Author Topic: Micsig TO1104 alternatives?  (Read 1551 times)

Offline runeaznTopic starter

Micsig TO1104 alternatives?
« on: November 23, 2017, 10:07:21 am »
Hello everyone a beginner here!

I wanted to buy myself an oscilloscope, I first considered the RIGOL DS1054Z, but after reading some good reviews on the MICSIG I thought it was pretty nice. Since I am from the newer generation I think I would easily get accustomed to the tablet design, which I favor.
however, tl;dr due to lack of communication I could not buy the TO1104.
So my requirements are:
-budget of $400-ish (if there is a  good reason I can stretch this to up to double, but it delays my Christmas present as I still need to work for it)

Some lesser requirements:
- Preference 4 channels but not necessary
-size, my workspace is limited
-Bus decoding can be useful for future

Most requirements I am not too sure about since I'm starting up this hobby for electronics. What I mainly want to use it for, is to apply knowledge I gain from University and also to do some electronic projects. Being inspired by Dave I am currently trying to build a nixie clock, luckily an oscilloscope is not really needed for this work, though it would be interesting to analyze transients.

I have the RIGOL DS1054Z in my mind, but I want to have a discussion on the pros and cons in order to know what I am getting. Also I think it's important to take other scopes into account, but with my limited knowledge about them it is difficult to see which I should consider.

Also, since this is a typical newbie question I hope I am not making a newbie mistake; since the to1104 is a recently new model, I do not think I there is/were similar situations.
[snip]
« Last Edit: November 23, 2017, 05:41:44 pm by runeazn »

Offline nctnico

• Super Contributor
    • NCT Developments
Re: Micsig TO1104 alternatives?
« Reply #1 on: November 23, 2017, 10:30:24 am »