Author Topic: Fluke 8000A Multimeter Reading 1/2 of Actual Values  (Read 1647 times)

Offline TMA-1Topic starter

• Contributor
Fluke 8000A Multimeter Reading 1/2 of Actual Values
« on: January 17, 2024, 04:46:17 am »
First time poster here.  My self-taught electronics knowledge is moderate but sporadic.

I have recently been given a Fluke 8000A multimeter, a 3.5 digit unit which is both very old (70's) and very cool.  Being as it's a Fluke, I would like to restore it to accuracy and actually use it for my hacks.

But here's the scoop:  On DCV and on Ohms, the meter reads a suspiciously consistent 50% of what's expected and what my comparison meter reads.  On DC mA, it reads a suspiciously consistent 200%.  (On ACV the error is gross but less predictable.)  Range switching does not seem to affect the error proportion.

The unit looks good inside with no apparent evidence of leakage, corrosion, bomb craters, or meatball surgery.  (Yet.)  :)   My poking suggests the power supply section is operating normally.

I can't help thinking these unlikely exact multiples are a red flag for the failure of some individual component, but my digestion of the manual found on-line is less than perfect.

Can someone who better understands how these circuits actually work point me in the right direction?  Or is my "observation" a random thing and this meter is simply "wildly inaccurate"?

Thanks in advance for your time.

Offline bdunham7

• Super Contributor
Re: Fluke 8000A Multimeter Reading 1/2 of Actual Values
« Reply #1 on: January 17, 2024, 04:59:34 am »
My poking suggests the power supply section is operating normally.

Start by verifying that completely as in the manual and posting the exact results including how you measured them.