Author Topic: The Siglent SDG2042X Thread  (Read 253576 times)

0 Members and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline tautech

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 14758
  • Country: nz
  • Taupaki Technologies Ltd. NZ Siglent Distributor
    • Taupaki Technologies Ltd.
Re: The Siglent SDG2042X Thread
« Reply #775 on: July 16, 2017, 06:47:35 am »
@ Plasmateur
Sorry haven't got a 2042X ATM but this SDG1032X UI should be the same.

Enter Utility/Interface (Page 2)/LAN State = On (toggle if needed)
LAN Setup/DHCP...........toggle to ON and wait for the IP, SN and Gateway to get auto populated.
Utility = Exit and save

Does yours not do this ?
Avid Rabid Hobbyist
 

Online exe

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 1121
  • Country: nl
  • self-educated hobbyist
Re: The Siglent SDG2042X Thread
« Reply #776 on: July 21, 2017, 06:09:31 am »
Hi guys! Is it possible make SDG2042X to remember settings across reboots (except for enabled channels)?
 

Offline tautech

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 14758
  • Country: nz
  • Taupaki Technologies Ltd. NZ Siglent Distributor
    • Taupaki Technologies Ltd.
Re: The Siglent SDG2042X Thread
« Reply #777 on: July 21, 2017, 06:54:42 am »
Hi guys! Is it possible make SDG2042X to remember settings across reboots (except for enabled channels)?
Yes of course.
You can find the settings for Power On as Last (used) or Default in the Utilities menu.
Avid Rabid Hobbyist
 
The following users thanked this post: exe

Online pigrew

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 455
  • Country: us
Re: The Siglent SDG2042X Thread
« Reply #778 on: July 26, 2017, 03:25:41 am »
Is there a way for the generator to force an external reference (and never change to the internal reference)?

Currently, the frequency reference is switched to internal (with no indication on the GUI) when the frequency reference is turned off. It's too easy to continue using it thinking that the frequency is still locked (and yielding bad data).

Also, I'm worried that when it defaults to internal reference, it is outputting 10 MHz on it's reference output which is directly connected to another instrument's 10 MHz out. Having two instruments outputting 10 MHz into eachother can't be a good thing. I don't know if the hardware supports it, but it'd be nice to tell it to disable the 10MHz output while using the internal reference.

There are a few parameters (like reference mode, screensaver, language, number format, and beeper) that I'd really like to always have saved (irrespective of the "power-on setting"). Maybe as a work-around, there could be an option to load a particular saved configuration on startup(so the choices would be factory default, particular configuration, or last configuration)?
 

Offline flash2b

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 69
  • Country: nl
Re: The Siglent SDG2042X Thread
« Reply #779 on: July 26, 2017, 07:52:02 pm »
I asked for the same thing, but no one reacted.

I am wondering why you cannot see on the screen if the Siglent SDG external clock is switched on or off on the main screen. Siglent did implement the "Phase Lock" lock-icon so they could add another lock-icon next to this for the exernal clock indication. On comparison, the Rigol DG series shows "Ext" on the screen when external clock is switched on.

May be Siglent should add this to the backlog for future firmware, that would be great.

 

Offline Dwaine

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 256
  • Country: ca
Re: The Siglent SDG2042X Thread
« Reply #780 on: August 11, 2017, 12:10:02 am »
Wondering if graphing and histogram functionality in the counter function is an option the firmware team can do?

Maybe grab the same code from the DMM firmware.  I was using my SDG2000x last night and wished I had a graph displaying some values.

I think a lot of people would like those two options.
 

Offline eurofox

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 835
  • Country: be
    • Music
Re: The Siglent SDG2042X Thread
« Reply #781 on: August 11, 2017, 12:20:31 am »
I just order one  :-+

Seems it is one of the best generator for the money + 120Mhz hack  :-DD
eurofox
 

Offline bson

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 1506
  • Country: us
Re: The Siglent SDG2042X Thread
« Reply #782 on: August 11, 2017, 08:27:29 am »
Currently, the frequency reference is switched to internal (with no indication on the GUI) when the frequency reference is turned off. It's too easy to continue using it thinking that the frequency is still locked (and yielding bad data).
Even worse, it will start driving the reference port as an output, and when you plug in your frequency standard again it will short.  The direction shouldn't be automatic...  If set to input the instrument can auto detect a signal; if set to output they could auto detect a load (if possible), but the direction itself needs to be a purely manual setting.

Ideally, when set to use an external reference an indicator should be used to show the state of the input.  No pop-ups or dialogs - those are too easy to miss and just annoy.  A simple indicator and possibly a beep the first time it locks.
« Last Edit: August 11, 2017, 08:31:15 am by bson »
 

Offline Gary1942

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 3
  • Country: us
Re: The Siglent SDG2042X Thread
« Reply #783 on: August 13, 2017, 08:17:26 am »
This is page 32 of this thread. Apologies for not having read all the posts. Also, I could not find a place to ask a service question on siglent.com.

I bought my SDG 2042 from Amazon in February 2016.

I saw some comments on the net about firmware updates. I have never connected my SDG 2042x to the network, so, today I plugged in a network cable and turned it on (it has not been on for at least a month). It reaches the boot logo page and hung there. I left it on for a few hours thinking that it was downloading an update, but half a day later, still the same. I turned it off and back on, still hangs on the Siglent logo with the network plugged in or not.

Any advice?
 

Offline Dwaine

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 256
  • Country: ca
Re: The Siglent SDG2042X Thread
« Reply #784 on: August 13, 2017, 11:02:50 am »
The firmware update is only by USB.   The hanging when connected by network cable to a router, maybe try and disconnect the Ethernet cable and power cycle the unit. Hopefully it will finally boot successfully. 
 

Online pigrew

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 455
  • Country: us
Re: The Siglent SDG2042X Thread
« Reply #785 on: August 13, 2017, 11:28:51 am »
I saw some comments on the net about firmware updates. I have never connected my SDG 2042x to the network, so, today I plugged in a network cable and turned it on (it has not been on for at least a month). It reaches the boot logo page and hung there. I left it on for a few hours thinking that it was downloading an update, but half a day later, still the same. I turned it off and back on, still hangs on the Siglent logo with the network plugged in or not.

Any advice?

Email the Siglent folks, at the email address listed on this page.

Connecting to a LAN shouldn't cause it not to boot. Firmware updates are only performed when you ask it to load firmware update files from USB flash storage. This sounds like there's a bad component in the unit, or its flash storage has corrupt data.
 

Offline spidola

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 14
  • Country: ua
Re: The Siglent SDG2042X Thread
« Reply #786 on: August 14, 2017, 12:38:53 am »
My unit came with the 2.01.01.23R5 firmware. This version is not yet available at the official site.
 

Offline mspec

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 11
  • Country: nz
Re: The Siglent SDG2042X Thread
« Reply #787 on: August 14, 2017, 09:39:38 am »
I recently purchased the SDG1032X version and was going to give it a go to see if I could try the hack to turn it into the 60 MHz version however telnet is requesting a username and pass. Anybody know what the default for this might be ??
 

Offline CustomEngineerer

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 457
  • Country: us
Re: The Siglent SDG2042X Thread
« Reply #788 on: August 14, 2017, 12:54:55 pm »
As far as I know no one has figured out the telnet username/password. And since the 1000X came out after Siglent added the username/password to the firmware, I don't know of a way to liberate the 1000X. Good luck though, do let us know if you manage to figure it out.
 

Offline Dwaine

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 256
  • Country: ca
Re: The Siglent SDG2042X Thread
« Reply #789 on: August 14, 2017, 02:10:53 pm »
My unit came with the 2.01.01.23R5 firmware. This version is not yet available at the official site.

I wonder what changes are in the new firmware?
 

Offline tautech

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 14758
  • Country: nz
  • Taupaki Technologies Ltd. NZ Siglent Distributor
    • Taupaki Technologies Ltd.
Re: The Siglent SDG2042X Thread
« Reply #790 on: August 14, 2017, 03:26:10 pm »
My unit came with the 2.01.01.23R5 firmware. This version is not yet available at the official site.

I wonder what changes are in the new firmware?
Chasing this ^ up.
Coming back with an edit when I find out.
Avid Rabid Hobbyist
 

Offline Qw3rtzuiop

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 60
  • Country: de
Re: The Siglent SDG2042X Thread
« Reply #791 on: August 14, 2017, 03:46:53 pm »
23R5 isnt new. The update can be found at siglent.com. There is also a changelog.
 

Offline tautech

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 14758
  • Country: nz
  • Taupaki Technologies Ltd. NZ Siglent Distributor
    • Taupaki Technologies Ltd.
Re: The Siglent SDG2042X Thread
« Reply #792 on: August 14, 2017, 05:36:18 pm »
23R5 isnt new. The update can be found at siglent.com. There is also a changelog.
Link please.
Avid Rabid Hobbyist
 

Offline Dwaine

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 256
  • Country: ca
Re: The Siglent SDG2042X Thread
« Reply #793 on: August 14, 2017, 05:46:48 pm »
Only 2.01.01.23R3 is listed on the WEB Site?
 

Offline tautech

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 14758
  • Country: nz
  • Taupaki Technologies Ltd. NZ Siglent Distributor
    • Taupaki Technologies Ltd.
Re: The Siglent SDG2042X Thread
« Reply #794 on: August 14, 2017, 05:49:41 pm »
Only 2.01.01.23R3 is listed on the WEB Site?
Yup.
Haven't got any new SDG2kX's to check either.  :(

Then I wonder if spidola mistyped 5 for 3 ?  :-//
Avid Rabid Hobbyist
 

Offline spidola

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 14
  • Country: ua
Re: The Siglent SDG2042X Thread
« Reply #795 on: August 14, 2017, 06:42:04 pm »
Only 2.01.01.23R3 is listed on the WEB Site?
Yup.
Haven't got any new SDG2kX's to check either.  :(
Then I wonder if spidola mistyped 5 for 3 ?  :-//
No mistake here. The latest firmware is 2.01.01.23R5 and it is not yet available at the support site. Let's see who can find it first  ;)
 
The following users thanked this post: tautech

Offline Qw3rtzuiop

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 60
  • Country: de
Re: The Siglent SDG2042X Thread
« Reply #796 on: August 14, 2017, 07:01:13 pm »
Sorry i made a mistake. I just found 23R3 on the website.
 

Offline Dwaine

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 256
  • Country: ca
Re: The Siglent SDG2042X Thread
« Reply #797 on: August 16, 2017, 12:13:11 pm »
Only 2.01.01.23R3 is listed on the WEB Site?
Yup.
Haven't got any new SDG2kX's to check either.  :(
Then I wonder if spidola mistyped 5 for 3 ?  :-//
No mistake here. The latest firmware is 2.01.01.23R5 and it is not yet available at the support site. Let's see who can find it first  ;)

I guess we will have to wait until Siglent posts the newer firmware..  Thanks for the screenshot..
 

Offline spidola

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 14
  • Country: ua
Re: The Siglent SDG2042X Thread
« Reply #798 on: August 17, 2017, 01:46:36 am »
I guess we will have to wait until Siglent posts the newer firmware..  Thanks for the screenshot..
It appears, the next released firmware is going to be 23R6, they skip posting 23R5 ???
 

Offline eurofox

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 835
  • Country: be
    • Music
Re: The Siglent SDG2042X Thread
« Reply #799 on: August 17, 2017, 05:08:18 am »
I got mine today and hack it from 40Mhz to 120Mhz in 5 minutes  :-DD :-+
Very nice generator  :-+
eurofox
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf