Author Topic: UNI-T UT61E Multimeter teardown photos.  (Read 534245 times)

0 Members and 4 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline Lightages

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 4295
  • Country: ca
  • Canadian po
Re: UNI-T UT61E Multimeter teardown photos.
« Reply #525 on: February 16, 2013, 08:01:57 pm »
I am not sure if it has been mentioned before but most RS232-USB converters don't actually provide RS232 signals. RS232 is ±12v logic level and most converters just provide +5 volt logic. Some RS232 devices will accept this and some won't.
 

Offline Rick Law

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2733
  • Country: us
UT61E users may find useful
« Reply #526 on: February 17, 2013, 01:07:30 am »
I hate flipping through the manual to look for the %accuracy/specs each time I change the dial on my meter.  So, I cut and pasted the UT61E's spec for all the selections into a single-page layout.  Small prints, but I can see all the %accuracy for all the ranges on this little poster on my wall.

Thought other UT61E may find this useful.  If you like it, feel free to use it.

(Since the original manual is available for the public to download, I am rather sure this consolidating into single page would fall under the "fair-user" clause of the copyright act.  Well, I think so anyway.)
 

Offline Teneyes

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 497
  • Country: ca
Re: UT61E users may find useful
« Reply #527 on: February 17, 2013, 03:30:39 am »
Ithe UT61E's spec
Thought other UT61E may find this useful.
Thanks Rick :) :-+ :-+
IiIiIiIiIi  --  curiosity killed the cat but, satisfaction brought it back
 

Offline dinoboy

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 40
  • Country: de
  • EE101
    • DC
Re: UT61E users may find useful
« Reply #528 on: February 17, 2013, 09:57:24 am »
So, I cut and pasted the UT61E's spec for all the selections into a single-page layout.

Very helpful sheet, i am printing it out now.
Thanks for your efforts, great job!!

 :-+
 

Offline ddavidebor

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1139
  • Country: it
    • Fermium LABS website
Re: UNI-T UT61E Multimeter teardown photos.
« Reply #529 on: February 17, 2013, 10:03:39 pm »
i've 3 question about this meter, and interned had not answer it:

-how many fast is the continuity test?
-what is the max diode voltage drop it can measure?
-how mani reading per second it do?
Davide Bortolami,
Fermium LABS srl
 

Offline T4P

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 3706
  • Country: sg
    • T4P
Re: UNI-T UT61E Multimeter teardown photos.
« Reply #530 on: February 17, 2013, 10:06:03 pm »
-how many fast is the continuity test?
Fast. VERY FAST. It's been answered on this topic
-what is the max diode voltage drop it can measure?
Just a little over 2V, won't measure my white LED which is a 2.4V (Odd eh?)
-how mani reading per second it do?
2. Most high res meters from china do 2
 

Offline ddavidebor

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1139
  • Country: it
    • Fermium LABS website
UNI-T UT61E Multimeter teardown photos.
« Reply #531 on: February 17, 2013, 10:35:35 pm »
Ok thanks a lot.

I will never find a meter capable to measure >3v led.... No way...
« Last Edit: February 17, 2013, 10:37:30 pm by ddavidebor »
Davide Bortolami,
Fermium LABS srl
 

Offline mariush

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 3908
  • Country: ro
  • .
Re: UNI-T UT61E Multimeter teardown photos.
« Reply #532 on: February 17, 2013, 10:44:29 pm »
The test voltage is up to about 2.8v so most leds will light up.
It's quite a good meter, for the money you can't go wrong.

PS. You can tests leds quite simple with a simple 470ohm - 1kohm resistor .. just use 3.3-5v and the resistor in series to limit the current.
Don't make your selection of a good meter on its ability to measure a led, you won't do that with your meter all day (at least i hope so)

Here's a very  detailed review:





 
« Last Edit: February 17, 2013, 10:52:41 pm by mariush »
 

Offline ddavidebor

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1139
  • Country: it
    • Fermium LABS website
UNI-T UT61E Multimeter teardown photos.
« Reply #533 on: February 18, 2013, 05:59:23 am »
Thaks a lot!
Davide Bortolami,
Fermium LABS srl
 

Online Monkeh

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 6089
  • Country: gb
Re: UNI-T UT61E Multimeter teardown photos.
« Reply #534 on: February 18, 2013, 07:26:03 pm »
Ok thanks a lot.

I will never find a meter capable to measure >3v led.... No way...

So make a box which will do it! Whole minutes of work.
 

Offline ddavidebor

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1139
  • Country: it
    • Fermium LABS website
Re: UNI-T UT61E Multimeter teardown photos.
« Reply #535 on: February 18, 2013, 07:54:54 pm »
i'm searching a good project jet  8)
Davide Bortolami,
Fermium LABS srl
 

Offline T4P

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 3706
  • Country: sg
    • T4P
Re: UNI-T UT61E Multimeter teardown photos.
« Reply #536 on: February 18, 2013, 07:59:20 pm »
All you need is a 5V input voltage and a LM317 plus a few bits and bobs
Attach a current measuring point and a voltage measuring point at the very end of the terminals to negate multimeter burden voltage and there done! You can now measure LEDs accurately (i recommend 1 to 2 mA current though)
And also use another LM317 in front of the voltage LM317

(HINT: VC8145 can measure up to 3.3V and that's not a joke)
 

Offline Spawn

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 510
  • Country: nl
  • ³²µ º'ºººº³²

Offline gatos

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 9
Re: UNI-T UT61E Multimeter teardown photos.
« Reply #538 on: February 18, 2013, 09:51:25 pm »
Hello sirs,
The forum is really great. I got a lot of info from your posts.
I bought also a UT61E from Franky (excellent seller)
Now I have a question:
I installed the software v4.01 (which came with the multimeter) and works perfectly apart from the frequency measurement display.
The multimeter measures and displays correct the frequency eg 50.0Hz, but the software displays 5.00Hz.
I think it is a matter of wrong decimal point position, is there any solution for this?

After, I tried the software v2.00 (which I downloaded from your site "www.uni-trend.com/Web%20site/DMM%20Software/UT61E_setup%20v2.00.exe")
With this version as far as the multimeter is taking a measurement (no matter what value), the software displays the following error message:
"-0.0001 is not a valid floating value" and the only option is to end the application.
I searched through the installation directory and I found that under the directory /Database, there are only UT70 related files,
eg UT70bdb.db, UT70bdb.px, UT70bdb.fam, UT70bdb.tv.
Should not be there any UT61 related files?
Is there any solution for this?

My PC runs on WinXP Pro, and has a real serial port.

Sorry for the long post

PS. I have already sent an email at UNI-T (since 11/2/2013), but I got no answer yet.
 

Offline mariush

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 3908
  • Country: ro
  • .
Re: UNI-T UT61E Multimeter teardown photos.
« Reply #539 on: February 18, 2013, 10:09:22 pm »
See if you experience the same problem with UltraDMM : http://www.ultradmm.com/

 

Offline ddavidebor

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1139
  • Country: it
    • Fermium LABS website
UNI-T UT61E Multimeter teardown photos.
« Reply #540 on: February 18, 2013, 10:58:29 pm »
All you need is a 5V input voltage and a LM317 plus a few bits and bobs
Attach a current measuring point and a voltage measuring point at the very end of the terminals to negate multimeter burden voltage and there done! You can now measure LEDs accurately (i recommend 1 to 2 mA current though)
And also use another LM317 in front of the voltage LM317

(HINT: VC8145 can measure up to 3.3V and that's not a joke)


I think a 10k resistor and a 9v battery will work well, thanks of all.

I think i'm goint to buy this multimeter when i sell the agilent 34401a.

Also i like uni-t 70... It cost 113$ and has 80000 counts. People say that 8000 count mode is very fast, and the buzzer too.

Davide Bortolami,
Fermium LABS srl
 

Offline T4P

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 3706
  • Country: sg
    • T4P
Re: UNI-T UT61E Multimeter teardown photos.
« Reply #541 on: February 19, 2013, 01:25:13 am »
But it's rubbish and quite a lot more dangerous  :o
 

Offline ddavidebor

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1139
  • Country: it
    • Fermium LABS website
Davide Bortolami,
Fermium LABS srl
 

Offline Lightages

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 4295
  • Country: ca
  • Canadian po
Re: UNI-T UT61E Multimeter teardown photos.
« Reply #543 on: February 19, 2013, 06:59:04 am »
Instead of taking this thread off track, why not post questions about different meters in a new thread?
 

Offline gatos

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 9
Re: UNI-T UT61E Multimeter teardown photos.
« Reply #544 on: February 19, 2013, 10:19:22 am »
See if you experience the same problem with UltraDMM : http://www.ultradmm.com/

Thanks mariush.
I tried DMM and everything is fine (http://www-user.tu-chemnitz.de/~heha/hs_freeware/UNI-T/dmm.zip).
I did not install UltraDMM because it needs .NET and several other prerequisites, and my laptop is really old adn I doubt if it can handle all these software.
 
I think the issue is that the manufacturer's software should not have any issues like those.
Fortunately there are third party solutions!
 

Offline Rick Law

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2733
  • Country: us
Re: UNI-T UT61E Multimeter teardown photos.
« Reply #545 on: February 20, 2013, 06:36:23 pm »
Not all usb/rs232 converters work with the 61E. I have tried a few different ones. The cheapest ones usually won't work.

Another trouble is, you can't really choose the chip-set.  Even if I want to go for the more expensive ones, there is no telling if it is just more expensive for the same or if it is really better.  So basically it is a gamble.  I have a Belkin.  It worked with modems, PDA...   but not with the UT61E.

Anyone here with experience with the UTD04 cable?  I like to find out if it requires drivers and how well that worked out for you.

Thanks
Rick
 

Offline Wytnucls

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2837
  • Country: be
Re: UNI-T UT61E Multimeter teardown photos.
« Reply #546 on: February 20, 2013, 07:01:55 pm »
The UTD-04 USB cable works fine with the UT61E.
One just needs to install the logging software that came on a disk supplied with the meter. There is no need for extra drivers (Win 7 machine here).
It works with the UNI-T 61E logging software (Ver 4.01). I haven't tried it with any third party logging software.
It doesn't work with the UT-71B/D logging applications, while connected to the 61E.
« Last Edit: February 20, 2013, 07:14:05 pm by Wytnucls »
 

Offline Rick Law

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2733
  • Country: us
Re: UNI-T UT61E Multimeter teardown photos.
« Reply #547 on: February 20, 2013, 07:19:41 pm »
The UTD-04 USB cable works fine with the UT61E.....It works with the UNI-T 61E logging software. I haven't tried it with any third party logging software.

Interesting.  Do you mind check to see if it creates a standard serial port of some sort in the hardware lists?

I was planning on writing something to copy RS232 port data to disk - not to complex a job.  If it doesn't create some kind of port and use proprietary interface method, for me, this would be opening another can of worm.

Thanks
Rick


« Last Edit: February 20, 2013, 07:56:07 pm by Rick Law »
 

Offline Wytnucls

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2837
  • Country: be
Re: UNI-T UT61E Multimeter teardown photos.
« Reply #548 on: February 20, 2013, 08:10:30 pm »
The cable creates a standard 'USB to serial' interface. I don't see any proprietary interface.
 

Offline Rick Law

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2733
  • Country: us
Re: UNI-T UT61E Multimeter teardown photos.
« Reply #549 on: February 20, 2013, 10:06:16 pm »
The cable creates a standard 'USB to serial' interface. I don't see any proprietary interface.

Sorry, my question was poorly worded - let me try again:  When it is connected, does it create a COM port in the device manager's device list?

If it does, that means any 3rd party can write some code to read the COM port (or capture directly to file).  And a COM port would mean 3rd party stuff like Ultra-DMM should have no problem with it.

On the other hand, it may be like the Palm Pilot's USB-Serial (for Palm VII).  It doesn't create any COM port, but the Palm Desktop software knows how to talk to it.  Third party would have a much harder time trying to talk to the Palm VII.

Thanks...

Rick
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf