Author Topic: What to pay attention to when buying multimeter probes?  (Read 2238 times)

Offline touchatoutTopic starter

• Contributor
What to pay attention to when buying multimeter probes?
« on: April 28, 2023, 07:13:27 pm »
Hi everyone,

The probes of my Fluke 70 multimeter (see attached picture) tend to be too thick for testing small components on laptop motherboards, SSD, and other devices. So, I am looking for thiner ones to test surface mounted components, mostly to diagnose/troubleshoot board.

As not having owned any other multimeter probes, I am a novice in this field and would appreciate hearing about knowledge and experience from others.

For a pair of Chinese probes, price seems ranging roughly from 2 € to 10 €.

In comparison the handfree ones from SensePeek (https://sensepeek.com/webshop-1) cost 29 €+VAT (model SP10) to 39 €+VAT (model SQ10).

Of course not the same kind of probes, and I assume having both handheld and handfree ones would be useful, or alternatively handheld ones together with holders like PMK's 3D Positioner arm (http://www.pmk.de/en/products/3d_positionierer) which also would have other possible usages.

From experience with other equipment and supplies (hot air station, soldering iron, electrical wire), for handheld probes I would pay attention to the following::
  • coating material of the power chord (silicon and not PVC). Some sellers even mention a double layer of silicon, which I assume offers more flexibility.
  • enough length: those that came with my Fluke 70 are 1.35 meter, which I find comfortable, but maybe shorter ones would be enough for board repair

What else?
Diameter and material of the core of the chord?

Test probes seems coming with extension needles. I assume that contrarily to the durable probes that I currently have, the needles from thin probes are to replace from time to time. So, should I pay attention to the possibility of replacing the needles?