Author Topic: Fluke 15B multimeter, is it safe?  (Read 45801 times)

Offline gwetTopic starter

Fluke 15B multimeter, is it safe?
« on: November 21, 2010, 07:10:07 pm »
I am thinking about buying a Fluke 15B multimeter (link 1, link 2). I am a beginner and it would be my first multimeter btw ;) At first I was going to buy a very cheap multimeter ($10-$30) but I saw that Fluke.

Is it safe? Can I test a car battery or measure mains voltage (230V)? I have read this review about the Fluke 17B but for me it is unclear what can be tested with the multimeter.

Any advice would be welcome!

Offline Kiriakos-GR

• Super Contributor
  • !
  • User is banned.
    • Honda AX-1 rebuild
Re: Fluke 15B multimeter, is it safe?
« Reply #1 on: November 21, 2010, 09:19:32 pm »
Why you do not reading the manual of it , at the Fluke web site.

And if you still have questions , to openly talk about it here !!  

Offline gobblegobble

• Regular Contributor
« Reply #2 on: November 21, 2010, 09:52:24 pm »
Kiriakos apparently haven't done background research and is going by the instict, which I'll have to admit works surprisingly ofter just not now.

15B/17B/18B are China-only models and aren't sold anywhere else. Not to mention the box has huge text in it which states "NOT FOR SALE OUTSIDE OF CHINA". Technically no-one is breaking the law since you are buying the meter from china but I wouldn't count on warranty service outside of China. Although if you buy from a reputable reseller you should be able to send it back if problems arise.

Facts you should note about the meter before buying to name a few (I was considering buying one myself, and still am).
- It's a genuine Fluke, so quality-vice it should be head and shoulders above the cheapest meters
- Is is not cat-rated very high: catII 600 volts isn't much to call home about, although quite sufficient for a hobbyist use.
- It's not tested by any western third party like UL or such, but does seem to have a Chinese third-party test approval