Author Topic: update the firmware on fluke 289  (Read 421 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline oktay50000

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 4
  • Country: us
update the firmware on fluke 289
« on: July 20, 2020, 02:50:12 am »
hi guys, i got a fluke 289 and firmware on it is 1.12, is there any way to update it without that fluke cable???
(dont wanna buy the cable for $70 and use it once)
i have all chip programer adaptors,is there any way to update the chip itself directly ???
 

Offline coromonadalix

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2849
  • Country: ca
Re: update the firmware on fluke 289
« Reply #1 on: July 20, 2020, 08:02:07 am »
The safest method is the usb cable ...   

You have some pcb clones on ebay for under 30$ ...
https://www.ebay.com/itm/USB-optoisolated-IR-adapter-for-Fluke-/182450421884
 

Or build on yourself ?  you have some tutos on the web ..
https://www.eevblog.com/forum/testgear/fluke-187-making-an-ir-cable/
« Last Edit: July 20, 2020, 08:11:13 am by coromonadalix »
 
The following users thanked this post: Trader

Offline oktay50000

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 4
  • Country: us
Re: update the firmware on fluke 289
« Reply #2 on: July 20, 2020, 05:47:11 pm »
Awesome,thanks mate
 

Offline Trader

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 45
  • Country: us
Re: update the firmware on fluke 289
« Reply #3 on: July 25, 2020, 07:45:02 pm »
I wonder what will be the difference between an older Fluke 289 with the firmware 1.16 and a new Fluke 289 with the firmware 1.41 (and maybe new future versions).

Is there any difference in the accuracy, precision, or anything related to the quality of measuring?
 

Offline coromonadalix

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2849
  • Country: ca
Re: update the firmware on fluke 289
« Reply #4 on: July 26, 2020, 01:58:52 pm »
You should ask fluke directly,  cant find any docs about this fw change vs boards revisions ??
 
The following users thanked this post: Trader

Offline Trader

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 45
  • Country: us
Re: update the firmware on fluke 289
« Reply #5 on: July 27, 2020, 10:34:58 pm »
"Accuracy, resolution and quality of measurement are identical, regardless of the firmware/hardware revisions."
 
The following users thanked this post: z2000


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf