Author Topic: Why do we want fast continuity detection in a multimeter?  (Read 5223 times)

Offline HogwildTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
Why do we want fast continuity detection in a multimeter?
« on: June 04, 2023, 05:14:41 am »
Hi everyone:

Let's assume I'm a complete newbie, with next to no understanding of electronics and only basic knowledge of how to use a multimeter.

In many of the Dave's reviews, we watch him check the continuity test function of a meter by shorting the two leads and listening for how quickly the meter beeps. Faster is better, apparently.

Please help the newbie understand, why do we want faster speed doing this? Will a fraction of a second make a difference? If a meter responds slowly, is that a sign of other issues which might occur, or just poor build quality? Since continuity is the inverse of resistance, I wonder if it's a sign the meter will be innacurate with resistance tests.

I ask because I just got a Zotek ZT-Y. It seems to match the other meter I use so far for measurements, but doing that continuity test, it's definitely quite a bit slower.

« Last Edit: June 04, 2023, 05:17:41 am by Hogwild »

Online ataradov

• Super Contributor
    • Personal site
Re: Why do we want fast continuity detection in a multimeter?
« Reply #1 on: June 04, 2023, 05:25:00 am »
It is not about being faster, it is about latching the first continuity reading and producing a sound for a bit even if there is no longer continuity there. This eliminates the scratchy sound because of contact bounce.

A good meter should be imperceptibly fast, if it is slow enough to be noticeable, then it will annoy you all the time. And you will potentially be missing continuity when doing a lot of measurements (like tracing a board or a cable harness).
Alex

The following users thanked this post: jusaca

• Regular Contributor
« Reply #2 on: June 04, 2023, 05:29:34 am »
Hmm..yeah, that's sort of what I figured.