Author Topic: Control software for Raytheon cores?  (Read 1143 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline LoganTopic starter

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 345
  • Country: us
Control software for Raytheon cores?
« on: May 22, 2023, 03:08:09 am »
Hi friends.
Anyone have control software (GUI or command list) for Raytheon BST and ASi cores?
Also, does the analog BST (300A) cameras support serial communication?
Thanks!
« Last Edit: May 22, 2023, 03:12:38 am by Logan »
 

Offline Bill W

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1102
  • Country: gb
    • Fire TICS
Re: Control software for Raytheon cores?
« Reply #1 on: May 22, 2023, 08:40:56 am »
BST core control software was found and posted on the forum.

I have put a copy on my website
http://www.fire-tics.co.uk/project3/index.htm

ASI 'customer' did very little, just a start screen I think.  I do not think the ASi 'factory' ever got out.

Bill
 
The following users thanked this post: Logan

Offline LoganTopic starter

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 345
  • Country: us
Re: Control software for Raytheon cores?
« Reply #2 on: May 22, 2023, 01:29:55 pm »
Thanks Bill.
But I think your link is for digital (300D) BST only, what about analog versions?
Also I've seen some feature-rich controller for ASi screen shots here: https://www.eevblog.com/forum/thermal-imaging/raytheon-l-3-thermal-eye-x-series-repair-new-patient-for-fraser-x50/
Is that considered as "controlled release" or something?
 

Offline Bill W

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1102
  • Country: gb
    • Fire TICS
Re: Control software for Raytheon cores?
« Reply #3 on: May 22, 2023, 05:01:03 pm »
I am not aware of anything for the 'analog' BST cores.  I do not recall any control being advertised on the main 80-way but would need to check further - and cannot at present.
I think calibration access was via the PCB finger edge connector.

The GUI you have found is for later ASi series, 3500/3600/4500.  My comment referred to the earlier 2000AS core

Bill



 
The following users thanked this post: Logan

Offline LoganTopic starter

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 345
  • Country: us
Re: Control software for Raytheon cores?
« Reply #4 on: May 26, 2023, 05:11:30 am »
Hi Bill.
Just another question... Can we increase the gain on analog BST cores? I remember read in the forum that there's a "pot" to adjust, how can I do it?
Thanks.
 

Offline Bill W

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1102
  • Country: gb
    • Fire TICS
Re: Control software for Raytheon cores?
« Reply #5 on: May 26, 2023, 10:15:34 am »
Yes, analogue BST has voltage controlled gain and offset.  the same method was provided on 'digital' BST cores as a backward compatibility.

It is explained from an Argus3 viewpoint in the posts from here:
https://www.eevblog.com/forum/thermal-imaging/argus-3-(bst)-teardown-and-repairs/msg3556147/#msg3556147

So far I have not done the Argus2 version which would show how the manual controls are connected to the 80 way connector. 
« Last Edit: May 26, 2023, 10:26:55 am by Bill W »
 
The following users thanked this post: Logan

Offline Bill W

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1102
  • Country: gb
    • Fire TICS
Re: Control software for Raytheon cores?
« Reply #6 on: May 26, 2023, 10:34:46 am »
So far I have not done the Argus2 version which would show how the manual controls are connected to the 80 way connector.

However I have some of the files ready, so this should help.

It is the circuit on the Argus2 detector PCB (itself a part clone of the Raytheon one)  showing the interfaces to the BST 80 way connector.

The links are to choose between using external analog, direct pot and automatic for the gain/level control.  Note the BST supplies '+5VCONT' for use on the controls.
 
The following users thanked this post: Logan

Offline LoganTopic starter

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 345
  • Country: us
Re: Control software for Raytheon cores?
« Reply #7 on: May 26, 2023, 12:13:08 pm »
The links are to choose between using external analog, direct pot and automatic for the gain/level control.
So we cannot just increase the max gain in auto mode? When use manual pots, the core will be in full manual mode?
« Last Edit: May 26, 2023, 12:56:23 pm by Logan »
 

Offline Bill W

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1102
  • Country: gb
    • Fire TICS
Re: Control software for Raytheon cores?
« Reply #8 on: May 26, 2023, 02:00:11 pm »
So we cannot just increase the max gain in auto mode? When use manual pots, the core will be in full manual mode?

Correct - for the analogue BST.
ENOS, ENGN enable the 'external' / manual control of offset and gain.
The links on ENDC and GNDC are Argus functions between real pots and a digital potentiometer IC controlled by the Argus micro (off sheet)

The DC inputs were simply a way to get a gain and offset vlaue of 0 - 255 in the core.
0V (0) is zero gain - grey screen
0V (0) is zero offset (black) and 5V (255) is full offset (white)
[I think - might be the other way round]

The digital BST also had a further multiplier factor you could change with the software
 
The following users thanked this post: Logan

Offline LoganTopic starter

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 345
  • Country: us
Re: Control software for Raytheon cores?
« Reply #9 on: May 26, 2023, 02:14:07 pm »
Clear explanation.
Thanks a lot Bill!
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf