Author Topic: Digilent Digital Discovery Logic Analyzer  (Read 8161 times)

Offline HousedadTopic starter

• Frequent Contributor
Digilent Digital Discovery Logic Analyzer
« on: April 02, 2017, 11:49:40 pm »
This Thread is about the New Digilent Digital Discovery Logic analyzer.  The product announcement was on March 17th.  I have one on order and it will be in on Thursday, so I'm jumping the gun by a few days.  Hopefully we can set up what to do to review it in that time.  Since this is one of the first 100 purchases, they are including the High speed adapter and wires, so it will be complete with all options.

I figure this can be a review/learning experience.  I have limited knowledge in modern electronics and zero experience with a logic analyzer,  and will be seeking input from the group about finding out what this thing can and cannot do.  So, if anyone is interested, I can make some simple circuits and put it to the test.  i have just put my electronics bench together, so there is some, but not a lot to work with.  i don't mind buying parts to make test circuits.

With all that in mind, here is the webpage at Digilent.:

http://store.digilentinc.com/digital-discovery-portable-logic-analyzer-and-digital-pattern-generator/

As far as what is available that I can find on their site, the doc look pretty slim.  It initially seems to be marketed not to the beginner, like the Analog discovery, but to those with  working knowledge of using a analyzer.  Even with what they have, I am already lost on part of it.  Maybe we can find a procedure to follow to test it all out.

Features:

9.1. Logic Analyzer

24 high-speed input channels (DIN0…23), accessible through one 2×16 connector, used with the Logic Analyzer in Waveforms (560k?||10pF)
    16 digital I/Os (DIO24…39) arranged in two Pmod-style (2×6) connectors, used with the Logic Analyzer in Waveforms 1)