the feature I would have wanted to use to produce a complementary waveform. They could even call it "complementary waveform" to avoid any confusion with "invert output".

Besides that, there should be an indicator showing the output states (ON/OFF, NORM/INV).

Only need add this to Siglent FW development team wishlist.
Keep OUTPUT invert as it is.
ADD  waveform invert function (Invert between its top and bottom value).
 
Add some clear information to display what tell to user about wfm invert on/off  and output invert on/off independent of what selection/setup menu is visible.
If practice and theory is not equal it tells that used application of theory  is wrong or the theory itself is wrong.
It is much easier to think an apple fall to the ground than to think that the earth and the apple will begin to move toward each other and collide.
 
The following users thanked this post: helge

Offline exe

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 1280
  • Country: nl
  • self-educated hobbyist
Re: The Siglent SDG2042X Thread
« Reply #1093 on: June 15, 2019, 12:24:46 pm »
Add some clear information to display what tell to user about wfm invert on/off  and output invert on/off independent of what selection/setup menu is visible.

I'd say just showing the actual waveform would be enough, if that's possible.
 

Offline colorado.rob

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 242
  • Country: us
Re: The Siglent SDG2042X Thread
« Reply #1094 on: July 04, 2019, 07:56:46 pm »
I am trying to automate the modulation of a sinusoidal carrier with a custom waveform.  According to the programming manual, this is possible.

This command sets up a modulated DSB-AM carrier with an arbitrary (ARB) modulating wave shape (MDSP)
Code: [Select]
C1:MDWV DSBAM,MDSP,ARB
However, nowhere in the programming manual does it explain how to set the arbitrary waveform used for modulation.

The obvious command only sets the arbitrary waveform for the carrier, and has no impact on the modulating waveform.

Code: [Select]
C1:ARWV NAME,custom
And the specific modulating waveform being used is not reported when querying the state of the channel.

Code: [Select]
C1:MDWV?
C1:MDWV STATE,ON,DSBAM,MDSP,ARB,SRC,INT,FRQ,0.1610824742HZ,CARR,WVTP,SINE,FRQ,28121000HZ,AMP,0.1V,AMPVRMS,0.03535Vrms,AMPDBM,-16.0219dBm,OFST,0V,PHSE,0

Does anyone know how one would, via SCPI, set the waveform used for modulating a carrier on the SDG2000X?

Is there a "complete" list of commands used by Siglent's AWG (including the undocumented ones) floating around?  I have found the one for their 'scopes to be a necessity when doing any sort of automation.
 

Offline tv84

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 865
  • Country: pt
Re: The Siglent SDG2042X Thread
« Reply #1095 on: July 04, 2019, 08:00:13 pm »
rerouter is the specialist in that field.  (Siglent's SCPI commands)
 

Online Rerouter

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 4314
  • Country: au
  • Question Everything... Except This Statement
Re: The Siglent SDG2042X Thread
« Reply #1096 on: July 05, 2019, 08:52:11 am »
You command seems a little corrupted, have not looked into exactly why but it is interpriting DSBAM as AM for unclear reasons

The best reference going for the normal waveform commands is here,
http://www.siglent.com/2014EnglishWebsite/Documents/others/SDG800_RemoteControlManual_RC02008-E02A.pdf

Also my own reference sheet is attached, Its a little hard to parse at times, So I prefer mine to remind you what you need to give for each.


For Reference this is what your command returns as
C1:MDWV

STATE,ON,

AM,
   MDSP,ARB,INDEX,0,
   SRC,INT,
   FRQ,0.1610824742HZ,
   DEPTH,100,
CARR,
   WVTP,SINE,
   FRQ,0.1610824742HZ,
   AMP,0.1V,
   AMPVRMS,0.03535Vrms,
   OFST,0V,
   PHSE,0
« Last Edit: July 05, 2019, 08:57:19 am by Rerouter »
 

Online Rerouter

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 4314
  • Country: au
  • Question Everything... Except This Statement
Re: The Siglent SDG2042X Thread
« Reply #1097 on: July 05, 2019, 09:06:41 am »
Ok, so you can set the Carrier via

C1:MDWV CARR, WVTP, ARB

However It is not clear how to select which arb waveform as it does not return an index or a name

C1:MDWV DSBAM, MDSP, ARB, INDEX, 2

This I thought should work, however It also does not appear to let you select the arbwave index,

Edit 1:
OK, you can set the ARBwave, of the carrier, but it looks like you need to use the UI to accomplish it for whatever reason,
Utilitiy Page 4 - AWG - Wave - Arb Type

Edit 2:
For whatever reason the Arb wave of the carrier can be read off, (and probably set before hand) using the ARWV command
« Last Edit: July 05, 2019, 09:17:28 am by Rerouter »
 

Offline colorado.rob

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 242
  • Country: us
Re: The Siglent SDG2042X Thread
« Reply #1098 on: July 05, 2019, 05:47:32 pm »
You command seems a little corrupted, have not looked into exactly why but it is interpriting DSBAM as AM for unclear reasons

I am not sure what you mean by that.  It works on the SDG2122X with firmware V2.01.01.23R3.

Quote
The best reference going for the normal waveform commands is here,
http://www.siglent.com/2014EnglishWebsite/Documents/others/SDG800_RemoteControlManual_RC02008-E02A.pdf

Also my own reference sheet is attached, Its a little hard to parse at times, So I prefer mine to remind you what you need to give for each.

Both of these seem horribly out of date.  The reference is for the SDG-800 and doesn't cover the capabilities of the X-series AWGs.

Quote
For Reference this is what your command returns as
C1:MDWV

STATE,ON,

AM,
   MDSP,ARB,INDEX,0,
   SRC,INT,
   FRQ,0.1610824742HZ,
   DEPTH,100,
CARR,
   WVTP,SINE,
   FRQ,0.1610824742HZ,
   AMP,0.1V,
   AMPVRMS,0.03535Vrms,
   OFST,0V,
   PHSE,0

What device and firmware version are you running?  The output I reported is formatted the way that the programming manual describes.  The reference I am using is http://www.siglentamerica.com/wp-content/uploads/dlm_uploads/2017/11/SDG_ProgrammingGuide_PG_E03B.pdf.  The format of the output I see matches page 23 of that document.  There is no ARB INDEX reported.  And for custom waveforms, they can only be referred to by name on the 2000X.
 

Offline colorado.rob

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 242
  • Country: us
Re: The Siglent SDG2042X Thread
« Reply #1099 on: July 05, 2019, 06:08:24 pm »
Ok, so you can set the Carrier via

C1:MDWV CARR, WVTP, ARB

However It is not clear how to select which arb waveform as it does not return an index or a name

C1:MDWV DSBAM, MDSP, ARB, INDEX, 2

This I thought should work, however It also does not appear to let you select the arbwave index,

Edit 1:
OK, you can set the ARBwave, of the carrier, but it looks like you need to use the UI to accomplish it for whatever reason,
Utilitiy Page 4 - AWG - Wave - Arb Type

Edit 2:
For whatever reason the Arb wave of the carrier can be read off, (and probably set before hand) using the ARWV command

It sounds like you ended up in the same spot that I did.  I can hack through it by using the VKEY commands, but that's just horrible.  It is way too slow to meet my needs.

The first thing I tried was:

Code: [Select]
C1:MDWV DSBAM,MDSP,ARB,NAME,custom
Which is what I would hope would work.  As you found, there's no clearly documented way to do this.  I have a support email in to Siglent USA, but it's likely they are away for a long holiday weekend.

I may try upgrading my firmware to see if Siglent managed to sneak in a few new undocumented SCPI features since R3.  I will likely use the hacked firmware so I can scan the installed binaries for SCPI hints.
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf