Author Topic: Upgrading Mainboard in Lecroy DDA-3000 (aka WavePro 7300a?)  (Read 92645 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline smartboy123

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 8
  • Country: cn
Re: Upgrading Mainboard in Lecroy DDA-3000 (aka WavePro 7300a?)
« Reply #200 on: April 04, 2018, 11:04:02 am »

Where did you find the full version? Or just the trial provided by Touch Base (http://touch-base.com/download.asp)? I'm still looking for the full version driver for UR7HCTS2-USB.

Did you find the UR7HCTS2-USB driver? I can only download a trial version for my 6100A scope from touch-base website.
If you have, could you share with me?
 

Offline lukier

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 627
  • Country: gb
    • Homepage
Re: Upgrading Mainboard in Lecroy DDA-3000 (aka WavePro 7300a?)
« Reply #201 on: April 04, 2018, 01:01:45 pm »
Did you find the UR7HCTS2-USB driver? I can only download a trial version for my 6100A scope from touch-base website.
If you have, could you share with me?

I didn't, it is gone from the internet it seems. Semtech is a shitty company that I won't touch with a stick now.

I've removed this chip from the board and wired in an Adafruit AR1100 board with the USB-Touch controller that is TouchBase compatible, but for which Microchip provides the drivers for free.
 

Offline smartboy123

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 8
  • Country: cn
Re: Upgrading Mainboard in Lecroy DDA-3000 (aka WavePro 7300a?)
« Reply #202 on: April 05, 2018, 05:27:43 am »

I didn't, it is gone from the internet it seems. Semtech is a shitty company that I won't touch with a stick now.

I've removed this chip from the board and wired in an Adafruit AR1100 board with the USB-Touch controller that is TouchBase compatible, but for which Microchip provides the drivers for free.

Ok, I will follow you.
Thank you very much.
 

Offline darkstar49

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 256
Re: Upgrading Mainboard in Lecroy DDA-3000 (aka WavePro 7300a?)
« Reply #203 on: April 05, 2018, 06:03:28 pm »

Not too sure what your exact problem is with the touch driver... but some drivers (especially for older scopes) have disappeared from recent XStream packages...
Get your hands on some 6.x version and check...
 

Online wldshy

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 26
  • Country: cn
Re: Upgrading Mainboard in Lecroy DDA-3000 (aka WavePro 7300a?)
« Reply #204 on: April 10, 2018, 07:46:12 am »
Is there anyone have idea about this?


 

Offline DaJMasta

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1973
  • Country: us
    • medpants.com
Re: Upgrading Mainboard in Lecroy DDA-3000 (aka WavePro 7300a?)
« Reply #205 on: April 10, 2018, 07:54:31 am »
There are some text logs that are floating around in the folders of the OS, but if I had to guess, there is probably some issue with one of the gigabit ethernet transceivers that talk between the PCI interface card and the acquisition board.  At least on my 7200 (non A) they use HDMP-1636A chips, several on the PCI card, one on the acquisition board, and two each on every ADC module, one for talking to the other ADCs, one for going directly back to the PCI card.

I'd check the color coded differential cables going between as a start, but the text logs could maybe point you to which one was an issue.  Especially if it comes back with a reboot, it could be that some intermittent error just made it stop altogether for safety, instead of a dead chip or something.
 

Online wldshy

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 26
  • Country: cn
Re: Upgrading Mainboard in Lecroy DDA-3000 (aka WavePro 7300a?)
« Reply #206 on: April 10, 2018, 08:19:12 am »
I 'll check to see whether some useful info. mine is WP7300(also not A). Tks!
 

Offline DaJMasta

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1973
  • Country: us
    • medpants.com
Re: Upgrading Mainboard in Lecroy DDA-3000 (aka WavePro 7300a?)
« Reply #207 on: April 11, 2018, 06:30:47 am »
Still conjecture since I haven't seen that error, but looks like it could be PCI card interface related.  Maybe make sure the windows drivers think it's working, then maybe swap PCI slots if possible (don't remember if there's a spare).  If nothing there, the PCI bus control I think is done by an FPGA, but maybe you could check the power rails on the PCI card itself.

Still could be some other kind of interface issue, not sure if HardwareAccessPCI is actually referring to an issue regarding the card or it's just some kind of call that goes through it and could be other parts of the data transfer system.
 

Online wldshy

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 26
  • Country: cn
Re: Upgrading Mainboard in Lecroy DDA-3000 (aka WavePro 7300a?)
« Reply #208 on: April 29, 2018, 05:45:38 am »
Key point get!!!!!
sth wrong with main clock source.
It should be 10GHz but so many harmonic along with.
driver the clock splitter with RF signal generator. It works fine.
 

Offline DaJMasta

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1973
  • Country: us
    • medpants.com
Re: Upgrading Mainboard in Lecroy DDA-3000 (aka WavePro 7300a?)
« Reply #209 on: April 29, 2018, 06:07:14 am »
Well in that case, it's almost entirely on that board on a riser on the back of the instrument.  The 10MHz reference is on the underside, and the VCO in the big can on the left is controlled by a PLL in the same place.  Then, looking at the top of the board mounted normally with the BNCs of the input on the bottom, the signal just gets amplified a bunch of times - instead of a conventional doubler or multiplier circuit, it just keeps amplifying the signal's harmonics until they're big enough to be useable.  If you've got a thermal camera it could be real quick to find the problem part, but if you've got an SA that can see the 10GHz tone, you can probably just probe around and find it easy enough.  The signal goes left to right on the board, then down towards the front of the instrument to be split between the various timing outputs.


If you've got that thermal camera, this is what mine looked like when operating properly (from a WavePro 7200, probably the same board).
 

Online wldshy

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 26
  • Country: cn
Re: Upgrading Mainboard in Lecroy DDA-3000 (aka WavePro 7300a?)
« Reply #210 on: April 29, 2018, 04:58:08 pm »
My Board is quite different compare with yours. and its main clock generator is a more integrated modules.
A 100MHz Ocxo, a PLL with VCO, a 1:2 splitter and a 1:4 splitter.
finally the VCO is fault.
 

Offline DaJMasta

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1973
  • Country: us
    • medpants.com
Re: Upgrading Mainboard in Lecroy DDA-3000 (aka WavePro 7300a?)
« Reply #211 on: April 29, 2018, 07:24:10 pm »
Interesting, that may be how they got the tighter jitter specs on the 7X00A series instruments.
 

Offline Converter

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 180
  • Country: ua
Re: Upgrading Mainboard in Lecroy DDA-3000 (aka WavePro 7300a?)
« Reply #212 on: April 29, 2018, 09:49:26 pm »
I do not see this PCB having any differences in the subsequent units. Here is a photo of my 7300A, June 2008.
 

Offline Converter

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 180
  • Country: ua
Re: Upgrading Mainboard in Lecroy DDA-3000 (aka WavePro 7300a?)
« Reply #213 on: April 29, 2018, 10:09:12 pm »
It's really different, but in the SDA 6020 (WaveMaster category).
 

Online wldshy

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 26
  • Country: cn
Re: Upgrading Mainboard in Lecroy DDA-3000 (aka WavePro 7300a?)
« Reply #214 on: May 01, 2018, 05:04:59 am »


My ACQ Board
 

Offline Converter

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 180
  • Country: ua
Re: Upgrading Mainboard in Lecroy DDA-3000 (aka WavePro 7300a?)
« Reply #215 on: May 01, 2018, 04:36:55 pm »

My ACQ Board
I saw such a design in LeCroy DDA-5005. Probably LeCroy likes to experiment with the options for bundling their instruments.
 

Offline DaJMasta

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1973
  • Country: us
    • medpants.com
Re: Upgrading Mainboard in Lecroy DDA-3000 (aka WavePro 7300a?)
« Reply #216 on: May 02, 2018, 01:05:23 am »
Or maybe they're reconfiguring standard models for specific customers, interesting to see so many variants, though.  I guess they're also spread out over the years and at least 2-3 kinds of PC boards in the top by default, so there was a lot of swapping that just happened over time even when the model numbers were the same.
 

Offline nctnico

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 20134
  • Country: nl
    • NCT Developments
Re: Upgrading Mainboard in Lecroy DDA-3000 (aka WavePro 7300a?)
« Reply #217 on: May 02, 2018, 10:17:56 am »
My ACQ Board
Please use anti-static bags to put the board on! This is asking for problems!  :scared:
There are small lies, big lies and then there is what is on the screen of your oscilloscope.
 
The following users thanked this post: wldshy

Offline leon255

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 3
  • Country: by
Re: Upgrading Mainboard in Lecroy DDA-3000 (aka WavePro 7300a?)
« Reply #218 on: May 13, 2018, 12:03:34 pm »

Where did you find the full version? Or just the trial provided by Touch Base (http://touch-base.com/download.asp)? I'm still looking for the full version driver for UR7HCTS2-USB.

Did you find the UR7HCTS2-USB driver? I can only download a trial version for my 6100A scope from touch-base website.
If you have, could you share with me?

If you still need drivers for UR7HCTS2-USB use link http://global-files.net/7gbw5u folder "Tektronix\Semtec Touch Screen Calibrator" inside.
 

Offline lukier

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 627
  • Country: gb
    • Homepage
Re: Upgrading Mainboard in Lecroy DDA-3000 (aka WavePro 7300a?)
« Reply #219 on: May 13, 2018, 12:45:14 pm »
If you still need drivers for UR7HCTS2-USB use link http://global-files.net/7gbw5u folder "Tektronix\Semtec Touch Screen Calibrator" inside.

Thanks! Might be useful at some point. For now I removed the Semtec chip and wired in an Adafruit AR1100 board.
 

Online wldshy

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 26
  • Country: cn
Re: Upgrading Mainboard in Lecroy DDA-3000 (aka WavePro 7300a?)
« Reply #220 on: June 05, 2018, 02:49:55 pm »
Update Mother Board, and front panel LCD connection:
dispart a OLD Video card with DVI interface. mount a  HDMI connector(Also TDMS signaling but smaller outline) inside direction.




TMDS to DVP adapter with original SiI151.



glue at proper place.


and enjoy!



 

Online wldshy

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 26
  • Country: cn
Re: Upgrading Mainboard in Lecroy DDA-3000 (aka WavePro 7300a?)
« Reply #221 on: June 05, 2018, 02:54:23 pm »
EDID for NL8060BC26-17 in EEPROM

Code: [Select]
00000000h: 00 FF FF FF FF FF FF 00 51 F5 00 01 00 00 00 00 ; ..Q?.....
00000010h: 0F 0A 01 03 81 16 10 78 EF 0D C2 A0 57 47 98 27 ; ....?.x?聽WG?
00000020h: 12 48 4F 01 B0 00 01 01 01 01 01 01 01 01 01 01 ; .HO.?..........
00000030h: 01 01 01 01 01 01 A0 0F 20 00 31 58 42 20 28 80 ; ......? .1XB (€
00000040h: 74 08 F6 B8 00 00 00 1E 00 00 00 FD 00 32 41 18 ; t.龈.......?2A.
00000050h: 3C 07 01 01 01 01 01 01 01 01 01 01 01 01 01 01 ; <...............
00000060h: 01 01 01 01 01 01 01 01 01 01 01 01 01 01 01    ; ...............
 

Offline RussianE39

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 2
  • Country: ru
Re: Upgrading Mainboard in Lecroy DDA-3000 (aka WavePro 7300a?)
« Reply #222 on: June 21, 2018, 03:53:18 pm »
Anyone tried XStream 8.5.1.1 software on WP7xxx series ? I've succesfully installed it on mine scope and still havent found any issues with this version.
Considering MB upgrade - I've used Gigabyte GA-B75M-D3V + Arctic Cooling Freezer 11 LP cooler + two LP DDR3 memory sticks without issues (you can even install SATA CDROM to original location).

 

Offline ollopa

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 89
  • Country: 00
Re: Upgrading Mainboard in Lecroy DDA-3000 (aka WavePro 7300a?)
« Reply #223 on: June 21, 2018, 09:16:47 pm »
It's funny that you ask because I just attempted to install 8.5.1.1 on my WP7300A last night.  First problem: 8.5.1.1 requires Windows 7 SP1.  Second problem: the WP7KA motherboard is very poorly supported by Windows 7 and the device manager says it doesn't have enough free resources to start the drivers for the PCI acquisition card.  So I guess I have to upgrade my motherboard and then install Windows 7 before I can try 8.5.1.1.

For the sake of others who may want to try it, you can find the 32-bit build of 8.5.1.1 on the firmware download page for the WS10.
 

Offline RussianE39

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 2
  • Country: ru
Re: Upgrading Mainboard in Lecroy DDA-3000 (aka WavePro 7300a?)
« Reply #224 on: June 24, 2018, 01:34:35 am »
I'm using Win7 SP1 and non-Lecroy sourced Intel motherboard, so I had no troubles installing 8.5 XScale software. There is members, who already upgraded their scopes to more modern PC hardware and that's why I'm asking.
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf