Author Topic: What frequency standard is sufficient?  (Read 11660 times)

Offline HousedadTopic starter

• Frequent Contributor
What frequency standard is sufficient?
« on: October 08, 2018, 01:15:33 am »
Tcxo, Ocxo, rubidium, GPS disciplined and all combinations thereof.

I can really see the use in having a frequency standard on the bench.  The problem for me is what level and cost is right for me?    I know it is whatever you are working on will dictate it, but I'd rather just buy what I need for future uses now. 

I'm studying now for ham, and am looking to start repairing various things for resale.  Older radios, test equipment, the odd repairable tv,   God knows what.  Calibrating test equipment is a good reason, too.

What is a good balance type standard that is good for the medium beginner and will still be useful a ways down the road and not break the bank?

At least I'm still older than my test equipment

Online Vgkid

• Super Contributor
Re: What frequency standard is sufficient?
« Reply #1 on: October 08, 2018, 01:25:12 am »
What is your budget? Do you have access to the sky(not living in a heavily crowded city) gps has many options...
If you own any North Hills Electronics gear, message me. L&N Fan

Offline tsman

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #2 on: October 08, 2018, 01:35:20 am »
What test equipment do you already have or plan to get? A frequency standard depends on what you're trying to do and what other equipment you have. If you're just starting out then getting good quality test equipment is far more important than a high precision frequency standard. You can always buy a frequency standard later and hook it up to the external reference inputs anyway. You may find that the built-in oscillators are good enough for what you need to do.

Offline retrolefty

• Super Contributor
  • measurement changes behavior
« Reply #3 on: October 08, 2018, 01:38:39 am »