Author Topic: Your experience/opinion: Adding Bluetooth to handheld meters  (Read 5231 times)

Offline shakalnokturnTopic starter

• Super Contributor
Your experience/opinion: Adding Bluetooth to handheld meters
« on: January 17, 2019, 11:34:52 am »
I have a stack of handheld meters, LCR, DMM, current clamps, most of which support a serial link, some already have the I.R. hardware, on others it is optional or needs breaking out of the I.C.
If I must go to the bother of modding the hardware as in some cases the I.R. addon module is unobtainium, it seems to make more sense to use Bluetooth than I.R. these days.

I have no experience whatsoever with the cheap BT modules available. In fact I don't have much experience with BT at all...
Would they require joining a small dedicated microcontroller for initial setup in the DMM or can that be done once before embedding and stored non-volatile in the BT module? What are the constraints linked to pairing?

On the PC logging side is there any open-source software that would handle most meters or is it a case of using the specific data logging software each time?

Who has done it before? I've seen a couple of Flukes around here with added BT not sure of all that was involved though.

Offline DDunfield

• Regular Contributor
Re: Your experience/opinion: Adding Bluetooth to handheld meters
« Reply #1 on: January 17, 2019, 02:10:21 pm »
I've fooled around with the cheap HC-05 (master or slave) and HC-06 (slave only) modules you can get from Ebay a bit.

You will need to communicate with it initially (AT commands) to set it up (baudrate and other options) and pair it.
On some of the modules you need to pull a pin either high or low to get it into AT mode.

Once set up, it should "just work". I am able to connect to them from windows (BT COM port) and also from a "Bluetooth terminal" application on Android. You can also use an HC-05 module to connect to another HC-05 or HC-06 module.