Author Topic: Was gonna get a ds1000z but......  (Read 9332 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline ahnuts72

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 214
  • Country: us
Was gonna get a ds1000z but......
« on: August 05, 2013, 10:27:07 pm »
 Ok as the title says was gonna get a rigol 1000z but since it would only take 4 or 5 weeks of saving to get one
thought i would have a look on ebay for a newer analog scope to go with my 474a with what i have saved now.

This is what i got I payed $350 for the scope has option 9 and 10 and i got the TM500 plugins and power module for right at $300.
The only thing I would like different  on the TM500 is to have an FG 504 instead of a 502.

One power supply has low output on the positive side and the function gen has a power prob.
So I thought it would be a good project to trouble shoot (just have to build an extender cable)and this was
the setup I used to drool over when I was a teenager and would go with my grandfather to get his radios repaired.


Should I have just bought the 1000z and forgot about yesteryear.



« Last Edit: August 14, 2013, 05:58:38 am by ahnuts72 »
.
 

Offline c4757p

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 7805
  • Country: us
  • adieu
Re: Was gonna get a ds1000z but......
« Reply #1 on: August 05, 2013, 10:41:49 pm »
Should I have just bought the 1000z and forgot about yesteryear.

Nah..... that's a pretty awesome scope. I'd consider it an upgrade from the Rigol. Yeah, storage would be nice to have, so keep your eye out for a cheap storage scope. I quite rarely find myself booting up the DSO these days, it's either an analog scope or a logic analyzer...

I think you might have paid a bit much for them, but not offensively much, and they are nice.
« Last Edit: August 05, 2013, 10:45:43 pm by c4757p »
No longer active here - try the IRC channel if you just can't be without me :)
 

Offline Electro Fan

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1959
Re: Was gonna get a ds1000z but......
« Reply #2 on: August 05, 2013, 10:58:11 pm »
$300 for a working 2467 - you did well
 

Offline c4757p

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 7805
  • Country: us
  • adieu
Re: Was gonna get a ds1000z but......
« Reply #3 on: August 06, 2013, 01:29:51 am »
Oh, it's a 2467, not 2465 as I thought. Perfectly reasonable price then. :-+
No longer active here - try the IRC channel if you just can't be without me :)
 

Online BravoV

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 6693
  • Country: 00
  • +++ ATH1
Re: Was gonna get a ds1000z but......
« Reply #4 on: August 06, 2013, 02:27:52 am »
$300 for a working 2467 - you did well
+1  and you got a great bargain there, that beast is the fastest portable analog scope on earth that ever made, congratulation !  :clap:  Damn, I envy you, that Microchannel CRT  is considered an exotic technology imo.

Grab this file here and suggesting to refresh the caps -> Tektronix 246X Oscilloscope Restoration Repair (PDF), hopefully this will help in the intermittent power problem.
« Last Edit: August 06, 2013, 02:54:06 am by BravoV »
 

Offline c4757p

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 7805
  • Country: us
  • adieu
Re: Was gonna get a ds1000z but......
« Reply #5 on: August 06, 2013, 02:31:47 am »
Want to trade for my 2445A? I'll even pay shipping! :-DD

Look at that beast of a CRT. I'd like to see any other analog scope show a 950ps pulse that brightly!
« Last Edit: August 06, 2013, 02:35:39 am by c4757p »
No longer active here - try the IRC channel if you just can't be without me :)
 

Offline TerminalJack505

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1306
  • Country: 00
Re: Was gonna get a ds1000z but......
« Reply #6 on: August 06, 2013, 02:46:47 am »
$300 for a working 2467 - you did well
+1  and you got a great bargain there, that beast is the fastest portable analog scope on earth that ever made, congratulation !  :clap:  Damn, I envy you, that Microchannel CRT  is considered an exotic technology imo.

Grab this file here and suggesting to refresh the caps -> Tektronix 246X Oscilloscope Restoration Repair (PDF), hopefully this will help in the intermittent power problem.

"Error 404 - Not Found" on that link, BravoV.

I've got a 2467.  I paid $500 for it 4 or 5 years ago and it doesn't have any of the options.  $300 sounds like a pretty good deal to me.
 

Online BravoV

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 6693
  • Country: 00
  • +++ ATH1
Re: Was gonna get a ds1000z but......
« Reply #7 on: August 06, 2013, 02:53:48 am »
Look at that beast of a CRT. I'd like to see any other analog scope show a 950ps pulse that brightly!
Yeah, this MCP crt equipped beast made my 400Mhz 2465B looks like a toy when showing a really high speed signal.  :'(

Imo, one of the best and affordable tool for enthusiast grade, for hunting down a repeatable spurious high freq oscillation.  :-+

Alan (w2aew) made a fine example where this right tool comes really handy.  :-+ Cheap digital scope simply can not beat the clarity on showing these kind of spurious oscillation signal.




"Error 404 - Not Found" on that link, BravoV.

I've got a 2467.  I paid $500 for it 4 or 5 years ago and it doesn't have any of the options.  $300 sounds like a pretty good deal to me.

Ops, sorry, the link -> http://www.condoraudio.com/wp-content/uploads/Projects/Tektronix-2465B-Oscilloscope-Restoration-Repair.pdf also corrected the link at my post.
« Last Edit: August 06, 2013, 03:05:11 am by BravoV »
 

Offline c4757p

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 7805
  • Country: us
  • adieu
Re: Was gonna get a ds1000z but......
« Reply #8 on: August 06, 2013, 02:59:55 am »
I find that I often have no intuition for what I'm looking at with a digital scope. If I know what to expect I can use it fine. If I'm tracking down a "what the hell is this" signal I'm just poking around in the electrical ether with a blunt stick. (I'm sure one of the recent ones that are more analog-like would work fine, but I can't afford one! :'() I have a usable 400 MHz scope (TDS-380), but it only gets used if I need 400 MHz or I need storage, because it sucks...
No longer active here - try the IRC channel if you just can't be without me :)
 

Offline ahnuts72

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 214
  • Country: us
Re: Was gonna get a ds1000z but......
« Reply #9 on: August 06, 2013, 04:06:58 am »
Grab this file here and suggesting to refresh the caps -> Tektronix 246X Oscilloscope Restoration Repair (PDF), hopefully this will help in the intermittent power problem.

The intermittent power problem is just with the FG 502 plugin. :-/O

According to the seller there are no errors when the scope is powered up one of those dont have the knowledge to test further deals
but you never know,thought i would take the chance.

But reading everything ive read a recap and a fresh battery for the calibration data and a heat sink on u800 hybrid is in order.
Maybe backup the cal data if i can. :-/O
« Last Edit: August 06, 2013, 04:19:05 am by ahnuts72 »
.
 

Online BravoV

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 6693
  • Country: 00
  • +++ ATH1
Re: Was gonna get a ds1000z but......
« Reply #10 on: August 06, 2013, 04:16:45 am »
But reading everything ive read a recap and a fresh battery for the calibration data and a heat sink on u800 hybrid is in order.
Maybe backup the cal data if i can.
Yep, imo backing the cal data is the highest priority in the to do list for that beast of yours.

Assuming it uses the same part as 2465B at the A5 digital board, just fyi, Digikey carries quite fresh stock of the pesky battery backed up ram used in that scope. Bought mine few months ago with date code 2012, while my original DS1225Y that came with the scope with date code 1989  :o and amazingly still working fine, although the cal data already backed up and copied to the fresh one.


Offline ahnuts72

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 214
  • Country: us
Re: Was gonna get a ds1000z but......
« Reply #11 on: August 06, 2013, 04:23:24 am »
I thought i read somewhere that earlier models had a external bat and later ones where built into the chip but I could be wrong.

I can muddle through with caps and resistors and stuff of the discrete nature but i have no clue when it comes to pulling data from a chip.

What would be the best way to save it if you dont mind explaining.
.
 

Online BravoV

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 6693
  • Country: 00
  • +++ ATH1
Re: Was gonna get a ds1000z but......
« Reply #12 on: August 06, 2013, 04:25:51 am »
I thought i read somewhere that earlier models had a external bat and later ones where built into the chip but I could be wrong.

I can muddle through with caps and resistors and stuff of the discrete nature but i have no clue when it comes to pulling data from a chip.

What would be the best way to save it if you dont mind explaining.

Rather than repeating, posted the detail on copying the data here -> https://www.eevblog.com/forum/testgear/tektronix-2465b-oscilloscope-teardown/msg266854/#msg266854 , hope this helps.

Offline ahnuts72

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 214
  • Country: us
Re: Was gonna get a ds1000z but......
« Reply #13 on: August 06, 2013, 04:29:26 am »
Thanks for the link definitely gonna give it a read.
.
 

Offline ahnuts72

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 214
  • Country: us
Re: Was gonna get a ds1000z but......
« Reply #14 on: August 09, 2013, 07:00:25 pm »
Ok received the tm506 with plugins and the frequency counter plugin they all look brand new not hardly
a scratch on them.
One ps-503a power supply only shows 2.5 max on positive output but fine on negative output just as
described.
But the only prob with the fg-502 is the power led doesn't work.

The ps-501-1 shows within 13mV of the setting using the dm-501a and 15mV of my radioshack 22-812.
The dc-504a shows 1.001 from the function generator and my radioshack meter shows 1.003.
The ps-503a shows within 3 mV of my radioshack meter.

« Last Edit: August 09, 2013, 07:21:00 pm by ahnuts72 »
.
 

Online BravoV

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 6693
  • Country: 00
  • +++ ATH1
Re: Was gonna get a ds1000z but......
« Reply #15 on: August 11, 2013, 06:26:11 am »
Post pictures of the big main analog A1 board, and the digital A5 board once you received that beast please.

Offline ahnuts72

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 214
  • Country: us
Re: Was gonna get a ds1000z but......
« Reply #16 on: August 11, 2013, 04:50:06 pm »
Ok should be here Tuesday

Sent from my Milestone X using Tapatalk 2
.
 

Offline ahnuts72

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 214
  • Country: us
Re: Was gonna get a ds1000z but......
« Reply #17 on: August 13, 2013, 10:35:43 pm »
Ok here it is!!!!!!

First one is measuring a 50Mhz oscillator i had.
.
 

Offline ahnuts72

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 214
  • Country: us
Re: Was gonna get a ds1000z but......
« Reply #18 on: August 13, 2013, 10:36:27 pm »
More
Forgot to mention it came with a front cover and operators manual too.
« Last Edit: August 13, 2013, 10:39:32 pm by ahnuts72 »
.
 

Offline echen1024

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1660
  • Country: us
  • 15 yo Future EE
Re: Was gonna get a ds1000z but......
« Reply #19 on: August 13, 2013, 10:42:28 pm »
That scope is absolutely beautiful.
I'm not saying we should kill all stupid people. I'm just saying that we should remove all product safety labels and let natural selection do its work.

https://www.youtube.com/user/echen1024
 

Offline ahnuts72

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 214
  • Country: us
Re: Was gonna get a ds1000z but......
« Reply #20 on: August 17, 2013, 12:35:07 am »
Thanks I'm glad I took the chance on it.

I was looking at a dso but I'm not messing with digital stuff.
Still trying to wrap my head around analog circuits so it got me to thinking
when I add up all that this scope can do the only thing I would prob use
on a digital scope is the singe shot capture.

Was gonna get a better power supply and a function generator and maybe
another dmm and saw the tm500 and got 3 power supplies a 11Mhz function generator
and 2 4.5 digit .05% multimeters for what i was gonna spend on just a power supply and function generator.

They aren't auto ranging but its i don't really have a problem pushing a couple buttons to change ranges.

They may be old but they work.(And I love the look of old tek gear every since I was a kid.)

« Last Edit: August 17, 2013, 12:39:28 am by ahnuts72 »
.
 

Offline c4757p

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 7805
  • Country: us
  • adieu
Re: Was gonna get a ds1000z but......
« Reply #21 on: August 17, 2013, 12:54:03 am »
I was looking at a dso but I'm not messing with digital stuff.
Still trying to wrap my head around analog circuits so it got me to thinking
when I add up all that this scope can do the only thing I would prob use
on a digital scope is the singe shot capture.

I find the combination of analog scope + logic analyzer to be easily good enough for almost everything. I do occasionally like to capture something like the startup behavior of a power supply, but I rarely boot up my DSO.

Also.... I want your scope! ^-^
« Last Edit: August 17, 2013, 12:57:49 am by c4757p »
No longer active here - try the IRC channel if you just can't be without me :)
 

Offline echen1024

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1660
  • Country: us
  • 15 yo Future EE
Re: Was gonna get a ds1000z but......
« Reply #22 on: August 17, 2013, 04:31:28 am »
Thanks I'm glad I took the chance on it.

I was looking at a dso but I'm not messing with digital stuff.
Still trying to wrap my head around analog circuits so it got me to thinking
when I add up all that this scope can do the only thing I would prob use
on a digital scope is the singe shot capture.

Was gonna get a better power supply and a function generator and maybe
another dmm and saw the tm500 and got 3 power supplies a 11Mhz function generator
and 2 4.5 digit .05% multimeters for what i was gonna spend on just a power supply and function generator.

They aren't auto ranging but its i don't really have a problem pushing a couple buttons to change ranges.

They may be old but they work.(And I love the look of old tek gear every since I was a kid.)
I got an old, broken Tek 2465 for my 9th birthday. My dad got it on ebay for $75 broken, and challenged me to fix it. Damn thing took me 3 months to get working. But, it sits alongside my Siglent DSO today, and its just so much nicer to use.
I'm not saying we should kill all stupid people. I'm just saying that we should remove all product safety labels and let natural selection do its work.

https://www.youtube.com/user/echen1024
 

Offline c4757p

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 7805
  • Country: us
  • adieu
Re: Was gonna get a ds1000z but......
« Reply #23 on: August 17, 2013, 04:34:30 am »
I got an old, broken Tek 2465 for my 9th birthday. My dad got it on ebay for $75 broken, and challenged me to fix it.

Challenged you to fix a 2465? Evil! >:D
No longer active here - try the IRC channel if you just can't be without me :)
 

Offline echen1024

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1660
  • Country: us
  • 15 yo Future EE
Re: Was gonna get a ds1000z but......
« Reply #24 on: August 17, 2013, 04:44:17 am »
I got an old, broken Tek 2465 for my 9th birthday. My dad got it on ebay for $75 broken, and challenged me to fix it.

Challenged you to fix a 2465? Evil! >:D

It was bad. I had to call in my Grandpa, and my dad's former professor.  |O
I'm not saying we should kill all stupid people. I'm just saying that we should remove all product safety labels and let natural selection do its work.

https://www.youtube.com/user/echen1024
 

Offline edavid

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2954
  • Country: us
Re: Was gonna get a ds1000z but......
« Reply #25 on: August 17, 2013, 04:54:59 am »
But reading everything ive read a recap and a fresh battery for the calibration data and a heat sink on u800 hybrid is in order.
Maybe backup the cal data if i can.
Yep, imo backing the cal data is the highest priority in the to do list for that beast of yours.

Assuming it uses the same part as 2465B at the A5 digital board, just fyi, Digikey carries quite fresh stock of the pesky battery backed up ram used in that scope. Bought mine few months ago with date code 2012, while my original DS1225Y that came with the scope with date code 1989  :o and amazingly still working fine, although the cal data already backed up and copied to the fresh one.

No.  The 2467 is the same generation as the 2465A.  Then there was a 2467B that was similar to the 2465B.

 

Offline ahnuts72

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 214
  • Country: us
Re: Was gonna get a ds1000z but......
« Reply #26 on: August 17, 2013, 11:15:23 pm »
I want to peel back the sticker on the ram module to see the date code but
I'm afraid the face will come off and leave some paper and adhesive on the chip.
I really don't want to go rubbing all over the chip.


Another question
What would be the best way to remove the chip to backup the cal data
I have solder braid not the best but i do have some and one of those spring
loaded vacuum pumps.
Would it be better to buy a de-soldering gun to remove it to lessen the chance
of damaging the chip and losing the cal data?
.
 

Offline echen1024

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1660
  • Country: us
  • 15 yo Future EE
Re: Was gonna get a ds1000z but......
« Reply #27 on: August 17, 2013, 11:49:36 pm »
I want to peel back the sticker on the ram module to see the date code but
I'm afraid the face will come off and leave some paper and adhesive on the chip.
I really don't want to go rubbing all over the chip.


Another question
What would be the best way to remove the chip to backup the cal data
I have solder braid not the best but i do have some and one of those spring
loaded vacuum pumps.
Would it be better to buy a de-soldering gun to remove it to lessen the chance
of damaging the chip and losing the cal data?

You might as well take solder jumper wires on the board, and hook those into an EEPROM programmer, and read the data. Thus, when you take it out, even if you damage it, you'll have a memory dump of everything inside, and can flash it onto your new memory chip.
I'm not saying we should kill all stupid people. I'm just saying that we should remove all product safety labels and let natural selection do its work.

https://www.youtube.com/user/echen1024
 

Offline ahnuts72

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 214
  • Country: us
Re: Was gonna get a ds1000z but......
« Reply #28 on: August 18, 2013, 12:02:51 am »
Thanks that thought crossed my mind but i haven't dealt
with programming or reading any type of ic before so wasn't sure
if I could do it in board or not.
.
 

Offline ahnuts72

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 214
  • Country: us
Re: Was gonna get a ds1000z but......
« Reply #29 on: August 24, 2013, 07:45:10 am »
Houston we have a problem!!!!!! :-BROKE

Was trying to probe a ramp generator I'm building and the scope just shut off and wont come back on

I wasnt probing anything at the time was looking at the schematic and went to use it and no display.

Pressed the power switch and nothing not even the fan is coming on.

Checked the fuse outside and both fuses inside all fine.

No smell or smoke nothing visually burnt,bulging or leaking.

It just turned itself off and wont come back on.

Tried probing the power connector to one of the options and no voltage at all.(well several mV but should be like +5,+15,-15)

.
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf