Author Topic: Why is a decent benchtop DMM more expensive than a scope?  (Read 34186 times)

Offline Bassman59

• Super Contributor
  • Yes, I do this for a living
Re: Why is a decent benchtop DMM more expensive than a scope?
« Reply #100 on: September 08, 2021, 03:51:45 pm »
Seems like Fluke does offer many other meters.

Oh, sure, they make lots of meters... but nothing that's cheaper than the 87V would work on an EE workbench. They're all missing some essential feature or other (usually uA or TRMS).

Then if you need the features offered only by the 87V, then you pay for the 87V. If the other, less expensive meters meet your needs, you buy a different meter.

In other words, the 87V costs more because it has all of the features. Other meters cost less because they have fewer features.

I don't see the problem.

The following users thanked this post: tooki

Online Fungus

• Super Contributor
« Reply #101 on: September 08, 2021, 04:30:46 pm »
I don't see the problem.

It's not the logic of the lineup, it's the stagnation of it.

The following users thanked this post: Markus2801A

Online Fungus

• Super Contributor
« Reply #102 on: September 08, 2021, 04:41:06 pm »
It is so silly that the same people keep making the same tired arguments against Fluke pricing. If you’re price sensitive, then don’t buy one. You’re not their target market.

I'm not their target market but it's not because of price, it's because they don't offer much bang per buck compared to other meters.

Why would I buy a Fluke 87V when I can buy two or three equivalent/better meters for the same money? (eg. a BM857s)

Online bdunham7

• Super Contributor
« Reply #103 on: September 08, 2021, 06:02:24 pm »
(Also: I've heard of Brymen and I can get two or three BM857s for the price of an 87V)