Author Topic: Tips and Tricks: R&S RTB2000/RTM3000/RTA4000  (Read 4149 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Rich@RohdeScopesUSA

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 416
  • Country: us
Tips and Tricks: R&S RTB2000/RTM3000/RTA4000
« on: July 22, 2019, 03:54:12 pm »
I thought I'd start a thread on tips and tricks for the RTB2000/RTM3000/RTA4000.  Some of these may be known already, but hopefully some are new.  I'll try to add more to this as I get time - feel free to add your tips/tricks too!   :-+

-Rich

Tap on clock opens time and date setup.
[attach=1]

Tap on interface icon opens interface short information window (e.g. this is helpful if you need the IP address quickly).
[attach=3]

Tap on gear wheel opens interface menu (this is more if you need to update your USB/Ethernet settings - it gives you quick access to that menu).
[attach=2]

Tap on information window opens numeric keypad.
[attach=4]

Tap on waveform marker to select a waveform.  Every marker is moveable.
[attach=5]
« Last Edit: July 22, 2019, 03:59:20 pm by Rich@RohdeScopesUSA »
 
The following users thanked this post: dr.diesel, egonotto, eetechTom, BU508A, hwj-d

Offline Rich@RohdeScopesUSA

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 416
  • Country: us
Re: Tips and Tricks: R&S RTB2000/RTM3000/RTA4000
« Reply #1 on: July 22, 2019, 04:08:27 pm »
A couple more:

You can name your device:
 SCPI: syst:name “ViliWonka”
[attach=1]


If you tap on menu item it will increment the selection in pull down menu.
[attach=2]

-Rich
 
The following users thanked this post: dr.diesel, egonotto

Offline BU508A

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2188
  • Country: de
  • Per aspera ad astra
Re: Tips and Tricks: R&S RTB2000/RTM3000/RTA4000
« Reply #2 on: July 22, 2019, 04:29:31 pm »
Hello Rich,

thank you for this nice thread, saw two tricks which I didn't know yet.  :)

But may I ask you to increase the size of the screenshots? With some hi-res display they are a bit hard to read.

Thank you very much.

Mounty
“Chaos is found in greatest abundance wherever order is being sought. It always defeats order, because it is better organized.”            - Terry Pratchett -
 
The following users thanked this post: dr.diesel

Online maginnovision

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1888
  • Country: us
Re: Tips and Tricks: R&S RTB2000/RTM3000/RTA4000
« Reply #3 on: July 22, 2019, 05:23:56 pm »
Hello Rich,

thank you for this nice thread, saw two tricks which I didn't know yet.  :)

But may I ask you to increase the size of the screenshots? With some hi-res display they are a bit hard to read.

Thank you very much.

Mounty

Yea, here's what I get when I click the image. Without clicking it it's even smaller.
 

Offline Rich@RohdeScopesUSA

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 416
  • Country: us
Re: Tips and Tricks: R&S RTB2000/RTM3000/RTA4000
« Reply #4 on: July 22, 2019, 09:15:29 pm »
Sorry about that.  I'll make them larger.

-Rich
 

Offline Rich@RohdeScopesUSA

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 416
  • Country: us
Re: Tips and Tricks: R&S RTB2000/RTM3000/RTA4000
« Reply #5 on: July 22, 2019, 09:18:48 pm »
Tap on clock opens time and date setup.
[attachimg=1]

Tap on interface icon opens interface short information window (e.g. this is helpful if you need the IP address quickly).
[attachimg=2]

Tap on gear wheel opens interface menu (this is more if you need to update your USB/Ethernet settings - it gives you quick access to that menu).
[attachimg=3]

Tap on information window opens numeric keypad.
[attachimg=4]

Tap on waveform marker to select a waveform.  Every marker is moveable.
[attachimg=5]

You can name your device:
 SCPI: syst:name “ViliWonka”
[attachimg=7]

If you tap on menu item it will increment the selection in pull down menu.
[attachimg=8]

-Rich
« Last Edit: July 22, 2019, 09:25:49 pm by Rich@RohdeScopesUSA »
 
The following users thanked this post: eetechTom

Offline Rich@RohdeScopesUSA

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 416
  • Country: us
Re: Tips and Tricks: R&S RTB2000/RTM3000/RTA4000
« Reply #6 on: July 22, 2019, 09:26:07 pm »
Any better?

-Rich
 
The following users thanked this post: BU508A

Offline BU508A

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2188
  • Country: de
  • Per aspera ad astra
Re: Tips and Tricks: R&S RTB2000/RTM3000/RTA4000
« Reply #7 on: July 22, 2019, 09:50:42 pm »
Yes.  :-+

Thank You Rich.

“Chaos is found in greatest abundance wherever order is being sought. It always defeats order, because it is better organized.”            - Terry Pratchett -
 

Offline hwj-d

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 694
  • Country: de
  • save the children - chase the cabal
Re: Tips and Tricks: R&S RTB2000/RTM3000/RTA4000
« Reply #8 on: July 23, 2019, 01:09:07 am »
Booked  :) :-+
 

Offline Rich@RohdeScopesUSA

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 416
  • Country: us
Re: Tips and Tricks: R&S RTB2000/RTM3000/RTA4000
« Reply #9 on: July 24, 2019, 03:22:26 am »
If you have several sources available, you can click on the measurement source icon to select another one:
[attachimg=1]

-Rich
 
The following users thanked this post: maginnovision, bayjelly

Offline Harjit

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 91
  • Country: us
Re: Tips and Tricks: R&S RTB2000/RTM3000/RTA4000
« Reply #10 on: July 24, 2019, 03:43:24 am »
If the waveform tips are orange or you see up / down arrows next to the channel number on the bottom of the screen, that means the channel was clipped when it was digitized.
 
The following users thanked this post: Rich@RohdeScopesUSA, oh2hyt

Offline Rich@RohdeScopesUSA

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 416
  • Country: us
Re: Tips and Tricks: R&S RTB2000/RTM3000/RTA4000
« Reply #11 on: July 24, 2019, 07:28:01 pm »
This is one of my favorites for deep memory captures (works best with lots of memory turned on):

Set the waveform how you want to see it.  Adjust memory depth to an amount that gives offscreen data.
Press Stop.
Make a short swipe in the horizontal direction and the scope will automatically scroll through your waveform for you.

It can take a few tries to get proficient at it (if you don't get it right, the waveform will just move a small amount).  Sometimes helps to do it above/below the trigger level.

[attachimg=1]

-Rich
 

Offline Rich@RohdeScopesUSA

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 416
  • Country: us
Re: Tips and Tricks: R&S RTB2000/RTM3000/RTA4000
« Reply #12 on: July 27, 2019, 03:41:51 pm »
If you connect a mouse (you can use a mouse and keyboard), you can use the scroll wheel on the mouse to emulate the "multi-purpose knob" on the front panel.
[attachimg=1]

-Rich
 
The following users thanked this post: Warhawk

Offline Warhawk

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 540
  • Country: 00
    • Personal resume
Re: Tips and Tricks: R&S RTB2000/RTM3000/RTA4000
« Reply #13 on: July 31, 2019, 01:13:56 pm »
Please, keep going with this thread.  :-+

Offline Rich@RohdeScopesUSA

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 416
  • Country: us
Re: Tips and Tricks: R&S RTB2000/RTM3000/RTA4000
« Reply #14 on: August 01, 2019, 05:54:11 pm »
You can tap on the calculated cursor value and it will open the cursor menu. If you tap on the automatic measurement value it will open the measurement menu.
[attachimg=1]

-Rich
 

Offline Rich@RohdeScopesUSA

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 416
  • Country: us
Re: Tips and Tricks: R&S RTB2000/RTM3000/RTA4000
« Reply #15 on: August 09, 2019, 05:03:25 pm »
A couple cool Pattern Generator tips:

If you are in the arbitrary setup menu, you can tap on the signal it will change the bit level:
[attachimg=1]

You can also tap on the value and manually enter what you want via the keypad and it will set the correct bit levels:
[attachimg=2]

-Rich
 

Offline Rich@RohdeScopesUSA

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 416
  • Country: us
Re: Tips and Tricks: R&S RTB2000/RTM3000/RTA4000
« Reply #16 on: August 12, 2019, 02:11:26 am »
Turning on FFT and then pressing autoset will auto-configure the FFT's settings. 

-Rich
 
The following users thanked this post: maginnovision

Offline Rich@RohdeScopesUSA

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 416
  • Country: us
Re: Tips and Tricks: R&S RTB2000/RTM3000/RTA4000
« Reply #17 on: August 12, 2019, 10:28:09 pm »
You can set the waveform color (normal/rainbow/fire/temperature) via the channel menu:

-Rich
« Last Edit: August 14, 2019, 04:36:37 pm by Rich@RohdeScopesUSA »
 

Offline Rich@RohdeScopesUSA

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 416
  • Country: us
Re: Tips and Tricks: R&S RTB2000/RTM3000/RTA4000
« Reply #18 on: August 12, 2019, 10:39:42 pm »
Another one of my personal favorites - when you save a setup file, it also saves a screenshot.  You can then search by file view or list - in file view it will show you the screenshot.  I love this because I typically remember more what my setup *looked* like vs. what I named the setup.

-Rich
« Last Edit: August 14, 2019, 04:37:06 pm by Rich@RohdeScopesUSA »
 
The following users thanked this post: hwj-d, maginnovision

Offline hwj-d

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 694
  • Country: de
  • save the children - chase the cabal
Re: Tips and Tricks: R&S RTB2000/RTM3000/RTA4000
« Reply #19 on: August 13, 2019, 10:18:54 pm »
The automatic picture rendering is faulty!
 

Offline Rich@RohdeScopesUSA

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 416
  • Country: us
Re: Tips and Tricks: R&S RTB2000/RTM3000/RTA4000
« Reply #20 on: August 13, 2019, 10:21:33 pm »
The automatic picture rendering is faulty!
It looks OK to me.  Can you post a pic of what you're seeing?  I may be doing something wrong embedding the pics.

Thanks,
Rich
 

Offline hwj-d

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 694
  • Country: de
  • save the children - chase the cabal
Re: Tips and Tricks: R&S RTB2000/RTM3000/RTA4000
« Reply #21 on: August 13, 2019, 10:32:29 pm »
The automatic picture rendering is faulty!
It looks OK to me.  Can you post a pic of what you're seeing?  I may be doing something wrong embedding the pics.

Thanks,
Rich

That's not you. Something is wrong with the rendering algorithm.
 
The following users thanked this post: genghisnico13

Offline hwj-d

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 694
  • Country: de
  • save the children - chase the cabal
Re: Tips and Tricks: R&S RTB2000/RTM3000/RTA4000
« Reply #22 on: August 13, 2019, 11:01:01 pm »
That must be serverside issue. Because this was FF Win10, but Safari iPadOS 13 is the same.
Depending on iPad orientation horizontal or vertical, there is more or less horizontal picture left on screen. The picture will not fit horizontal lower resolution client screens, as it is with picture expandable thumbnail method. If you have a bigger horizontal screenresolution, you din't notice the mismatch.
 

Offline hwj-d

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 694
  • Country: de
  • save the children - chase the cabal
Re: Tips and Tricks: R&S RTB2000/RTM3000/RTA4000
« Reply #23 on: August 13, 2019, 11:07:26 pm »
Ok, that's OT here, should be reported to the admins.  :-BROKE

https://www.eevblog.com/forum/suggestions/there-is-another-issue-with-rendering-pictures-horizontal/msg2614179/#msg2614179

Edit: @Rich
I suggest to upload with "end of post expandable thumbnail" method. This pictures fits perfect.
Thanks
« Last Edit: August 13, 2019, 11:43:51 pm by hwj-d »
 
The following users thanked this post: Rich@RohdeScopesUSA

Offline Rich@RohdeScopesUSA

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 416
  • Country: us
Re: Tips and Tricks: R&S RTB2000/RTM3000/RTA4000
« Reply #24 on: August 14, 2019, 04:37:41 pm »
Ok, that's OT here, should be reported to the admins.  :-BROKE

https://www.eevblog.com/forum/suggestions/there-is-another-issue-with-rendering-pictures-horizontal/msg2614179/#msg2614179

Edit: @Rich
I suggest to upload with "end of post expandable thumbnail" method. This pictures fits perfect.
Thanks
Thanks - updated.

-Rich
 
The following users thanked this post: hwj-d


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf