Author Topic: What counter to buy? (newby question) HP 5386A or EIP 575  (Read 2056 times)

Offline Jan CatrysseTopic starter

• Contributor
What counter to buy? (newby question) HP 5386A or EIP 575
« on: August 17, 2019, 10:38:12 am »
Hello,

I was looking for a frequency counter to measure some 1.5Ghz stuff, but I'm new to this and I am quite clueless about the ins and outs of such test equipment.

I am looking at a HP 5386A or EIP 575 at roughly the same pricepoint.

Any advice if those units are worth while and what would be the better of the two? I don't know if I will ever need something more that 3GHz...

Regards

Offline Stray Electron

• Super Contributor
Re: What counter to buy? (newby question) HP 5386A or EIP 575
« Reply #1 on: August 17, 2019, 12:30:27 pm »
   If I were in your place the first thing that I would do would be to see what service manuals are available. Do either of the counters have any options installed?  EIP builds good solid counters, so does HP.  HP probably has the advantage that there's lot of them out there and there is large base of users that can supply help when you need it.  Dave did a tear down of the HP 5486 and it included some discussion of how to add the optional high stability time base https://www.eevblog.com/forum/testgear/hp-5386a-frequency-counter-teardown/

Online Grandchuck

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #2 on: August 17, 2019, 01:33:09 pm »
   If I were in your place the first thing that I would do would be to see what service manuals are available. Do either of the counters have any options installed?  EIP builds good solid counters, so does HP.  HP probably has the advantage that there's lot of them out there and there is large base of users that can supply help when you need it.  Dave did a tear down of the HP 5486 and it included some discussion of how to add the optional high stability time base https://www.eevblog.com/forum/testgear/hp-5386a-frequency-counter-teardown/