Author Topic: VC8145 thread ... It's here, finally  (Read 102611 times)

Offline EEVblog

• Administrator
    • EEVblog
Re: VC8145 thread ... It's here, finally
« Reply #50 on: December 19, 2012, 05:09:52 am »
Guys, stop the slanging match now, or the thread gets locked.

Dave.

Offline Wytnucls

• Super Contributor
« Reply #51 on: December 19, 2012, 05:52:54 am »
I'm done. My apologies to Dave and others who are still reading this thread, but I had to get it off my chest.

Offline SeanB

• Super Contributor
« Reply #52 on: December 19, 2012, 03:34:30 pm »
I bought a UT81B this weekend ( second owner) and am pretty happy with it. Nice little addition to the toolbox, and has come in useful already. Yes, has drawbacks, but I am still learning how to use it and what it's capabilities are, but so far very nice and usable. Nice big display in meter mode is a nice plus for viewing, and I did use the hold mode in scope mode already as I ran out of hands and used a pinkie to press the hold while holding probes in the circuit in question.

Offline nctnico

• Super Contributor
    • NCT Developments
« Reply #53 on: December 19, 2012, 03:57:27 pm »
I'll try to take a stab at a review:

I think I already made clear in this thread what I want from a bench multimeter so I won't go into that again. The VC8145 offers many features besides just measuring volt, current and resistance. It can measure capacitors, frequency, RPM,  duty cycle, diodes and temperature. As an extra bonus it is also capable of generating a square wave with adjustable duty cycle. The frequency of the square wave is selectable from 16 frequencies between 0.5Hz and 5kHz.