Yes
39 (37.9%)
No, it was a high-end meter that I could hold up proudly on EEVBLOG
14 (13.6%)
No, it was one of those "hardware store" meters
5 (4.9%)
No, it was a UT61E
1 (1%)
It was from Radio Shack (or local equivalent)
29 (28.2%)
Other
15 (14.6%)

Total Members Voted: 103

Author Topic: Was your first meter a "trashy" meter?  (Read 7221 times)

Offline Ian.M

• Super Contributor
Re: Was your first meter a "trashy" meter?
« Reply #25 on: March 23, 2023, 09:03:59 pm »
How about this one I inherited?

Actually I had two of them, and IIRC still have one. It was a truly crappy meter that heavily loaded any circuit you connected it to (25Ω/V !!!)  |O
The only difference between its 8V range and its 40mA current range was the terminals you were *supposed* to use, with both sets of terminals actually wired in parallel, so 8V burden voltage at FSD!  See https://www.radiomuseum.org/r/pifco_all_in_one_pocket_meter.html for details and specs.

When I started studying electronics formally, I treated myself to a 20KΩ/V analog multimeter from Radio Shack - this was in the days before shrouded test leads and CAT ratings.  It did have a fuse for its 300mA range, but the 10A range was totally unfused and there was no overload protection for its Ohms ranges so I rebuilt its divider resistor chain a few times due to mishaps with large charged capacitors.  :'(