Author Topic: Cannot decide between InfiRay T2L and P2  (Read 6139 times)

Offline chrossTopic starter

Cannot decide between InfiRay T2L and P2
« on: October 02, 2021, 08:54:24 am »
Hi!
I want to buy a thermal imager for various things. Does not need to be the most precise measurement. It is more of a fun thing for me, but I also want to do some basic stuff like finding thermal leakages of my houses insulation or of some badly insulated pipes etc.
A have narrowed it down to the T2L and P2, now I need the last bit of information to finally decide.

The T2L has a FOV of 33,4 while the P2 has a FOV of 56. 56 is more like human vision in terms of how large the area is that can be imaged. The T2L has manual focus which is quite useful, I presume, if I want good quality images. I am also a hobby photographer and can see some (artistic) uses for this kind of imaging.

Could someone make a photo of a face (or face sized object) that is frame filling and tell me (for each camera) how far he is away from that face/object?

Offline Ultrapurple

• Super Contributor
  • Just zis guy, you know?
    • Therm-App Users on Flickr
Re: Cannot decide between InfiRay T2L and P2
« Reply #1 on: October 02, 2021, 12:00:21 pm »
I don't have either of those cameras but I do approach my thermal imaging from the photography front.

If the resolution is the same, I'd definitely recommend going for the narrower FoV and manual focus. That gives you the greatest flexibility.

There's considerable discussion on the merits of different approaches (and a lot of representative images) in the two gallery threads:

Gallery I

Gallery II

The second gallery was started because the first one broke due to some arcane forum limitation.
Rubber bands bridge the gap between WD40 and duct tape.

Offline Ultrapurple

• Super Contributor
  • Just zis guy, you know?
    • Therm-App Users on Flickr
« Reply #2 on: October 02, 2021, 12:14:25 pm »