Poll

Has the hackabiliy of the E4 made you buy one :  

Yes, I was already looking at the competition at a similar price, but the hack swung it to E4
254 (26.9%)
Yes, I'd not considered buying a TIC before, but 320x240 resolution at this price justifies it (as either tool or toy!)
436 (46.1%)
Yes, I was going to buy an E5/6/8 class of unit but will now get the E4
46 (4.9%)
No, but am looking out for a cheap i3 to hack
47 (5%)
Not yet, but probably will if now that a closed-box hack becomes is possible
162 (17.1%)

Total Members Voted: 779

Author Topic: Flir E4 Thermal imaging camera teardown  (Read 2940347 times)

InvisibleMan and 5 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline CzokNorris

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 12
Re: Flir E4 Thermal imaging camera teardown
« Reply #1400 on: November 15, 2013, 03:14:52 am »
Hi Mike,
may I ask, how much you paid for the Audi automotive cam?
Thanks, Thomas
 

Offline olsenn

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 993
Re: Flir E4 Thermal imaging camera teardown
« Reply #1401 on: November 15, 2013, 03:20:00 am »
Honestly, how noticeable of a difference is there between 9Hz and 60Hz? I mean does 9Hz refresh rate really look all that choppy?
 

Offline firewire

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 7
  • Country: us
Re: Flir E4 Thermal imaging camera teardown
« Reply #1402 on: November 15, 2013, 03:26:11 am »
Honestly, how noticeable of a difference is there between 9Hz and 60Hz? I mean does 9Hz refresh rate really look all that choppy?

I think 30 frames per second is normal video, so there should be a significant difference.
 

Online mrflibble

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2025
  • Country: nl
Re: Flir E4 Thermal imaging camera teardown
« Reply #1403 on: November 15, 2013, 03:31:23 am »
With these mods can you guys find a way to toggle the annoying calibration popup on and off?

I don't want to be streaming video to my computer and have that damn thing continue to popup. When I shoot video I don't care if it's always fully calibrated.

Heh, that was one of the first things I fixed. Damn annoying to have it perform a nuc (calibration) juuuust when you're doing a measurement.

Code: [Select]
# turn off auto-nuc
rset .tcomp.services.autoNuc.active false

# turn on auto-nuc
rset .tcomp.services.autoNuc.active true

# trigger nuc
rset .image.services.nuc.commit true

The idea is to turn off auto-nuc, and then trigger a nuc when you think it's useful. I.e between measurements. Or not at all.  ;D

Happy uninterrupted video streaming!
 

Offline Psi

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 7829
  • Country: nz
Re: Flir E4 Thermal imaging camera teardown
« Reply #1404 on: November 15, 2013, 03:42:27 am »
Yes 9 fps is quite noticeable and laggy when viewing anything moving fast.
Video isn't fluid until you get to around 18 fps
It really isn't a problem for a consumer thermal camera as 90% of the time your looking at something static anyway.
High FPS thermal video is used for weapon, like heat seeking missiles and target surveillance, which is why they have the export restrictions on high FPS TICs.

The difference between 25fps and 48fps is also quite noticeable. If you saw The Hobbit movie, that was screened at 48FPS in most areas.
People have described the 48-60FPS range as very "soap opera" like and have argued both for and against it.
(IMHO people who say 48/60FPS looks bad are just having the typical reaction of... "it's not what i'm used to so it looks wrong")
« Last Edit: November 15, 2013, 03:54:26 am by Psi »
Greek letter 'Psi' (not Pounds per Square Inch)
 

Offline okent

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 14
Re: Flir E4 Thermal imaging camera teardown
« Reply #1405 on: November 15, 2013, 04:14:34 am »
9fps is like claymation film compared to 30fps.  To me going from 30fps to 60fps is a non-issue.
The huge benefit of 30fps and up is panning across a room or outside wall without having to stop to get the true detail of a spot.
Its a time saver and makes it a more useful tool.(not just for missles) 8)
 

Offline zapta

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 6004
  • Country: us
Re: Flir E4 Thermal imaging camera teardown
« Reply #1406 on: November 15, 2013, 04:37:42 am »
For Canadians, Draft Print 3D was able to print and ship this piece for me in ABS for $12.00 + Tax
http://www.draftprint3d.com/ (In Toronto, shipped to Vancouver)

# Scratch that, apparently they misquoted and need to add freight. 12$ part cost only
Ended up being 13.56! Fair deal!

I am trying to order from here http://i.materialise.com/3dprintlab/instance/5c484212-4460-4c82-bfdf-b189a518ddbc  and it asks me if the design is in inches or mm. What is the right answer?

Edit: what is a good 3D service to use in the US?
« Last Edit: November 15, 2013, 04:39:52 am by zapta »
Drain the swamp.
 

Offline ixfd64

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 323
  • Country: us
    • Facebook
Re: Flir E4 Thermal imaging camera teardown
« Reply #1407 on: November 15, 2013, 04:55:52 am »
I was under the impression that 24 FPS was the threshold. I guess some human eyes are more sensitive than others.

Offline olsenn

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 993
Re: Flir E4 Thermal imaging camera teardown
« Reply #1408 on: November 15, 2013, 05:04:59 am »
On LSD-25, ALL thermal imagers operate at 9Hz
 

Offline georges80

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 843
  • Country: us
Re: Flir E4 Thermal imaging camera teardown
« Reply #1409 on: November 15, 2013, 05:07:59 am »
For Canadians, Draft Print 3D was able to print and ship this piece for me in ABS for $12.00 + Tax
http://www.draftprint3d.com/ (In Toronto, shipped to Vancouver)

# Scratch that, apparently they misquoted and need to add freight. 12$ part cost only
Ended up being 13.56! Fair deal!

I am trying to order from here http://i.materialise.com/3dprintlab/instance/5c484212-4460-4c82-bfdf-b189a518ddbc  and it asks me if the design is in inches or mm. What is the right answer?

Edit: what is a good 3D service to use in the US?

Mine is designed in mm, not sure about Taucher's (I "presume" mm as well, since that's what he quoted his spoke sizes etc).

cheers,
george.
 

Offline dustout

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 24
Re: Flir E4 Thermal imaging camera teardown
« Reply #1410 on: November 15, 2013, 05:10:03 am »
Did you try adding the lines from the gui.cfg to the conf.cfg (and re-doing the CRC obviously) ?

If it's the same as the E4, the service mode config comes from a template in the flashfs\service dir. The other options are probably in there.
Here's a copy of the i7 service mode template :

I have all i7 functionality unlocked on the i3.  I'm still not able to fully unlock all service mode options such as multiple spots, alarms, etc.  I'm thinking my gui.cfg needs some additional options added to unlock the neccesary menu items/gui capabilities to access these features even though they are enabled in the main config.

To get the Measurement menu unlocked required creating a \flashfs\system\gui.d\config.d\gui.cfg file with the i7 contents you provided.  Putting these options in the main config conf.cfg seemed to have no effect -- tried at the bottom & near the top. Creating this gui.cfg file though worked to unlock the Measurement menu with the options: Spot, Area Max, Area min, Above, Below.  For my main config I'm using the service template in the flashfs\service directory which is identical to the i7 service template you provided, aside from the configuration name with i7 vs i3.  The service template + gui.cfg effectively unlocks all advertised i7 functionality on the i3.

It would be nice to unlock the extra capabilities not even bundled with the i7 to go beyond 1 spot, add alarms, etc. The top of the service config notes "# Prodconf - Measurement active + 4 mbox's and 4 spots + 1 isotherm" but it still lacks those although most everything else from the config is working.

I wonder if the other options need to be unlocked via gui.cfg.  Since these are not i7 features either (although the service template for the i3/i7 talks about them) I'm thinking some necessary configuration never made it into the i3 nor i7's gui.cfg (or possibly some other file).  Does the e4 have other options in its gui.cfg?  I at least didn't see the ".caps.config.menu.measurementMenuActive bool true" entry from gui.cfg in the e8.cfg so maybe other entries weren't copied into it either?

Here are the config files to get full advertised i7 functionality on the i3. This does not unlock the 'extra' features from the service mode template so something is still missing somewhere to get those additional things enabled:

FlashFS/system/appcore.d/config.d/conf.cfg:
Code: [Select]
#
# Prodconf - Measurement active + 4 mbox's and 4 spots + 1 isotherm
# + radiometric store, compatible radiometric format
#
.caps entry
.caps.config entry
.caps.config.name text "i3_2012"
.caps.config.revision text "1.0"
.caps.config.image entry
.caps.config.image.sysimg entry
.caps.config.image.sysimg.alarms entry
.caps.config.image.sysimg.alarms.enabled bool true
.caps.config.image.sysimg.alarms.measfunc entry
.caps.config.image.sysimg.alarms.measfunc.enabled bool true
.caps.config.image.sysimg.alarms.measfunc.maxCount int32 6
.caps.config.image.sysimg.alarms.humidity entry
.caps.config.image.sysimg.alarms.humidity.enabled bool true
.caps.config.image.sysimg.alarms.humidity.maxCount int32 1
.caps.config.image.sysimg.alarms.insulation entry
.caps.config.image.sysimg.alarms.insulation.enabled bool true
.caps.config.image.sysimg.alarms.insulation.maxCount int32 1
.caps.config.image.sysimg.measureFuncs entry
.caps.config.image.sysimg.measureFuncs.enabled bool true
.caps.config.image.sysimg.measureFuncs.diff entry
.caps.config.image.sysimg.measureFuncs.diff.enabled bool true
.caps.config.image.sysimg.measureFuncs.diff.maxCount int32 1
.caps.config.image.sysimg.measureFuncs.diff.calcMask int32 65526
.caps.config.image.sysimg.measureFuncs.isotherm entry
.caps.config.image.sysimg.measureFuncs.isotherm.enabled bool true
.caps.config.image.sysimg.measureFuncs.isotherm.calcMask int32 20
.caps.config.image.sysimg.measureFuncs.isotherm.dual bool false
.caps.config.image.sysimg.measureFuncs.isotherm.fixScale bool false
.caps.config.image.sysimg.measureFuncs.isotherm.interval bool true
.caps.config.image.sysimg.measureFuncs.isotherm.invInterval bool false
.caps.config.image.sysimg.measureFuncs.isotherm.maxCount int32 1
.caps.config.image.sysimg.measureFuncs.mbox entry
.caps.config.image.sysimg.measureFuncs.mbox.enabled bool true
.caps.config.image.sysimg.measureFuncs.mbox.calcMask int32 1924
.caps.config.image.sysimg.measureFuncs.mbox.maxCount int32 4
.caps.config.image.sysimg.measureFuncs.mcircle entry
.caps.config.image.sysimg.measureFuncs.mcircle.enabled bool false
.caps.config.image.sysimg.measureFuncs.mcircle.calcMask int32 1924
.caps.config.image.sysimg.measureFuncs.mcircle.maxCount int32 0
.caps.config.image.sysimg.measureFuncs.mline entry
.caps.config.image.sysimg.measureFuncs.mline.enabled bool false
.caps.config.image.sysimg.measureFuncs.mline.calcMask int32 1924
.caps.config.image.sysimg.measureFuncs.mline.maxCount int32 0
.caps.config.image.sysimg.measureFuncs.reftemp entry
.caps.config.image.sysimg.measureFuncs.reftemp.enabled bool true
.caps.config.image.sysimg.measureFuncs.reftemp.calcMask int32 1924
.caps.config.image.sysimg.measureFuncs.reftemp.maxCount int32 1
.caps.config.image.sysimg.measureFuncs.script entry
.caps.config.image.sysimg.measureFuncs.script.enabled false
.caps.config.image.sysimg.measureFuncs.script.maxCount int32 0
.caps.config.image.sysimg.measureFuncs.spot entry
.caps.config.image.sysimg.measureFuncs.spot.enabled bool true
.caps.config.image.sysimg.measureFuncs.spot.calcMask int32 514
.caps.config.image.sysimg.measureFuncs.spot.maxCount int32 4
.caps.config.image.sysimg.irMarkers entry
.caps.config.image.sysimg.irMarkers.enabled bool true
.caps.config.image.sysimg.irMarkers.spot entry
.caps.config.image.sysimg.irMarkers.spot.enabled bool false
.caps.config.image.sysimg.irMarkers.spot.maxCount int32 0
.caps.config.image.sysimg.irMarkers.arrow entry
.caps.config.image.sysimg.irMarkers.arrow.enabled bool true
.caps.config.image.sysimg.irMarkers.arrow.maxCount int32 4
.caps.config.image.sysimg.irMarkers.box entry
.caps.config.image.sysimg.irMarkers.box.enabled bool false
.caps.config.image.sysimg.irMarkers.box.maxCount int32
.caps.config.image.services entry
.caps.config.image.services.store entry
.caps.config.image.services.store.enabled bool true
.caps.config.image.services.store.radiometric entry
.caps.config.image.services.store.radiometric.enabled bool true
.caps.config.image.services.store.incompatible entry
.caps.config.image.services.store.incompatible.enabled bool false
.caps.config.image.services.store.incompatible.level int32 0
.caps.config.image.settings entry
.caps.config.image.settings.enabled bool true
.caps.config.image.settings.resIR int32 144
.caps.config.image.settings.fpgaResolution entry
.caps.config.image.settings.fpgaResolution.enabled bool true
.caps.config.image.settings.fpgaResolution.resIR int32 144
.caps.config.hw entry
.caps.config.hw.sdcard entry
.caps.config.hw.sdcard.enabled bool true
# ID xxx
# CRC01 xxx

FlashFS/system/gui.d/config.d/gui.cfg
Code: [Select]
#
# gui.cfg - i7
#
.caps entry
.caps.config entry
.caps.config.name text "i3_2012"
.caps.config.revision text "1.0"
.caps.config.menu entry
.caps.config.menu.enabled bool true
.caps.config.menu.measurementMenuActive bool true
.caps.config.menu.measureAreaSubmenuActive bool true
# ID xxx
# CRC01 xxx
« Last Edit: November 15, 2013, 05:19:03 am by dustout »
 

Offline Taucher

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 456
  • Country: de
  • 1DsaYDGWXEYhEKL rfrbFyYsehaAtfBWawf
Re: Flir E4 Thermal imaging camera teardown
« Reply #1411 on: November 15, 2013, 07:21:08 am »
With these mods can you guys find a way to toggle the annoying calibration popup on and off?
I don't want to be streaming video to my computer and have that damn thing continue to popup. When I shoot video I don't care if it's always fully calibrated.
Heh, that was one of the first things I fixed. Damn annoying to have it perform a nuc (calibration) juuuust when you're doing a measurement.
Code: [Select]
# turn off auto-nuc
rset .tcomp.services.autoNuc.active false
# turn on auto-nuc
rset .tcomp.services.autoNuc.active true
# trigger nuc
rset .image.services.nuc.commit true
The idea is to turn off auto-nuc, and then trigger a nuc when you think it's useful. I.e between measurements. Or not at all.  ;D
Happy uninterrupted video streaming!

My first Idea on this would be to take some unused language file and replace it with your preferred, hacked one, where that calibration text is simply "". By selecting the camera language one could switch between "show" and "hide" then.
The message text can be edited in the language-files, if the message-background does not scale down to "", then that would probably require a hack in the ressource files (unpack, hack, repack) - I guess one could make it very/totally transparent or something similar.

Turning off NUC will probably be bad for the time-lapse as the camera will drift away - but using the manual nuc command has one big advantage: one can select the framecount, thus shorten it a bit

Offline max-bit

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 492
  • Country: pl
Re: Flir E4 Thermal imaging camera teardown
« Reply #1412 on: November 15, 2013, 08:31:18 am »
15-11-2013 updated availability:
EU (Europe)
Elfa (Sweden) - Delivery planned - 19-NOV-2013 - crap after logging and add to cart shows the date the end of November, ver soft?
Farnell - product not available
RS Components  - product not available
Conrad.de - product not available 20-Nov and maybe yes maybe no  (as seen from a call tel)
USA
Mouser - No stock Delivery planned 3 weeks ?
DigiKey - product not available

the overall situation
After circling a single unit stores
Flir did not foresee that the sudden sale :) increase by 1000% :)
 

Offline Pinkus

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 665
Crashes
« Reply #1413 on: November 15, 2013, 08:38:24 am »
By the way: did anybody find a way to avoid the frequent crashes with the enhanced gui on the E4 (code from Taucher)?

I nailed it down a bit:
A crahs usually (I never had a crash in the regular spot mode) appears during moving through the color selections and almost (90%?) the color mode "Artic" is involved. Selecting other color modes before and after did not show a problem. Anything wrong with arctic.pal, or maybe selection #9?

Problem: as a color mode such as "Artic" is already be used by the software at the moment when you move the cursor on the selection (=without pressing OK), there is no way to avoid Arctic when you want to select the mode "Condensation" and the others.

Idea: would it possible to move Artic to the end of the list to avoid selecting during moving the cursor to the more important selections condensation / insulation / interval?  By having it at the end of the list you just need to select it when you really need it. Then crashes are gone and we know there is a risk when selecting Artic.


« Last Edit: November 15, 2013, 08:48:29 am by PeterK13 »
 

Offline Pinkus

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 665
Re: Flir E4 Thermal imaging camera teardown
« Reply #1414 on: November 15, 2013, 08:51:16 am »
Just regonized in arctic.pal a Tab where the other palettes does have a space. I will change this and try it out.
 

Offline Taucher

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 456
  • Country: de
  • 1DsaYDGWXEYhEKL rfrbFyYsehaAtfBWawf
Re: Crashes
« Reply #1415 on: November 15, 2013, 08:51:40 am »
By the way: did anybody find a way to avoid the frequent crashes with the enhanced gui on the E4 (code from Taucher)?
I nailed it down a bit:
A crahs usually (I never had a crash in the regular spot mode) appears during moving through the color selections and almost (90%?) the color mode "Artic" is involved. Selecting other color modes before and after did not show a problem. Anything wrong with arctic.pal, or maybe selection #9?

Hm, weird, maybe something with your E8 conf?
I have "advanced measurements" disabled, anything else: enabled
Arctic works just fine for me...

Please add "crash conditions" like "selecting delta measurement, then zapping to arctic while on manual color scale"

Offline Taucher

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 456
  • Country: de
  • 1DsaYDGWXEYhEKL rfrbFyYsehaAtfBWawf
Re: Flir E4 Thermal imaging camera teardown
« Reply #1416 on: November 15, 2013, 09:33:08 am »
Just regonized in arctic.pal a Tab where the other palettes does have a space. I will change this and try it out.
I've done some systematic tests now - seems that it's related to auto-switching of the measurement modes.
Example: select "Hotspot" (not delta), then zap to Arctic - pay attention to screen - it will show delta temp. and freeze either instantly or after a while.

Similar weird things happen when selecting no measurement and then switching between gray-based and .pal based schemes - when opening the measurement menu then it's not uncommon that spot measurement will be pre-selected

Offline Pinkus

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 665
Re: Flir E4 Thermal imaging camera teardown
« Reply #1417 on: November 15, 2013, 09:33:22 am »
First I did change the [tab] to a [space] in arctic.pal and tried it out - no difference_ crashed quickly.

Crash conditions and how to reproduce is:
· normal spot mode
· open color selection
· move cursor a few times between "Arctic" and its neighbor "Lava": crash. Also happens with "Arctic" and "Black hot". You might need jump 20x back an forth between the color modes, sometimes just 1x or 2x.

I then moved Arctic to the end of the list..... the same problem now happens with "Lava" and "Black hot". Then I moved also "Lava" towards the end - no problem anymore (if not selecting lava or arctic). Maybe the .pal files are in format the E4 does not like.
Just tested it: I jumped 40x back and forth between the first 11 color settings - no problem. Then moved to the end and jumped 2-3x between Lava and Arctic: crash

Attached is the changed file - just exchange and you are set.


« Last Edit: November 15, 2013, 09:36:00 am by PeterK13 »
 

Offline Taucher

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 456
  • Country: de
  • 1DsaYDGWXEYhEKL rfrbFyYsehaAtfBWawf
Re: Flir E4 Thermal imaging camera teardown
« Reply #1418 on: November 15, 2013, 09:41:13 am »
First I did change the [tab] to a [space] in arctic.pal and tried it out - no difference_ crashed quickly.

Crash conditions and how to reproduce is:
· normal spot mode
· open color selection
· move cursor a few times between "Arctic" and its neighbor "Lava": crash. Also happens with "Arctic" and "Black hot". You might need jump 20x back an forth between the color modes, sometimes just 1x or 2x.

I then moved Arctic to the end of the list..... the same problem now happens with "Lava" and "Black hot". Then I moved also "Lava" towards the end - no problem anymore (if not selecting lava or arctic). Maybe the .pal files are in format the E4 does not like.
Just tested it: I jumped 40x back and forth between the first 11 color settings - no problem. Then moved to the end and jumped 2-3x between Lava and Arctic: crash

Attached is the changed file - just exchange and you are set.

I've also noticed some messages like this - except the deltaspot.rsc files most of the added files were not required for the modes to operate... could be they are negative overhead:
Code: [Select]
\>Reading \FlashBFS\system\ui.d\presets.d\preset_deltaSpot.rsc [CRC OK]
Building nodes in .ui.scratchPad.deltaSpot
Time 0.028000 s
Reading \FlashBFS\system\ui.d\presets.d\preset_centerHotColdSpot.rsc [CRC OK]
Building nodes in .ui.scratchPad.centerHotColdSpot
Time 0.314000 s
Reading \FlashBFS\system\ui.d\presets.d\preset_coldSpot.rsc [CRC OK]
Building nodes in .ui.scratchPad.coldSpot
Time 0.018000 s

Offline whatchitfoool

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 33
  • Country: us
Re: Flir E4 Thermal imaging camera teardown
« Reply #1419 on: November 15, 2013, 09:47:31 am »
I was under the impression that 24 FPS was the threshold. I guess some human eyes are more sensitive than others.
The human eye responds differently to color (via the cones) and light levels[Black and while] (via the rods). 
Not getting into it too much:
The rods have a limit higher "FPS" than the cones. Your eye focuses in the center, with the outlining visual field blurred.  This is in contrast to say a picture, which generally can have the entire thing in focus at once. light coming in around the outermost diameter of the eye (Peripheral vision) will tend to only hit rods, because most of the cones are in the most center. Cones are also responsible for defining shape / sharpness. This is why you can see certain fluorescent lights flicker when its just coming in the corner of your eye, but when you look right at the light it goes solid.
Around 24 FPS is the minimum to construct the illusion of fluid motion.  even if we say your eye "sees" at precisely 24 fps, displaying some to an eye at 24fps would probably still look off.  The two systems most likely wouldn't be synced, and the eye could sample at a time when the display isnt 100% ready because its transitioning.
Phisicaly, a human eye samples at around 30-35 hertz. But this when observing more or less static things( so in essence a display of infinitesimally large FPS / infinitesimally small transitions).
When you start making the fps smaller, the transition get larger -  with more likelihood of them being sampled by the eye. If you are only caring about sharp things in color, the eye at 24hz (42ms) is an alright compromised minimum.  so you want a display of at least an order of magnitude larger = 240FPS (4.2ms)minimum.That's why monitors usually have a minium "response time" of 5ms.  Doubling 240 takes it down another 1/10th of as much chance to see the transition, so at 480 (2ms) are you  unlikely to notice the FPS not being infinitesimally large. That is why high end monitors clam at least a 2ms response time.

My eyes are one of the 5 tools I'm literally using all the time.  It pays to know how your tools work, so you know what you can and cannot do / measure with them. Everyone that has the time should spend some reading on how their eyes (and other senses tools) perform and operation.

But don't take my word* for it, Go read about it at the library! 8)

* My apologies if anything isnt 100% accurate above.  Its very late, I should be in bed, and I didnt brush up before typing this
« Last Edit: November 15, 2013, 10:04:58 am by whatchitfoool »
 

Offline _Sin

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 247
  • Country: gb
Re: Flir E4 Thermal imaging camera teardown
« Reply #1420 on: November 15, 2013, 09:49:13 am »
First I did change the [tab] to a [space] in arctic.pal and tried it out - no difference_ crashed quickly.

Crash conditions and how to reproduce is:
· normal spot mode
· open color selection
· move cursor a few times between "Arctic" and its neighbor "Lava": crash. Also happens with "Arctic" and "Black hot". You might need jump 20x back an forth between the color modes, sometimes just 1x or 2x.

I then moved Arctic to the end of the list..... the same problem now happens with "Lava" and "Black hot". Then I moved also "Lava" towards the end - no problem anymore (if not selecting lava or arctic). Maybe the .pal files are in format the E4 does not like.
Just tested it: I jumped 40x back and forth between the first 11 color settings - no problem. Then moved to the end and jumped 2-3x between Lava and Arctic: crash

Attached is the changed file - just exchange and you are set.

I have not tried this hack out, nor looked particularly closely at any of the files, but one think I do notice is that the two palettes which crash for you have no line-feed/carriage-return at the end of the file, but the high-contrast rainbow palette (which presumably works for you?) does (indeed, it has two, as there is a blank line).

There could be a bug with end-of-file parsing, causing an intermittent crash, though I'm kind of sceptical.

Programmer with a soldering iron - fear me.
 

Offline max-bit

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 492
  • Country: pl
Re: Flir E4 Thermal imaging camera teardown
« Reply #1421 on: November 15, 2013, 09:49:36 am »
What are you in the infrared refresh 25 or 50 Hz ???
 

Offline Pinkus

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 665
Re: Flir E4 Thermal imaging camera teardown
« Reply #1422 on: November 15, 2013, 09:54:45 am »
First I did change the [tab] to a [space] in arctic.pal and tried it out - no difference_ crashed quickly.

Crash conditions and how to reproduce is:
· normal spot mode
· open color selection
· move cursor a few times between "Arctic" and its neighbor "Lava": crash. Also happens with "Arctic" and "Black hot". You might need jump 20x back an forth between the color modes, sometimes just 1x or 2x.

I then moved Arctic to the end of the list..... the same problem now happens with "Lava" and "Black hot". Then I moved also "Lava" towards the end - no problem anymore (if not selecting lava or arctic). Maybe the .pal files are in format the E4 does not like.
Just tested it: I jumped 40x back and forth between the first 11 color settings - no problem. Then moved to the end and jumped 2-3x between Lava and Arctic: crash

Attached is the changed file - just exchange and you are set.

I have not tried this hack out, nor looked particularly closely at any of the files, but one think I do notice is that the two palettes which crash for you have no line-feed/carriage-return at the end of the file, but the high-contrast rainbow palette (which presumably works for you?) does (indeed, it has two, as there is a blank line).

There could be a bug with end-of-file parsing, causing an intermittent crash, though I'm kind of sceptical.
I spotted this too and already changed the .pal files (attached), so they are using the same format as the default .pal files (iron/rainbow/rainhc) (no spaces between the commas and a CR at the end). But it seems to make no difference.
« Last Edit: November 15, 2013, 09:56:33 am by PeterK13 »
 

Offline _Sin

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 247
  • Country: gb
Re: Flir E4 Thermal imaging camera teardown
« Reply #1423 on: November 15, 2013, 09:58:28 am »
I spotted this too and already changed the .pal files (attached), so they are using the same format as the default .pal files (iron/rainbow/rainhc) (no spaces between the commas and a CR at the end). But it seems to make no difference.

They are still different - no blank line, just a single CR/LF (a long shot, but perhaps worth trying!)
Programmer with a soldering iron - fear me.
 

Offline mikeselectricstuff

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 12342
  • Country: gb
    • Mike's Electric Stuff
Re: Flir E4 Thermal imaging camera teardown
« Reply #1424 on: November 15, 2013, 10:05:48 am »
With these mods can you guys find a way to toggle the annoying calibration popup on and off?

I don't want to be streaming video to my computer and have that damn thing continue to popup. When I shoot video I don't care if it's always fully calibrated.
The  problem is that it doesn't take long for some pixels to drift - I think it does slow the cal interval down as it warms up and temp stabilises, but if you set the minimum manual temp range and rainbow high-contrast pallette, you can clearly see drifty pixels starting to emerge towards the  end of the cal period
Youtube channel:Taking wierd stuff apart. Very apart.
Mike's Electric Stuff: High voltage, vintage electronics etc.
Day Job: Mostly LEDs
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf