Author Topic: Fluke 189 with leaking surface mount supercap (also Fluke 287, Fluke 289)  (Read 97642 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline coromonadalix

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2034
  • Country: ca
@ Electro

This is too complicated for nothing,  a new supercap at 2-4 $ usd and voila, your troubles goes a way for a long time
 
The following users thanked this post: ModemHead

Offline Electro Detective

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2096
  • Country: au
@ Electro

This is too complicated for nothing,  a new supercap at 2-4 $ usd and voila, your troubles goes a way for a long time


Hi mate, I'm aware of that option for a quick fix  :-+   but sometimes you can forget to check up on a multimeter for a long time, especially if the batteries last,

AND.. maybe have bad luck (that's me  :'( ) with a faulty or leaky brand or batch of supercapacitor AGAIN,

or worse a freaky ESR zap or CAL nuke during the unsolder/soldering  :scared:

and be back to the beginning of the drama, or worse off  |O

These meters are too expensive to easily replace, and no real qualified local techs near me to fix them... for any amount less than the price of a new meter  ;D



I'm leaving them out for now as the meters are working great and no more thinking about what's going on inside or what may happen    :phew:

and I don't mind updating the logger time clock once every few months (or longer) on battery change

and due to Daylight Savings Time here, you have to set the clock back or forward by one hour  :-//   twice a year anyway

 
« Last Edit: April 15, 2019, 02:08:13 am by Electro Detective »
 

Offline serggio

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 149
  • Country: ru
Three years ago I replased leaked cupercap in my Fluke 287 on Elna DSK-3R3H224U-HL. It still working well and keep time on my meter for four hour. That is enought for recharging Eneloop batteries that I use with my meter. Eneloop is really cool solution for power this meter.
I do not see that supercaps is real issue.
 
The following users thanked this post: Daruosha, Marco1971

Offline rauldm

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 30
  • Country: mx
Re: Fluke 189 with leaking surface mount supercap (also Fluke 287, Fluke 289)
« Reply #303 on: September 13, 2019, 04:51:35 am »
Hi, I have a 289 rev 15, the fucking meter works very good, but it has corrosion on cap 145, Fluke says in its web site, the 42830001 series it comes with new firmware "1.41", and all meters with  lower serial numbers can't update to this firmware, I supposed the new Fluke, it comes with new PCB board and general improvements, someone knows about this? the cap leakage is solved? another good meter with same features? I have the u1282a, but is slow in cap and ohm modes, the metrawatt is good option? or only is stupid expensive?
Regards.
 

Offline mr.fabe

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 127
  • Country: us
Re: Fluke 189 with leaking surface mount supercap (also Fluke 287, Fluke 289)
« Reply #304 on: September 13, 2019, 05:17:06 am »
Hi, I have a 289 rev 15, the fucking meter works very good, but it has corrosion on cap 145, Fluke says in its web site, the 42830001 series it comes with new firmware "1.41", and all meters with  lower serial numbers can't update to this firmware, I supposed the new Fluke, it comes with new PCB board and general improvements, someone knows about this? the cap leakage is solved?
I have a Fluke 289 with FW v1.41 and the serial starts with 3826####.  My 289 was sent in for repair for the low ohms fade issue in January 2019.  Fluke replaced the board and calibrated the unit prior to shipping it back.  I asked about the supercap issue in the original work order and was told that is was no longer a problem.
 
The following users thanked this post: Marco1971, rauldm

Offline rauldm

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 30
  • Country: mx
Re: Fluke 189 with leaking surface mount supercap (also Fluke 287, Fluke 289)
« Reply #305 on: September 13, 2019, 04:10:29 pm »
Hi, I have a 289 rev 15, the fucking meter works very good, but it has corrosion on cap 145, Fluke says in its web site, the 42830001 series it comes with new firmware "1.41", and all meters with  lower serial numbers can't update to this firmware, I supposed the new Fluke, it comes with new PCB board and general improvements, someone knows about this? the cap leakage is solved?
I have a Fluke 289 with FW v1.41 and the serial starts with 3826####.  My 289 was sent in for repair for the low ohms fade issue in January 2019.  Fluke replaced the board and calibrated the unit prior to shipping it back.  I asked about the supercap issue in the original work order and was told that is was no longer a problem.

The first board with ohms issues, do you know what revision number was?
Your new board you know what revision is?
if Fluke puts new firmware from 42830001 meter series I think your new board is last revision.

Really I searched another sustitute for this meter, but I think another meter is not gathed all features for same price range.

Thanks for your answer, really I like this meter, I have 87v,28ii and 117, but this meter for me is better than others, even my others meter are just complement for my 289.
 

Offline mr.fabe

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 127
  • Country: us
Re: Fluke 189 with leaking surface mount supercap (also Fluke 287, Fluke 289)
« Reply #306 on: September 13, 2019, 04:40:07 pm »
In the meter info screen, the Board ID was 3 and was built on 6-26-10 with FW v1.16 / v.88.

My replacement Board ID is 5, built on  11-28-17 with FW v1.41 / v.88.

I noticed on the RMA that the serial # remained the same.  Fluke probably just updated the number in the board for administrative purposes.

Service was fantastic from Fluke. One email and a phone call to resolve the defect.  I bought my meter used on ePray for a great price and Fluke covered it under warranty. No hassles, new meter with calibration certificate.  Can't beat that.

Yikes!  I just realized the same info you requested is in a previous post #299 by me.  My memory is failing...

Sent from my Moto Z (2) using Tapatalk
« Last Edit: September 13, 2019, 04:49:46 pm by mr.fabe »
 

Offline rauldm

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 30
  • Country: mx
Re: Fluke 189 with leaking surface mount supercap (also Fluke 287, Fluke 289)
« Reply #307 on: September 13, 2019, 06:52:06 pm »
Ok, fluke eliminates the capacitor 145 on new board? How solves the problem? New firmware has it improves?
 

Offline mr.fabe

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 127
  • Country: us
Re: Fluke 189 with leaking surface mount supercap (also Fluke 287, Fluke 289)
« Reply #308 on: September 16, 2019, 07:49:50 pm »
I don't know what is on the new board but was told by Fluke that the supercap problem is not an issue.  I have no reason to doubt Fluke and if there were a problem with losing the date/time then it would be covered under warranty.  The supercap problem is a few years old and Fluke mentions that they were going to make changes on future revisions of the 287/289.
« Last Edit: September 16, 2019, 08:00:33 pm by mr.fabe »
 

Offline rauldm

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 30
  • Country: mx
Re: Fluke 189 with leaking surface mount supercap (also Fluke 287, Fluke 289)
« Reply #309 on: September 18, 2019, 07:15:58 pm »
I talked with Fluke support about this capacitor, I attached datasheet of capacitor.  In datasheet it comes this:
1.- Re-flow soldering method available (250 °C)
Note : 1. When the capacitor is being used in a high temperature and high humidity environment for a long period, brown deposited
materials might be found around the sealing area. However, the materials are insulators and will not affect any electrical
characteristics of the capacitor.
2. Do not use refl ow soldering when cell voltage is above 0.3 V.

Really I dont know is or not recomendable an user change this capacitor, I think a meter is a tool in that you trust your life, if you don't doing the procedure correctly perhaps will not be trustworthy again.
 
The following users thanked this post: BravoV

Online CDaniel

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 236
  • Country: ro
Re: Fluke 189 with leaking surface mount supercap (also Fluke 287, Fluke 289)
« Reply #310 on: September 18, 2019, 08:56:56 pm »
The model 187 doesn't have that supercap fitted ... so it is just for not losing the logging data when the batteries are consumed . A user that doesn't do logging every day could use the meter ( at least 189 ) very well with that cap just removed if it goes bad .
« Last Edit: September 18, 2019, 08:59:30 pm by CDaniel »
 
The following users thanked this post: Marco1971

Online BravoV

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 6088
  • Country: 00
Re: Fluke 189 with leaking surface mount supercap (also Fluke 287, Fluke 289)
« Reply #311 on: September 19, 2019, 03:41:05 am »
2. Do not use refl ow soldering when cell voltage is above 0.3 V.

Hmm ... the devil is in the details isn't it ?

I guess the manufacturers need to babysit short the cap before hand if use reflow method.  ::)

Learned something today, thanks.  :clap:


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf