Author Topic: Tektronix TDS520B Hack / Upgrade to TDS620B ?  (Read 5274 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline sorenkir

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 103
  • Country: fr
Tektronix TDS520B Hack / Upgrade to TDS620B ?
« on: November 30, 2014, 11:27:54 am »
Hello group,

I have seen interesting hack/upgrade data in the following thread :
https://www.eevblog.com/forum/testgear/tek-tds-3054b-vs-tds-744a/

I have a TDS520B, 2 channels 500MHZ 1GS/s. I think I could see if an "upgrade" to TDS620B (same BW and number of channels but better sampling rate) is possible.

Configuration resistors for TDS520B on acquisition board are (see photo):
BID0=R1061 missing, BID1=R1062 soldered, BID2=R1063 missing, BID3=R1064 soldered --> 1010

Configuration resistors on processor board are (see other photo):
ID0=R17 soldered, ID1=R15 missing, ID2=R13 missing, ID3=R12 soldered --> 0110
NVSIZE0=R9 soldered, NVSIZE1=R7 soldered --> 00

(signal names as per TDS520B Component Service Manual pdf p269 & 297)

I had no chance with finding board pictures for TDS620B on Google.
Does anyone by chance have this configuration resistors data or photos of acquisition board (bottom side) & processor board ?

Thanks,
Michel.
« Last Edit: November 30, 2014, 12:35:23 pm by sorenkir »
 

Offline nctnico

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 18036
  • Country: nl
    • NCT Developments
Re: Tektronix TDS520B Hack / Upgrade to TDS620B ?
« Reply #1 on: November 30, 2014, 12:12:57 pm »
These scopes are completely different so I strongly doubt such a hack is possible. The TDS600 series are realtime sampling oscilloscopes with very short memories.
There are small lies, big lies and then there is what is on the screen of your oscilloscope.
 

Offline sorenkir

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 103
  • Country: fr
Re: Tektronix TDS520B Hack / Upgrade to TDS620B ?
« Reply #2 on: November 30, 2014, 12:52:05 pm »
nctnico, I think you are right on the architecture point.

Anyway, TDS520B has 2 samplers operating each @ 500MS/s. Maybe there is a configuration that allows them to operate @ 1GS/s (that's what happens when a TDS744A, 4 samplers @ 500MS/s, "becomes" a TDS784A, 4 samplers @ 1GS/s, as some reported in the other thread) ?

Unfortunately, that config. does not seem to correspond to any model. So maybe a dead end  :-[.

Michel.
 

Offline sorenkir

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 103
  • Country: fr
Re: Tektronix TDS520B Hack / Upgrade ?
« Reply #3 on: December 03, 2014, 02:21:25 pm »
Hello,

I have seen on the photos of a TDS724A acquisition board that the configuration resistors are exactly the same as for my TDS520B (in this post:  TDS 724A saga, dead H2462H, many questions, please help !!! ) !

So the complete model definition probably includes the processor board configuration...

Does anyone have a close-up of the configuration resistors (R12 to R17 near U2000) of the processor board of a TDS 724A ?

Thanks in advance,
Michel.
 

Offline nctnico

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 18036
  • Country: nl
    • NCT Developments
Re: Tektronix TDS520B Hack / Upgrade to TDS620B ?
« Reply #4 on: December 03, 2014, 04:03:08 pm »
Attach a dip switch and try the combinations to see if the firmware in your oscilloscope supports other models.
There are small lies, big lies and then there is what is on the screen of your oscilloscope.
 

Offline sorenkir

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 103
  • Country: fr
Re: Tektronix TDS520B Hack / Upgrade to TDS724A failed
« Reply #5 on: December 13, 2014, 02:21:02 pm »
Hi,

I have tried to remove R12 on processor board which seems the only difference between a TDS520B configuration and a TDS724A (apart from colour display hardware which is not present in TDS520B). The acquisition board is the same with the same configuration resistors.
The scope booted with a banner indicating TDS724A. But the display had some parts blinking quickly.
Also, the acquisition and position control were inoperative. The limitation to two live channels remains. Plus a truncated nvram related message in the error log (WARNING: 600 remote nv memory ac...).

So, there must be something else (but I have tried !)...

Michel.
 

Offline tinhead

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1905
  • Country: 00
    • If you like my hacks, send me a donation
Re: Tektronix TDS520B Hack / Upgrade to TDS620B ?
« Reply #6 on: December 13, 2014, 11:31:01 pm »
the only diff between TDS520B and TDS724A are on processor board and in nvram (TDS5 enabled/disabled). So when you already playing, try the next model, TDS782A. Change the processor board first back to TDS520B and then acq board from 5 to 1, maybe the firmware will not check the nvram anymore.
I don't want to be human! I want to see gamma rays, I want to hear X-rays, and I want to smell dark matter ...
I want to reach out with something other than these prehensile paws and feel the solar wind of a supernova flowing over me.
 

Offline sorenkir

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 103
  • Country: fr
Re: Tektronix TDS520B Hack / Upgrade to TDSxxx
« Reply #7 on: December 20, 2014, 04:25:49 pm »
Hello,

I have tried what tinhead suggested : processor board as TDS520B and acquisition board as TDS782A (by adding a strap on R1063 --> acq id=1).
I managed to have a TDS xxx on the banner screen !
This model is capable of 2GS/s with only one channel active (whereas TDS520B goes only to 1GS/s). That's what I was expecting.
But :
The two DACs do not interleave properly at 2GS/s, see photo. Calibration is required...
A side effect of this configuration is that the TDS xxx is not recognized by the WaveStar software  :(.
I don't think that a 2 channels monochrome model with 2GS/s acquisition capabilty exists, so I fear that no solution exists for this issue.

Michel.
« Last Edit: December 20, 2014, 04:27:44 pm by sorenkir »
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf