Author Topic: Unlocking Siglent SDS1104X-E, step by step  (Read 87630 times)

0 Members and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline 2112

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 5
  • Country: us
Re: Unlocking Siglent SDS1104X-E, step by step
« Reply #275 on: December 21, 2020, 02:58:58 am »
I found this in the manual "Note: You can force the oscilloscope to trigger by pressing the Single button
twice. The trigger status in the upper left corner of the screen will be displayed
as "FStop"."


I will use force sometimes to to look at my signal while waiting for a trigger
 
The following users thanked this post: tinhead, jan28

Offline Fungus

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 12615
  • Country: 00
Re: Unlocking Siglent SDS1104X-E, step by step
« Reply #276 on: December 21, 2020, 09:57:40 am »
I really do like the Micsig, a lot. Unfortunately, they don't seem to be well represented here in the US. I'm not sure who will be there for me if warranty issues arise.

Fair enough.

Plus it's about $200 more.

 :o  I hadn't checked over there but here in Europe they're only about 35 Euros more than the Siglent.
 

Offline 2112

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 5
  • Country: us
Re: Unlocking Siglent SDS1104X-E, step by step
« Reply #277 on: December 26, 2020, 03:23:30 pm »
I contacted Siglent USA. They handle all warranty and repair issues at their Ohio facility. That's a big plus.
They also recommend a 2G memory stick, 4G max.

I'll place my order on Monday
 

Offline DarthDomo

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 1
  • Country: us
Re: Unlocking Siglent SDS1104X-E, step by step
« Reply #278 on: December 31, 2020, 12:28:45 pm »
Just wanted to say that I got my SDS1104X-E today (12/30/2020), and thanks to the Python script method, got it upgraded to 200 MHz and unlocked all options within 10 minutes of getting it out of the box  ;D

Thank you to everyone who's contributed, for the guide and overall very helpful info!  ^-^
 

Offline GnomeZA

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 1
  • Country: za
Re: Unlocking Siglent SDS1104X-E, step by step
« Reply #279 on: January 06, 2021, 11:04:25 am »
I bought my scope from Amazon over December.  It was out of stock there when I ordered and shipped late December.  So in theory I should have one of the latest manufactured batches.

Calibration date on my scope is 2020-10-19.
Scope came from the factory with firmware "6.1.35R2".

200Mhz, AWG, MSO and WIFI unlock all worked out of the box.

It took me a few tries to get it to work, so for future visitors:

Use the script attached here: https://www.eevblog.com/forum/testgear/unlocking-siglent-sds1104x-e-step-by-step/msg2568012/#msg2568012
Note that the linked URL didn't work for me, I had to use the script attached to the post.
I ran it twice.  Once using SCOPEID? once using the scope serial number.

The SCOPEID? output for 200Mhz "upgraded" the scope to 1204X-E.
The serial number output for WIFI, AWG & MSO was entered using the scope "install module" option.
« Last Edit: January 06, 2021, 11:11:43 am by GnomeZA »
 

Offline chronos42

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 120
  • Country: de
Re: Unlocking Siglent SDS1104X-E, step by step
« Reply #280 on: January 09, 2021, 10:37:43 am »
After some trying I now have enabled all options at my SDS2202X-E with the python script from WGoeo.
Here the modified phyton script for the 2000X-E series:

-----------
import hashlib

serial = 'your serial number'

for opt in ('AWG', 'WIFI', 'MSO'):
   h = hashlib.md5((
      '5zao9lyua01pp7hjzm3orcq90mds63z6zi5kv7vmv3ih981vlwn06txnjdtas3u2'
      'wa8msx61i12ueh14t7kqwsfskg032nhyuy1d9vv2wm925rd18kih9xhkyilobbgy' +
      'SDS2000X-E\n'.ljust(32, '\x00') +
      opt.ljust(5, '\x00') +
      2*((serial + '\n').ljust(32, '\x00')) +
      '\x00'*16).encode('ascii')
   ).digest()
   key = ''
   for b in h:
      if (b <= 0x2F or b > 0x39) and (b <= 0x60 or b > 0x7A):
         m = b % 0x24
         b = m + (0x57 if m > 9 else 0x30)
      if b == 0x30: b = 0x32
      if b == 0x31: b = 0x33
      if b == 0x6c: b = 0x6d
      if b == 0x6f: b = 0x70
      key += chr(b)
   print('{:4} {}'.format(opt, key.upper()))

---------------
Important: You need the serial number, not the scope ID for this codes!

There is no bandwith hack for the SDS2202X-E, because this is not necessarry. I have this 200Mhz version, but to my surprise the -3dB point is @355MHz (checked with a Tektronix SG 504) with a 50Ohm termination. It seems the only difference between the 200Mhz and 350Mhz models are the probes.

Thank you for all the people here which had made this possible.
 

Offline Sineira

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 3
  • Country: us
Re: Unlocking Siglent SDS1104X-E, step by step
« Reply #281 on: January 09, 2021, 07:52:29 pm »
The Mhz update worked by using the SCPI control.
However I can't get the AWG to update by entering it on the scope.
I also tried SCPI with LCISL AWG 0123456789ABCDE but it doesn't work.

SW:6.1.35R2 (Release Date 03.07.20) - Uboot: 8.1 - FPGA: 2019-11-15 - HW: 01-05

Could this be due to the new hardware version?
 

Offline tv84

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2356
  • Country: pt
Re: Unlocking Siglent SDS1104X-E, step by step
« Reply #282 on: January 09, 2021, 08:12:07 pm »
I also tried SCPI with LCISL AWG 0123456789ABCDE but it doesn't work.

Tried with comma?
 

Offline Sineira

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 3
  • Country: us
Re: Unlocking Siglent SDS1104X-E, step by step
« Reply #283 on: January 09, 2021, 08:35:21 pm »
I also tried SCPI with LCISL AWG 0123456789ABCDE but it doesn't work.

Tried with comma?

Yes, responds with success but no change.
 

Offline Sineira

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 3
  • Country: us
Re: Unlocking Siglent SDS1104X-E, step by step
« Reply #284 on: January 09, 2021, 09:58:04 pm »
Well, using the wrong script, someone said the download version was good but it's a completely different script which only works for the Bandwidth.
Also, didn't work to do via SCPI but worked fine via the options menu on the scope.

This is the complete script:
import hashlib

SCOPEID = '0123456789abcdef'
SN      = 'SDSXXXXXXXXXXX'
Model   = 'SDS1000X-E'
          # 'SDS1000X-E', 'SDS2000X-E', 'SDS2000X+', 'SDS5000X', 'ZODIAC-'

bwopt = ('25M', '40M', '50M', '60M', '70M', '100M', '150M', '200M', '250M', '300M', '350M', '500M', '750M', '1000M', 'MAX')
otheropt = ('AWG', 'WIFI', 'MSO', 'FLX', 'CFD', 'I2S', '1553', 'FG', '16LA')

hashkey = '5zao9lyua01pp7hjzm3orcq90mds63z6zi5kv7vmv3ih981vlwn06txnjdtas3u2wa8msx61i12ueh14t7kqwsfskg032nhyuy1d9vv2wm925rd18kih9xhkyilobbgy'

def gen(x):
   h = hashlib.md5((
      hashkey +
      (Model+'\n').ljust(32, '\x00') +
      opt.ljust(5, '\x00') +
      2*(((SCOPEID if opt in bwopt else SN) + '\n').ljust(32, '\x00')) +
      '\x00'*16).encode('ascii')
   ).digest()
   key = ''
   for b in h:
      if (b <= 0x2F or b > 0x39) and (b <= 0x60 or b > 0x7A):
         m = b % 0x24
         b = m + (0x57 if m > 9 else 0x30)
      if b == 0x30: b = 0x32
      if b == 0x31: b = 0x33
      if b == 0x6c: b = 0x6d
      if b == 0x6f: b = 0x70
      key += chr(b)
   return key.upper()
   
for opt in bwopt:
   print('{:5} {}'.format(opt, gen(SCOPEID)))
for opt in otheropt:
   print('{:5} {}'.format(opt, gen(SN)))
 

Offline torch

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 348
Re: Unlocking Siglent SDS1104X-E, step by step
« Reply #285 on: January 22, 2021, 06:10:26 pm »
I thought I had tried all the different Scope ID permutations.  Looks like I didn't.  The one that works is without dashes and leaving any other characters as they are.

For Bandwidth Upgrade (Worked for me on 8.1.6.1.33):
  • Connect Scope to LAN
  • On Scope: In Utility menu -> Page (page 2)-I/O-IP Set
  • Either set a static IP address or enable DHCP-Save
  • Reboot.  If DHCP, use step 2 and get your scope's IP
  • Open Web Browser-input the IP address of scope
  • SCPI button on left.  In the command field: SCOPEID?
    (dont forget or miss the ? at the end.  it is important)
  • Copy the ID shown
  • Download the python script from wgeon just a few messages before this one
  • Open the script in Notepad.  Find the line that starts serial =
  • Delete everything between the two single quote marks, then place your scope ID there.

    NOTE: Your scope ID will probably contain dashes.  Remove them.  All you want are the the numbers and letters without spaces or dashes or anything else.

    Example:
    If SCOPEID? Returns: 1234-fedc-567b-89a0
    then the serial line in the script is:
    serial = '1234fedc567b89a0'

    Just remove the dashes.  Leave the rest alone.

  • Run this python script.  If you have Python already installed on your computer you can run it locally.  Otherwise a quick google search will turn up places to upload/paste the script and run it. (The first link in a Google of 'run python online' works)
  • In the 200M line the script will return a key of 16 characters.  Copy them.
  • Back in the web browser on the web page for the scope, in the SCPI command enter:MCBD (key)
    Don't include the ()s, just the 16 characters like this:  MCBD 0123456789ABCDEF

  • Reboot the scope

Thanks for the clues, and I hope these steps spell it out better for the next poor slob :)

I wonder if there is a slight error in the above? I followed your directions until I got to that point, but then I put the ScopeID number in the "SCOPEID = '0123456789abcdef' line and the unit serial number (from the utility page) in the SN="SDSxxxxxxxxxxx" line.

I used the webpage script provided by WGoeo. But I had to fork it to insert my own numbers and run it. I bought this wifi dongle for $10, which is gold coloured, appears to be the correct one and worked perfectly:

https://www.amazon.ca/gp/product/B008IFXQFU

Since the unit comes with 30 free tries of the wifi, I just plugged in the dongle and didn't have to go hunt down a network cable to access the SCPI interface.

I unlocked the bandwidth in the SCPI command line and installed the other keys via the control panel.

Prior to unlocking, I used a fast-pulse generator to check the rise time. It was slower than my trusty old hacked DS1052. After the hack, it was dramatically improved, approaching (but not quite meeting) the performance of my ancient Tek 475. But much easier to see in daylight!!!

Firmware is 6.1.35R2, and the calibration certificate suggests it left the factory mid-December. (I had to laugh when I noticed the certificate was signed by "Your Wang"  :-DD)

I read through pages and pages of the 2 or 3 different threads on this hack before pulling the trigger and I think my eyes are still bleeding a little bit.  My thanks to all that went before, figured this out and shared it. Too many to mention all, but you know who you are!
 

Offline torch

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 348
Re: Unlocking Siglent SDS1104X-E, step by step
« Reply #286 on: January 23, 2021, 08:06:08 pm »
I have discovered that step 14 is not necessary. The scope changes bandwidth immediately on running the MCBD (key) command in the web UI. Not quite as convenient as a panel button or menu option, but with a laptop nearby and the wifi dongle installed, it is a readily available bandwidth limit switch.

For those that are still wondering if the hack really affects bandwidth, here are some screenshots of the signal from a home-made pulse generator I put together when hacking my Rigol DS1052. (all screen shots adjusted to 6 divisions of height, 2 nS/Div) (The pulse generator is directly BNC coupled to the scope input, so no probes involved.)

First, the signal as seen by the unlocked Rigol:



Now, the same signal seen by a Tek 475, with the bandwidth limiter set to 100MHz:



and finally, as seen by the stock, unhacked SDS1104X-E:



But here it is in all it's glory with the Tek 475 set to 200MHz:



And now the one you really wanted to see, the Siglent SDS1104X-E unlocked to think it is a SDS1204X-E:



Remember, each of these were fine-adjusted to 6 segments of height. This is what happens when I command the Siglent back to 100MHz from the laptop, without rebooting or making any other changes:



 



« Last Edit: January 23, 2021, 08:21:38 pm by torch »
 
The following users thanked this post: blurpy, bmjjr, rozwell

Offline Sparky Faraday

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 55
  • Country: us
Re: Unlocking Siglent SDS1104X-E, step by step
« Reply #287 on: January 27, 2021, 06:50:43 am »
Hi,
Fascinating and way over my BW. I do audio . . . with tubes. However I want to buy this Siglent and do the hack as it will probably be the last scope I buy. Data logging and FFT are nice.

Beforehand I checked the downloads to make sure they are still available.

Here's the problem: Zippyshare is loaded with porn, malware links and everything but the software needed. Dazzled by the female body parts, an hour later I noticed this link, https://www45.zippyshare.com/v/SEUJEWE1/file.html, doesn't work.
Is there a work around?, a valid safe place where it's parked?
Thanks
 

Offline thaistatos

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 18
  • Country: de
Re: Unlocking Siglent SDS1104X-E, step by step
« Reply #288 on: January 27, 2021, 06:54:08 am »
No need for download, simply run the python script online.
 

Offline torch

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 348
Re: Unlocking Siglent SDS1104X-E, step by step
« Reply #289 on: January 29, 2021, 03:21:17 pm »
I ran the on-line script, BUT to do so, I had to create a free account and then fork the script. It would not allow me to substitute in my own scopeid and serial number otherwise.

I gather this is something new, put in place because of problems caused by anonymous users.

 

Offline Pugduck

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 3
  • Country: za
Re: Unlocking Siglent SDS1104X-E, step by step
« Reply #290 on: January 30, 2021, 07:14:02 am »
I tried the Python app to increase my SDS1104x-e bandwidth to 200M. The app produced 4 key codes which I then tried on SCPI with the MBCD command. Unfortunately none of the codes worked. I know this as after each try I used the MBCD? command to see if the code was accepted but each time it returned the original 100M key code.
I am not sure if my software version is the cause of this : Software Version: 6.1.35R2
Are there any guys out there that had the bandwidth upgraded with this software version?
 :phew:
 

Offline Sparky Faraday

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 55
  • Country: us
Re: Unlocking Siglent SDS1104X-E, step by step
« Reply #291 on: February 02, 2021, 05:16:54 am »
I saw the 1104X-E at amazon today for $449 and pulled the trigger.

https://www.amazon.com/Siglent-SDS1104X-oscilloscope-channels-standard/dp/B0771N1ZF9/ref=sr_1_4?dchild=1&keywords=siglent+sds1104x-u&qid=1612242815&sr=8-4

Delivery date is 2/6.
Last scope I will own. My analogue scope is a Hitachi 2ch 35mhz. Nice scope for audio but I want to have capture and be able to do some distortion analysis.

Please forgive me. I don't code and all the acronyms are unrecognizable to me so I may need some tutoring.

Now when you say run the Python code is this the code I downloaded from this thread, reply #24 from TV84, the Easter Egg code or this: * SDS1004X-E_ProMode.zip , or something else. ? It's a long thread.

And as always, I thank everybody on this forum. I would also be happy to find someone to either walk me thru this or have them do it for me all though doing it myself would be a novel experience. I just don't want to screw up a new piece of gear right away.

Thanks
 

Offline Sparky Faraday

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 55
  • Country: us
Re: Unlocking Siglent SDS1104X-E, step by step
« Reply #292 on: February 02, 2021, 05:29:29 am »
Everyone says the fan is noisy.

What fan is recommended to replace the stock fan or will a resistor do the job?
 

Online tautech

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 22098
  • Country: nz
  • Taupaki Technologies Ltd. NZ Siglent Distributor
    • Taupaki Technologies Ltd.
Re: Unlocking Siglent SDS1104X-E, step by step
« Reply #293 on: February 02, 2021, 06:20:26 am »
Everyone says the fan is noisy.

What fan is recommended to replace the stock fan or will a resistor do the job?
Noise is relative and it worries some and not others.

Replacing the fan with a similar spec Noctua won't noticeably reduce the noise which a customer reported to me today.
Wait until you receive the scope and then decide if it's an issue.
Avid Rabid Hobbyist
 

Offline cmd

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 2
  • Country: us
Re: Unlocking Siglent SDS1104X-E, step by step
« Reply #294 on: February 02, 2021, 06:44:33 am »
Everyone says the fan is noisy.

What fan is recommended to replace the stock fan or will a resistor do the job?
Noise is relative and it worries some and not others.

Replacing the fan with a similar spec Noctua won't noticeably reduce the noise which a customer reported to me today.
Wait until you receive the scope and then decide if it's an issue.

Dang, got this scope in yesterday, and I was literally gonna start looking at what size fan it uses because I have a handful of tiny noctua fans on hand! Guess I'll just skip it then.

Noise is certainly relative, and it's loud enough it bugs me — but my lab is quiet. It's slightly louder than my mini-fridge, which also bugs me, but less loud than my PC's fans at a moderate load on a warm day.

But I tend to not get bugged when I zone in working on something, so I imagine I'll get used to it pretty quickly.

I uploaded a short clip of it to YT here so you can kinda try and get a sense for the sound. I turn the power off at the end so you can hear the level of ambient noise in my room: https://youtu.be/uH3uQ4Qn9dI
 

Online tautech

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 22098
  • Country: nz
  • Taupaki Technologies Ltd. NZ Siglent Distributor
    • Taupaki Technologies Ltd.
Re: Unlocking Siglent SDS1104X-E, step by step
« Reply #295 on: February 02, 2021, 08:13:31 am »
Everyone says the fan is noisy.

What fan is recommended to replace the stock fan or will a resistor do the job?
Noise is relative and it worries some and not others.

Replacing the fan with a similar spec Noctua won't noticeably reduce the noise which a customer reported to me today.
Wait until you receive the scope and then decide if it's an issue.

Dang, got this scope in yesterday, and I was literally gonna start looking at what size fan it uses because I have a handful of tiny noctua fans on hand! Guess I'll just skip it then.

Noise is certainly relative, and it's loud enough it bugs me — but my lab is quiet. It's slightly louder than my mini-fridge, which also bugs me, but less loud than my PC's fans at a moderate load on a warm day.

But I tend to not get bugged when I zone in working on something, so I imagine I'll get used to it pretty quickly.

I uploaded a short clip of it to YT here so you can kinda try and get a sense for the sound. I turn the power off at the end so you can hear the level of ambient noise in my room: https://youtu.be/uH3uQ4Qn9dI
Welcome to the forum.

Sounds perfectly normal in the vid.
Part of an investigation I cut the metal grille away from the fan however it made no appreciable difference so with the info from a customer that fitted a stock equivalent Noctua fan I believe the only options left are to place a series resistor in the fan lead to slow the fan marginally to a noise level to your liking.

Would I do it.......no !
We already know these scopes have a Quick Cal feature that makes minor adjustments to maintain accuracy while the scope reaches full operation temp with the stock fan and when doing those adjustments it's been reported that minor periods off scope inactivity take place so to mess too much with the stock setup could have unexpected undesirable consequences.
Avid Rabid Hobbyist
 

Offline jamesraykenney

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 4
  • Country: us
Re: Unlocking Siglent SDS1104X-E, step by step
« Reply #296 on: February 02, 2021, 10:01:53 pm »
I saw the 1104X-E at amazon today for $449 and pulled the trigger.

https://www.amazon.com/Siglent-SDS1104X-oscilloscope-channels-standard/dp/B0771N1ZF9/ref=sr_1_4?dchild=1&keywords=siglent+sds1104x-u&qid=1612242815&sr=8-4

Delivery date is 2/6.
Last scope I will own. My analogue scope is a Hitachi 2ch 35mhz. Nice scope for audio but I want to have capture and be able to do some distortion analysis.

<snip>

And as always, I thank everybody on this forum. I would also be happy to find someone to either walk me thru this or have them do it for me all though doing it myself would be a novel experience. I just don't want to screw up a new piece of gear right away.

Thanks

Same here, except that I saw it yesterday, fought with myself until this morning, and pulled the cord... It says:  Arriving Thursday!!!


Partially off topic, but what type of bnc cable should I get to connect it to my signal generator? I already have at some 50ohm bnc terminators and some bnc 'T' adapters ordered, but just what specs do I need for the cable itself?
 

Offline MMARTINI

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 1
  • Country: us
Re: Unlocking Siglent SDS1104X-E, step by step
« Reply #297 on: February 04, 2021, 11:36:37 pm »
I tried the Python app to increase my SDS1104x-e bandwidth to 200M. The app produced 4 key codes which I then tried on SCPI with the MBCD command. Unfortunately none of the codes worked. I know this as after each try I used the MBCD? command to see if the code was accepted but each time it returned the original 100M key code.
I am not sure if my software version is the cause of this : Software Version: 6.1.35R2
Are there any guys out there that had the bandwidth upgraded with this software version?
 :phew:

I have the same firmware version as you. The MBCD command worked for me. The first time I tried the python script it didn't work. I am pretty sure I had one of the letters as a capital rather than lower case. I just copied the scope id from the SCPI and directly pasted it into python. Just make sure to delete the dashes. Are you are using the link from post #158?   
 

Offline Sparky Faraday

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 55
  • Country: us
Re: Unlocking Siglent SDS1104X-E, step by step
« Reply #298 on: February 07, 2021, 05:31:39 pm »
Fan is tolerable. Thanks
 

Offline Roman oh

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 27
  • Country: au
Re: Unlocking Siglent SDS1104X-E, step by step
« Reply #299 on: February 11, 2021, 09:44:31 am »
I got my SDS1104X-E the other day, got it upgraded to 200 MHz and unlocked all options with 15 minutes at the computer all as per the advice on this board ;D
Of course, reading the board in the first place from go to whoa took a bit longer ;D
 
Thank you to everyone who's contributed, for the step by step guide and overall very helpful info!  ^-^
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf