Author Topic: VERY BASIC Agilent MSO-X 2024a Question  (Read 5758 times)

Offline jstarrTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
VERY BASIC Agilent MSO-X 2024a Question
« on: May 12, 2013, 11:59:43 pm »
I am a ham radio hobbyist and restore old radios and related audio and RF circuits mainly < 150 Mhz.  I have only used older analog scopes with plug-in modules like the Tek 7000 series and for the past 2 years a nice Rigol MSO model DS1102D.  As I am moving into microprocessor control
circuits on modern radios, I splurged and bought a Certiprime MSOX2024A.  I was very surprised to find that I cannot figure out how to set this scope up for one of my most basic needs, i.e., looking at 3 independent simple sine signals at very different frequencies, typically out of phase with each
other, at the same time.  I cannot for the life of me figure out how to set up individual triggers for each so I can have the scope in Run and see all three waveforms simultaneously.  I can set the scope to trigger on one channel at a time only while the other channel signals are a blur. The scope trigger control only allows one channel to be selected at any time.  Furthermore, on the very inexpensive Rigol MSO, I could easily set two different time base settings, e.g. 10ns and 50us for two channels, with different trigger for each channel and display both channels simultaneously.   How can such a sophisticated scope as the MSOX2024 not provide the same basic feature as the Rigol 1102?  I hope I am just not doing something right and  I feel incredibly stupid even after reading the manual.  Can some one offer me some basic advice please? 

thanks
j

Offline Hydrawerk

• Super Contributor
Re: VERY BASIC Agilent MSO-X 2024a Question
« Reply #1 on: May 13, 2013, 01:24:10 am »
Bad news. MSOX2024A has no alternate trigger. There is no way to watch 2 waveforms at different time base settings.  :--
Amazing machines. https://www.youtube.com/user/denha (It is not me...)

Offline c4757p

• Super Contributor