Author Topic: Upload a full MSO7000 LA buffer ?  (Read 1256 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline daveb1

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 4
  • Country: gb
Upload a full MSO7000 LA buffer ?
« on: December 25, 2018, 03:43:45 pm »
Hi,

Can any Rigol MSO7000 owner confirm if a full LA buffer can be uploaded via LAN (or saved to USB-disk) rather than just what's displayed on the screen ?

I've been caught out by the Siglent 2304X which, despite what the manual says, only allows the LA screen data to be saved to USB disk. It can't even be accessed via LXI. Totally useless!

Thanks
Dave
 

Offline TopLoser

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 1842
  • Country: gb
Re: Upload a full MSO7000 LA buffer ?
« Reply #1 on: December 26, 2018, 12:18:56 pm »
Well I've just tried it on a MSO5000 and the options for what to save and how to save it are very comprehensive

Data source: Memory or Screen
Format: BIN, CSV, WFM
Channel: 1, 2, 3, 4, D7-D0, D15-D8

Just tried a CSV to USB and it stored millions of points just fine, each point nicely timestamped as well.

MSO7000 should do it just the same...
 

Offline supercilious

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 41
  • Country: gb
Re: Upload a full MSO7000 LA buffer ?
« Reply #2 on: December 27, 2018, 02:12:23 am »
Can an MSO5000 owner please measure how long it takes to transfer 100M samples via SCPI over USB or LAN?

This would be a killer scope if the transfer speed was decent. Rigol scopes have huge memories compared to their competitors for the price, but in the past (1000Z and 2000 series) have had extremely slow transfer speeds.
 
The following users thanked this post: Fungus

Offline TopLoser

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 1842
  • Country: gb
Re: Upload a full MSO7000 LA buffer ?
« Reply #3 on: December 27, 2018, 10:02:16 am »
Tell me exactly what SCPI commands you want me to send and I'll do it.
 

Online Fungus

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 9728
  • Country: 00
Re: Upload a full MSO7000 LA buffer ?
« Reply #4 on: December 27, 2018, 11:01:52 am »
Tell me exactly what SCPI commands you want me to send and I'll do it.

Something like this:

:WAV:SOUR CHAN1
:WAV:MODE RAW
:WAV:FORM BYTE
:WAV:POINTS 104857600
:WAV:DATA?

You now have to receive a header and 100Mb of data at full speed (ie. don't be the bottleneck :popcorn:)

The header is in the form #XYYYYYYYYYY where X is the number of bytes in the header and Y is the number of bytes it will send (should be whatever you sent to ":WAV:POINTS")
 

Offline TopLoser

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 1842
  • Country: gb
Re: Upload a full MSO7000 LA buffer ?
« Reply #5 on: December 27, 2018, 01:27:27 pm »
This is what I log with PuTTY when I try that. Header seems to indicate less points than expected. I captured 200M points single shot before I did this.

Code: [Select]
*IDN?
RIGOL TECHNOLOGIES,MSO5074,MS5A204300303,00.01.01.02.03

:WAV:SOUR CHAN1
:WAV:MODE RAW
:WAV:FORM BYTE
:WAV:POINTS 104857600
:WAV:DATA?
 #9000001000>>=>==<<<==>>>=>>>=><=>===>>>??@??@@@@@?@B@@@AA@AAABABCCCCDDCCDDFFGFEGGGHGIIHHHHIIJIIJJKLLLMMLMMNOPOOPPQRRTSSTTUUWUXVWVXXYXXY[YZ\]]]^^_`_```abcccdeedfgfhggjhhjijkkjlnonnpqrqrqqtsssuvvwwywxwyzz||}|}~▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒}}~{{||{yyyyxxwwvvuttrsqpqppoponmnllkjjjijhihggfddeebcbbb``a```a`^^]]\[[ZZYZXXXXXWWUUTTSSRRQSQRQQPPPPONPMLLMLLMKKJKJJIJIGHGGGGFHFFGFFEEEDDFCECBCCCBCAA@BBAA@@@AA@@@@?@?@?>@??>>>?=>>>>>=>========<;======><<=========<>=?=?>?>>@?>?>?>>??>??B@@?AAA@AABCCBBCDDEDCCDEEDEEEFGGFFGGGGHIGJJKKJJNKLMMLMNOMNOPOPORRRSTSSTUUTUUVWXXXYYZ[[[Z\\\]]^___^^aaabbaaddddefggghhhhjjkmllllnloopopqrrrsssttuvwvy{z{{{z|}|~~

Same thing with that bloated Ultra Sigma nonsense:

Code: [Select]
-> *IDN?
<- (Return Count:56)
RIGOL TECHNOLOGIES,MSO5074,MS5A204300303,00.01.01.02.03
-> :WAV:SOUR CHAN1
-> :WAV:MODE RAW
-> :WAV:FORM BYTE
-> :WAV:POINTS 104857600
-> :WAV:DATA?
<- (Return Count:1012)
 #9000001000>>=>==<<<==>>>=>>>=><=>===>>>??@??@@@@@?@B@@@AA@AAABABCCCCDDCCDDFFGFEGGGHGIIHHHHIIJIIJJKLLLMMLMMNOPOOPPQRRTSSTTUUWUXVWVXXYXXY[YZ\]]]^^_`_```abcccdeedfgfhggjhhjijkkjlnonnpqrqrqqtsssuvvwwywxwyzz||}|}~~~‚‚ƒ„„„…†…†‡…‡ˆˆˆ‰Š‹ŒŒŒŽŽ‘‘‘“””“––––—™˜˜™™™šš›œ™œžžŸŸ¡ ¢¡¢£¢¢£¤¥£¦¦¥¤¦§¨§©©ªªª««ª­­­­®¯°¯¯°±°±±±°±±²³±²³³´µ¶¶¶·¶·¸¸¹¸¸¸¸¹¹¹»¸»º»»»º¼»¼¼½¼¾½¿¾¿¿¾½À¾¿¿¿¿ÀÀ¿¾Á¾ÀÀÀÀÁÂÁÂÂÂÂÁÂÂÃÃÂÂÃÂÂÄÂÁÄÃÄÃÃÃÃÂÂÂÄÁÂÂÂÂÁÂÂÂÂÂÃÂÁÂÂÀÀÁÁÁÂÂÁÀÀÁÀÀÀÀÁÁÁÁÁÀ¿ÀÀ¾¿¾¿¾¿¾¾½½½¾¼¼½½»»º»»»ºººº¸¹¸¸¶¸·¸¶¸¶·¶µ´´µµ³´´´³´³²°±±°®°¯­­¯®®­¬«««¬«ªª¨©¨§¨§¨¦¦¦¥¤£¤¢ ¡¡¡Ÿ  žžœ›™›œ›››šš™™š™—–—–•–”“’’“’‘‘Ž‹‹ŠŠ‹‰‰ˆˆ‡†‡……„„„„ƒ‚€}}~{{||{yyyyxxwwvvuttrsqpqppoponmnllkjjjijhihggfddeebcbbb``a```a`^^]]\[[ZZYZXXXXXWWUUTTSSRRQSQRQQPPPPONPMLLMLLMKKJKJJIJIGHGGGGFHFFGFFEEEDDFCECBCCCBCAA@BBAA@@@AA@@@@?@?@?>@??>>>?=>>>>>=>========<;======><<=========<>=?=?>?>>@?>?>?>>??>??B@@?AAA@AABCCBBCDDEDCCDEEDEEEFGGFFGGGGHIGJJKKJJNKLMMLMNOMNOPOPORRRSTSSTUUTUUVWXXXYYZ[[[Z\\\]]^___^^aaabbaaddddefggghhhhjjkmllllnloopopqrrrsssttuvwvy{z{{{z|}|~~~

« Last Edit: December 27, 2018, 01:49:52 pm by TopLoser »
 

Online Fungus

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 9728
  • Country: 00
Re: Upload a full MSO7000 LA buffer ?
« Reply #6 on: December 27, 2018, 02:55:13 pm »
What's the memory depth of the 'scope set to? Maybe it's less than 100Mb.


 

Offline TopLoser

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 1842
  • Country: gb
Re: Upload a full MSO7000 LA buffer ?
« Reply #7 on: December 27, 2018, 03:04:49 pm »
What's the memory depth of the 'scope set to? Maybe it's less than 100Mb.

As I said in my post, it's manually set to 200M and that's what it says on the screen.

I can't find any mention of WAV:POINTS in the manual, just WAV:START and WAV:STOP and there is a limit of 250,000 bytes per request. So I don't think what you posted is valid...
 

Online Fungus

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 9728
  • Country: 00
Re: Upload a full MSO7000 LA buffer ?
« Reply #8 on: December 27, 2018, 03:09:26 pm »
I can't find any mention of WAV:POINTS in the manual, just WAV:START and WAV:STOP and there is a limit of 250,000 bytes per request. So I don't think what you posted is valid...

I got that command sequence directly from the programming guide.

Here's what my copy says:



But there's no separate entry for ":WAV:POINTS", maybe you have to use START/STOP instead.

:WAV:SOUR CHAN1
:WAV:MODE RAW
:WAV:FORM BYTE
:WAV:START 0
:WAV:STOP 104857600
:WAV:DATA?
« Last Edit: December 27, 2018, 03:25:00 pm by Fungus »
 

Offline TopLoser

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 1842
  • Country: gb
Re: Upload a full MSO7000 LA buffer ?
« Reply #9 on: December 27, 2018, 03:30:34 pm »
Looks like Rigol never got round to finishing that bit of code off...

-> :WAV:POINTS 123456
-> :WAV:POINTS?
<- (Return Count:5)
1000

 

Offline TopLoser

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 1842
  • Country: gb
Re: Upload a full MSO7000 LA buffer ?
« Reply #10 on: December 27, 2018, 04:00:39 pm »
Ok...

Using START and STOP instead of POINTS

10,000,000 points takes less than 5 seconds and that includes the time PuTTY spends displaying it all. There's about a 1 second delay before any data starts to be returned, didn't see that with smaller data sets.

100,000,000 is out of range, can't do that in one chunk. Don't know what the actual upper limit is and I don't believe the manual now.

 
The following users thanked this post: supercilious

Offline daveb1

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 4
  • Country: gb
Re: Upload a full MSO7000 LA buffer ?
« Reply #11 on: December 27, 2018, 06:57:41 pm »
Guys,

Thanks for confirming this.

Dave
 

Offline Mechatrommer

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 8941
  • Country: my
  • reassessing directives...
Re: Upload a full MSO7000 LA buffer ?
« Reply #12 on: December 27, 2018, 08:22:23 pm »
Ok...

Using START and STOP instead of POINTS

10,000,000 points takes less than 5 seconds and that includes the time PuTTY spends displaying it all. There's about a 1 second delay before any data starts to be returned, didn't see that with smaller data sets.

100,000,000 is out of range, can't do that in one chunk. Don't know what the actual upper limit is and I don't believe the manual now.
if its the same as DS1000Z series, you'll need to fetch in sequence/loop. something like below...

Code: [Select]
#define BIG_DATA (100000000)
 #define CHUNK_SIZE (10000000)
byte data[100000000];
byte *buf = data;

:WAV:SOUR CHAN1
:WAV:MODE RAW
:WAV:FORM BYTE

for (int i = 0; i < BIG_DATA; i += CHUNK_SIZE, buf += CHUNK_SIZE) {
:WAV:START (i + 1)
:WAV:STOP (i + CHUNK_SIZE)
:WAV:DATA? // put in buf pointer
};

(note: make proper call to visa API) for DS1000Z series, stable value for CHUNK_SIZE is around 250000 bytes. asking 1000000 usually be denied (memory full error or something like that), if 5000/7000 series can send 1MB chunk in one call thats a good thing, ymmv.
if something can select, how cant it be intelligent? if something is intelligent, how cant it exist?
 

Offline TopLoser

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 1842
  • Country: gb
Re: Upload a full MSO7000 LA buffer ?
« Reply #13 on: December 27, 2018, 08:31:35 pm »
The limit of the buffer size is defined in the DS1000Z manual, 250,000 bytes.

It's not defined in the MSO5000 manual but I got 10,000,000 bytes in one chunk. maybe be able to get more but I didn't bother trying as that was large enough.
 

Offline quakeman

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 6
  • Country: de
Re: Upload a full MSO7000 LA buffer ?
« Reply #14 on: April 12, 2019, 09:19:29 am »
I can confirm that the transfer of an amount of large data > 10M Points need to be in chunks.

I am experimenting with transfering the whole stored memory from my new MSO5000 to my PC and stumbled upon this. Within the documentation there is no limit defined but with try&error i found out that around 13800000 Bytes is the maximum at which the scope sends the data. I discussed my problem at this thread:
https://www.eevblog.com/forum/testgear/mso5000-waveform-data-format-problem/

Now  after i changed the transfer to be in chunks with 10000000 Bytes it works as expected. And 20M Points are transferred in just a few seconds.

Ciao,
         Rainer
 
The following users thanked this post: thm_w, Fungus


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf