EEVblog Electronics Community Forum

Products => Test Equipment => Topic started by: ADJohnson on January 28, 2020, 08:08:51 pm

Title: Wifi on Siglent SDS1104X-E; SSID still an issue?
Post by: ADJohnson on January 28, 2020, 08:08:51 pm
I couldn't find an answer to this particular question and it might be a bit too specific to get one but here goes....

I know I need to use a TL-WN725N dongle for wi-fi - I'm not aware of any others that work, certainly the existing dongle I have doesn't - but on Siglent NA there is this article:

https://www.siglenteu.com/operating-tip/wifi-performance-is-slow-or-does-not-connect-well-to-my-network/ (https://www.siglenteu.com/operating-tip/wifi-performance-is-slow-or-does-not-connect-well-to-my-network/)

It is for the SDS2000X-E rather than my scope but the implication is that it is the wi-fi dongle that doesn't work well with high performance routers like Orbi RBR50.  Guess what router I have?!  The option it suggests is an IOGear GWU637 but the specs on that say it isn't suitable for a mesh network.  In any case, it's a bit expensive really.

Has anyone tried the TL-WN725N dongle on a mesh network on this model scope/SDS1000X-E series and can confirm it works?

Thanks

Andrew
Title: Re: Wifi on Siglent SDS1104X-E
Post by: tinhead on January 29, 2020, 03:21:07 pm
mesh is not equal mesh, can't tell you about others, but it does works on Ubiquiti Unifi mesh.
Title: Re: Wifi on Siglent SDS1104X-E
Post by: ADJohnson on January 29, 2020, 07:22:33 pm
Thanks - well at least that's some potential.  It's only a fiver, so if it doesn't work it's not a big loss.  When I get hold of one I'll update this message but in the meantime if anyone else has any experience I'd be interested to know.
Title: Re: Wifi on Siglent SDS1104X-E; SSID still an issue?
Post by: ADJohnson on January 31, 2020, 04:25:23 pm
With the adapter plugged in, a scan for networks lists those available but I can't connect to the one I need.  The SSID has a space in it which I believe is a known issue?  I can't change the SSID just for the scope as everything else in the house would stop working.  So the answer to my original question is I suspect it will work, just that it can't work with my configuration at the moment.  Well, it was only £5 and maybe they will fix the problem in the future.
Title: Re: Wifi on Siglent SDS1104X-E; SSID still an issue?
Post by: B-17 on March 06, 2020, 07:49:21 pm
I've gotten my scope to connect to my LAN using a VONETS WiFi bridge - but when I go to set the password it appears there was already one set. My SSID has many spaces in it, so I don't believe that's an issue with the WiFi bridge configuration.
Does anyone have the default password for the scope?
Title: Re: Wifi on Siglent SDS1104X-E; SSID still an issue?
Post by: tautech on March 06, 2020, 09:34:17 pm
I've gotten my scope to connect to my LAN using a VONETS WiFi bridge - but when I go to set the password it appears there was already one set. My SSID has many spaces in it, so I don't believe that's an issue with the WiFi bridge configuration.
Does anyone have the default password for the scope?
AFAIK there is no such password.

Within the WiFi menus you should be able to enter another PW and Save over the existing one.
Otherwise within the Save/Recall menu there is a Secure Erase feature to erase all saved waveforms and user settings.