Author Topic: Anyone has experience with JCD 8988 from banggood?  (Read 7494 times)

Offline tretecouTopic starter

Anyone has experience with JCD 8988 from banggood?
« on: February 02, 2021, 04:29:31 pm »
Hello there, I am an electronic newbie from Slovakia, that is searching for the cheapest possible, not explosive soldering station. I read many forums stating that 2in1 is bad, Chinese products mostly go brrrr, and also that old Hakko is reliable. Everything would be fine, but I don't have the budget for a Hakko nor anything relatable. I'm talking about spending 60€ and less on both iron and hot air station. I want to start repairing electronics at home, just a hobby, maybe fix a laptop here or there, get some money out of it eventually... I like repairing stuff, doesn't matter what. It isn't supposed to be professional use. I also wanted to try and snag a "broken" laptop (or more :D) off of eBay, since there's a lot for good prices at german ebay. So I would like to ask you guys a few questions.... Do you have experience with the jcd 8898 from banggood? Have you ever tried fixing broken electronics from ebay or any other site? Since I live in a country where not many ppl throw away pricey things, sometimes a few solid ones appear at the dumpster, not much, I can't really do that. Or do you recommend a better 2in1 station? Doesn't have to even be 2in1 just two pieces of equipment in the budget, that won't die after a few months. I am open to any kind of modding tutorials, to make my equipment safer.
Thanks in advance, link to the station below. Any answer appreciated ! :)

Edit: If this is in the wrong cathegory please notify me :D, and if anyone also knew a good way to get a lab bench power supply, would be amazing!

(https://www.banggood.com/JCD-8898-2-in-1-750W-Soldering-Station-Hot-Air-Gun-Heater-LCD-Digital-Display-Soldering-Iron-Welding-Rework-Station-for-Cell-phone-BGA-SMD-PCB-IC-Repair-p-1721250.html?cur_warehouse=CN&ID=523699&rmmds=search)