Author Topic: The Siglent SDG2042X Thread  (Read 269967 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline billfernandez

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 141
  • Country: us
Re: The Siglent SDG2042X Thread
« Reply #575 on: November 23, 2016, 04:53:31 pm »
We are trying to post more and more helpful application notes and FAQs to our website.
We hope that you find these useful.

Thank you for this.  I look forward to more.  In the months after I bought my SDG2042X  I spent many hours trying by trial and error to figure out this kind of thing.
 

Offline FluentsAndFluxions

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 2
  • Country: 00
Re: The Siglent SDG2042X Thread
« Reply #576 on: November 23, 2016, 07:39:18 pm »
Guy stick around for a week and there might be some new products on the market in this space! wink wink

Evan

Tequipment.NET

Is this in reference to the Rigol DG1022Z or adding distribution for Siglent function generators?
« Last Edit: November 23, 2016, 07:42:24 pm by FluentsAndFluxions »
 

Online tautech

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 15724
  • Country: nz
  • Taupaki Technologies Ltd. NZ Siglent Distributor
    • Taupaki Technologies Ltd.
Re: The Siglent SDG2042X Thread
« Reply #577 on: November 24, 2016, 08:03:24 am »
Guy stick around for a week and there might be some new products on the market in this space! wink wink

Evan

Tequipment.NET

Is this in reference to the Rigol DG1022Z or adding distribution for Siglent function generators?
Welcome to the forum F And F

Who knows  :-//
Evan hasn't been back to share any news with us.....yet.

It isn't Siglent distribution, Saelig look after that now and offer similar discounts.
https://www.eevblog.com/forum/testgear/equipment-discounts-from-saelig/
Avid Rabid Hobbyist
 

Offline Dwaine

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 265
  • Country: ca
Re: The Siglent SDG2042X Thread
« Reply #578 on: November 25, 2016, 10:59:28 pm »
Guy stick around for a week and there might be some new products on the market in this space! wink wink

Evan

Tequipment.NET

Is this in reference to the Rigol DG1022Z or adding distribution for Siglent function generators?

Those new Rigol generators are still no match spec wise to the Siglent SDG2024X.   The Rigols have a better frontend display that looks better.  Again, based on specs.   Siglent wins all around.

Dwaine
 

Offline pascal_sweden

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1404
  • Country: no
Re: The Siglent SDG2042X Thread
« Reply #579 on: November 26, 2016, 12:19:46 am »
Fully agree!

Siglent is so much better here. They are doing great things lately!

Signal generators, spectrum analyzers, and even their scopes are getting better.

Rigol better get their act together in the long run :)
 

Offline Lunasix

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 128
  • Country: fr
Re: The Siglent SDG2042X Thread
« Reply #580 on: November 26, 2016, 09:23:51 am »
The SDG2042X is a great generator, with or without 120MHz upgrade. I first bought one, and this first generator triggered two other purchase. Not so bad !
 

Offline Lunasix

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 128
  • Country: fr
Re: The Siglent SDG2042X Thread
« Reply #581 on: November 29, 2016, 04:16:56 pm »
A trap, for which I lost many hours. I was creating arbitrary waveforms with Scilab, and had a strange problem. If the waveform was quite simple, like 2 or 3 ramps, the ouptut was nice without any visible step. But if it was different, I could see samples and steps, and I had 9us between 2 samples instead of the expected 2us value. I finally found that this was due to the arbitrary mode selected (Arb Mode). The right mode is TrueArb mode, and not DDS mode !
« Last Edit: November 29, 2016, 07:31:06 pm by Lunasix »
 
The following users thanked this post: billfernandez

Offline MrWolf

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Banned!
  • Posts: 209
  • Country: ee
Re: The Siglent SDG2042X Thread
« Reply #582 on: November 30, 2016, 02:58:21 pm »
Received second unit. Happy to report that Siglent has really gone to town with this puppy hardware-wise.
Clock locking via 10MHz in/out works without any noticeable jitter.

However there is sort of a bug with software...

Naturally 10MHz in/out achieves only clock lock and for getting phases right one must compensate channels on second unit for phase shift. Which brings about serious usability issue:

- turned on unit A, clock set to Internal
- turned on unit B, clock set to External
- switched ON B-ch1, phase compensated B-ch1 in relation to unit A
- switched ON B-ch2 => phase compensation lost on B-ch1!
- compensated again
- switched OFF/ON B-ch1 => phase compensation lost!

Compensation also gets lost when one changes amplitude by substantial amount (relays click).

Interesting is that phase gets thrown around by discrete amount to discrete positions - they seem to be ~3.3 nanoseconds apart.
So for example at 100MHz one could get stuff right again when poking channel ON/OFF long enough because there are 3 discrete variants for "phase dice".

Proposals how to fix this:

If possible, preserve phase between ON/OFF and range change cycles... However it may act funny with low frequencies
and automated interface operations.

Alternative: Implement soft "Pause" functionality that would just drop output to 0 but keep "internals running".
For example currently 6th "soft button" is not used in "Parameter" screen. It could be "Pause".
Also single push on Output-X button could pause (button backlight starts blinking), and two pushes in a row switch off. But latter should be configurable option as most users would not see the point to this.

In either case switching ON/OFF second channel must not throw off phase on first channel and vice versa.

If any of the above is not possible maybe there's some other way because currently one would have to keep both channels  ON all the time and hot-swap signal receivers... A bit hardcore when dealing with sensitive stuff.


« Last Edit: November 30, 2016, 04:38:39 pm by MrWolf »
 
The following users thanked this post: tautech

Offline MrWolf

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Banned!
  • Posts: 209
  • Country: ee
Re: The Siglent SDG2042X Thread
« Reply #583 on: November 30, 2016, 03:13:18 pm »
Interesting is that phase gets thrown around by discrete amount which seems to be ~3.3 nanoseconds.

There's more to these ~3.3ns. Unit has built in counter. When measured signal period's modulo operation with ~3.3ns is not zero counter will display Pwidth, Nwidth and duty values that are off by (at least?) ~3.3ns.
Example: 100MHz "bang on" sine will have Pwidth=13.3ns, Nwidth=-3.3ns and duty=133,3%.
If it is not possible to display correct values on on high frequencies - it should be possible to turn off these readings. Or maybe have alternative screen with nice big frequency/period readout without all the stats clutter - similar to what you have on multimeters.
« Last Edit: November 30, 2016, 03:16:28 pm by MrWolf »
 

Online tautech

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 15724
  • Country: nz
  • Taupaki Technologies Ltd. NZ Siglent Distributor
    • Taupaki Technologies Ltd.
Re: The Siglent SDG2042X Thread
« Reply #584 on: November 30, 2016, 06:59:03 pm »
Interesting is that phase gets thrown around by discrete amount which seems to be ~3.3 nanoseconds.

There's more to these ~3.3ns. Unit has built in counter. When measured signal period's modulo operation with ~3.3ns is not zero counter will display Pwidth, Nwidth and duty values that are off by (at least?) ~3.3ns.
Example: 100MHz "bang on" sine will have Pwidth=13.3ns, Nwidth=-3.3ns and duty=133,3%.
If it is not possible to display correct values on on high frequencies - it should be possible to turn off these readings. Or maybe have alternative screen with nice big frequency/period readout without all the stats clutter - similar to what you have on multimeters.
Thanks for your constructive feedback.
Reply #582 reported to Siglent.
« Last Edit: November 30, 2016, 09:37:03 pm by tautech »
Avid Rabid Hobbyist
 
The following users thanked this post: MrWolf

Offline Siglent America

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 221
  • Country: us
Re: The Siglent SDG2042X Thread
« Reply #585 on: December 01, 2016, 03:46:12 pm »
Greetings.


Regarding your issues when synchronizing two Siglent SDG2000X's together, we have brought this to the attention of the engineering head of that group. He reports that it has been entered into our database of issues to look into. I am told it is not a quick and simple fix, but it is now on their list.
Thank you for your comments.

In the meantime you might look at a video we made in this office where we achieved 4 calibrated phase, with no offset, using Unit #1 to trigger a single count (N) burst on Unit 2. We only did this at a low (60 Hz) frequency so, depending on how high your frequency is, there might be a delay at higher frequencies.

The video can be seen at


Another thing we did here in the USA last year is we locked two SDG5000s together and triggered / started them together so they would be phase synchronized. We have not tried this technique using two SDG2000Xs but I believe it should be the same.
You might look at Method #2.
The application note can be found at
http://www.siglentamerica.com/USA_website_2014/FAQ/SDG/Generating_Multi-Phase_Waveforms.pdf

Hopefully, one of these techniques will give you a better result than you have had. Otherwise, you might check our FW updates on the SDG2000X periodically.

Thanks again for bringing it to our attention.
 
The following users thanked this post: MrWolf

Offline MrWolf

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Banned!
  • Posts: 209
  • Country: ee
Re: The Siglent SDG2042X Thread
« Reply #586 on: December 01, 2016, 09:27:40 pm »
Thanks for info, 1st class service  :-+

To solve situation I developed Method #3, settled 99.99% of the problem:

Method #2 does not work "out of the box" at VHF because there is substantial jitter which makes finetuning impossible. Solution: Use Methods #1&2 together. Clocks must be synced.

Second problem is with burst mode. There will be ~1us "rearming" delay after burst which makes VHF impossible to implement on 1 cycle basis. 99.99% solution for 100MHz: Use 1000000 cycles burst length, if your DUT can live with 1us signal gap between bursts. Mine can.

Screenshot of tested 100MHz, 4 phase sine signal attached.

Detailed procedure:

A=SIGLENT SDG2122X
B=SIGLENT SDG2122X
C=RIGOL DS1104Z

Connected with 50Ohm cables:

A-10MHz + 0.5m + B-10MHz
A-Aux + 0.5m + B-Aux
A-CH1 + 1m + PassThruTerm + C-CH3
A-CH2 + 1m + PassThruTerm + C-CH4
B-CH1 + 0.5m + PassThruTerm + C-CH1
B-CH2 + 0.5m + PassThruTerm + C-CH2

Unit A configuration:

[Utility]
(OutputSetup) => (Load) => (50Ohm) => (Return)
(CHCopyCoupling) => Track=On; PhaseDev=-90' => (Return)
(Page1/2) => (Clock) => Source=Internal => (Return)
(Mode) => (PhaseLocked)

[Parameter]
Frequency=100MHz
Amplitude=10dBm

[Burst]
StartPhase=0'
Cycles=1000000
BurstPeriod=10.000990ms
Source=Internal
(Page1/2) => TrigDelay=543ns; TrigOut=Up

Unit B configuration:

[Utility]
(OutputSetup) => (Load) => (50Ohm) => (Return)
(CHCopyCoupling) => Track=On; PhaseDev=-90' => (Return)
(Page1/2) => (Clock) => Source=External => (Return)
(Mode) => (PhaseLocked)

[Parameter]
Frequency=100MHz
Amplitude=10dBm

[Burst]
StartPhase=225'
Cycles=1000000
Source=External
(Page1/2) => TrigDelay=617ns; Edge=Up



« Last Edit: December 01, 2016, 09:31:38 pm by MrWolf »
 
The following users thanked this post: Siglent America

Offline flash2b

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 76
  • Country: nl
Re: The Siglent SDG2042X Thread
« Reply #587 on: December 02, 2016, 05:31:57 pm »
Is there any simple way that I can make a screen copy on internal or USB memory for my Siglent SDG2042X ? On my Siglent SDM3055 there is an option to do a screen copy to a USB stick but this is missing on the SDG2042X. My Rigol DS2102A and DP832A also support making screen copy to USB stick.
 

Offline Siglent America

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 221
  • Country: us
Re: The Siglent SDG2042X Thread
« Reply #588 on: December 02, 2016, 08:07:00 pm »
PM sent
 

Offline sdouble

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 238
  • Country: fr
Re: The Siglent SDG2042X Thread
« Reply #589 on: December 24, 2016, 07:22:13 am »
i do think that we would all be interested in such a feature
 

Offline Break42

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 4
Re: The Siglent SDG2042X Thread
« Reply #590 on: December 31, 2016, 11:28:49 am »
Log Sweep issue in the 22R5 firmware

Hi all. The sdg2042 generator is one of the best tools I have. Unfortunatelly there is a bug in the newest 22R5 firmware. If the log sweep is used as follows:
- Sweep time 1sec
- Start freq    100Hz
- Stop freq    10MHz
- Direction: up
- Offset: 0 Vdc

Then the first 270ms of the 1sec period is just one frequency generated (around 90Hz), after this period till one second the sweep works as expected.
I tested this also with other freq. and after power on/off. The failure picture always the same. The linear sweep works correctly as expected.

Do you see also this phenomenon?
 
« Last Edit: December 31, 2016, 11:56:31 am by Break42 »
 

Offline nctnico

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 17438
  • Country: nl
    • NCT Developments
Re: The Siglent SDG2042X Thread
« Reply #591 on: December 31, 2016, 01:50:14 pm »
That looks similar to my SDG1010 on which log sweep is also broken! If you look more carefully (zoom in on the signal) you'll see the log sweep isn't a sweep at all but short pieces of fixed frequencies which go up on a logarithmic scale.
« Last Edit: December 31, 2016, 01:52:12 pm by nctnico »
There are small lies, big lies and then there is what is on the screen of your oscilloscope.
 

Offline MasterTech

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 872
  • Country: 00
Re: The Siglent SDG2042X Thread
« Reply #592 on: December 31, 2016, 10:50:40 pm »
Its a different problem. The log sweep works without any problem from 100Hz to 500khz for example. But for higher freqeucues it seems to start after a delay. To me it seems a numerical problem where the the logarithm function that controls the instantaneus frequency is too small during that time and is rounded to 0.
 

Offline seahood

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 9
Re: The Siglent SDG2042X Thread
« Reply #593 on: January 04, 2017, 08:00:10 am »
Hello,
there is an hack for the Siglent SDG2042X which make the device from 40MHz to 120MHz.

What is the difference between the hacked 120MHz SDG2042 and the 120MHz model SDG2122X ???
 

Offline rf-loop

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 3061
  • Country: fi
  • Starting with DLL21
Re: The Siglent SDG2042X Thread
« Reply #594 on: January 04, 2017, 08:03:53 am »
Hello,
there is an hack for the Siglent SDG2042X which make the device from 40MHz to 120MHz.

What is the difference between the hacked 120MHz SDG2042 and the 120MHz model SDG2122X ???

Least front panel label.

If used in place where need valid calibration certificate. No way.
If practice and theory is not equal it tells that used application of theory  is wrong or the theory itself is wrong.
It is much easier to think an apple fall to the ground than to think that the earth and the apple will begin to move toward each other and collide.
 

Offline seahood

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 9
Re: The Siglent SDG2042X Thread
« Reply #595 on: January 04, 2017, 08:17:52 am »
hmm, this means the hacked SDG2042X has ALL THE FEATURES from the SDG2122X, ALL?
 

Offline seahood

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 9
Re: The Siglent SDG2042X Thread
« Reply #596 on: January 04, 2017, 08:20:43 am »
Ok, i understand, it has really al features, unbelievable :-)
 

Offline RoadRunner

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 235
  • Country: de
Re: The Siglent SDG2042X Thread
« Reply #597 on: January 11, 2017, 04:02:10 pm »
updated my hacked SDG2042x to latest version firmware.
With update to Firmware Version 22R5 , i think telnet asks for user name and password.
does anybody else experienced same?


it is still hackable to 120Mhz though  >:D
 

Offline texomobile

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 3
  • Country: us
Re: The Siglent SDG2042X Thread
« Reply #598 on: January 11, 2017, 11:08:26 pm »
I was about to order one, but if the hack is not working any more it doesn't make sense. to me to get one. I have a wavetek 80 I guess it will have to do until the next great thing comes along. Is the version 22r5 sdg2042x currently shipping now, or are there still hackable units in the channel now for sale? has anyone received a unhackable unit recently?

 

Offline flash2b

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 76
  • Country: nl
Re: The Siglent SDG2042X Thread
« Reply #599 on: January 12, 2017, 08:21:10 am »
You can downgrade to hackable version 17R5, do the hack, and upgrade to 22R5.
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf