Author Topic: USB Oscilloscope Accuracy???  (Read 4599 times)

Offline rado_1Topic starter

• -_-
USB Oscilloscope Accuracy???
« on: January 26, 2015, 07:38:16 pm »
Hello Everybody!  :)
I Watch EEVblog channel on YouTube for some years now, but im new here i this forum. First excuse me for my English it is not my native language and 2nd: electronics is just my hobby, im not engineer or geek im just a noob!  :-[ Anyway this is my question:

I have a Chinese bu***it oscilloscope "Instrustar".... ( I know  :palm:, my budget was limited  :-// ) and for some time now i was wondering if this scope is accurate. I made a photo of the screen with the data from an Arduino on pin 4, this is the simple code i use:

Code: [Select]
void setup() {

pinMode(4, OUTPUT);

}

void loop() {
  digitalWrite(4, HIGH);   
  delay(100);             
  digitalWrite(4, LOW);   
  delay(100);   

}

and this is the data from the scope:

If someone of you have good oscilloscope and Arduino can u pls make the same test and send me the result to compare it, a least to know if this junk does the job for simple projects.  :palm: If not to trash it and to buy an RIGOL....  :phew:

Thx...  :)

-_- .... -_- .... -_-

Offline cncjerry

• Supporter
Re: USB Oscilloscope Accuracy???
« Reply #1 on: January 27, 2015, 02:12:26 am »
I happened to have an arduino uno sitting here and I was playing around with my old Tektronix TDS744a which has been upgraded to a TDS784A and thought, what the hell, here you go.  The low res BMP doesn't do the display justice.  I was also using an active probe, P6205, which I don't have a lot of time on but it maps at least by frequency to your scope.  The variance in voltages could easily be due to the USB port as I was using a mac.

Offline Dave

• Super Contributor
  • I like to measure things.
« Reply #2 on: January 27, 2015, 02:21:02 am »
What exactly is wrong with the graph in the first image? Looks fine to me.  :-//