Author Topic: Uni-T 216D Clamp meter for house and raspberry pi? Also how safe are probes?  (Read 8414 times)

Offline drenoTopic starter

• Contributor
Hi,
I was looking forward to buy a multimeter for all the stuff around the house. Car, photovoltaics and so on. Also I am doing some stuff with raspberry pi, like running a home automation server with humidity and temperature sensors.

I was reading that the Uni-T 216D would be nice for photovoltaics and heatpumps as it is rated till 1000V. I wanted to buy it but I am not so sure what I am able to do with the probes? Are the probes safe to use? Do they need to be fused, or will this only protect the device? Also it is not possible to measure mA with them? Do you know when there is a need to measure mA with the probes, actually I am not sure if I need the mA feature. Or maybe you can suggest me some other device???

Sorry, but I am new to the subject.

dreno

Offline Fungus

• Super Contributor
The only thing you can measure with the clamp is current (amps), everything else uses the probes.

For "Raspberry Pi" you almost certainly need milliamps.

As an only meter, I don't think this meter is a good choice. At least pair it with one of those cheap Chinese meters for the non-mains work.

(I like my ANENG 860B+ for small electronics work, they're about $20)

The following users thanked this post: dreno

• Contributor
I was reading a bit more, so I need fuses only when I have a device where I can measure amps with the probes? Which is not the case with the clamp meter, so there is no fuse needed?

why are the chinese meters not good for mains work?

wow, the Aneng meters are so cheap. Which is the "best" they offer, there is something better than the 860B+?

I am not sure what I need measure mAmps, can you tell me maybe an example?

Offline Fungus

• Super Contributor