Poll

Has the hackabiliy of the E4 made you buy one :  

Yes, I was already looking at the competition at a similar price, but the hack swung it to E4
238 (26.3%)
Yes, I'd not considered buying a TIC before, but 320x240 resolution at this price justifies it (as either tool or toy!)
425 (47%)
Yes, I was going to buy an E5/6/8 class of unit but will now get the E4
43 (4.8%)
No, but am looking out for a cheap i3 to hack
41 (4.5%)
Not yet, but probably will if now that a closed-box hack becomes is possible
158 (17.5%)

Total Members Voted: 780

Author Topic: Flir E4 Thermal imaging camera teardown  (Read 2633662 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline mtdoc

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 3576
  • Country: us
Re: Flir E4 Thermal imaging camera teardown
« Reply #6450 on: January 10, 2015, 12:36:40 am »
very impressive Janekivi!.

Even though I barely tap the features in my originally upgraded E4 - I now have feature envy.
 

Offline Co6aka

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 241
  • Country: us
Re: Flir E4 Thermal imaging camera teardown
« Reply #6451 on: January 10, 2015, 02:26:27 am »
You haven't seen nothing yet...
I think Janekivi should see some bottles of champagne from everyone soon. :-+ :clap: O0
Co6aka says, "BARK! and you have no idea how humans will respond."
 

Offline Emoticon

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 21
Re: Flir E4 Thermal imaging camera teardown
« Reply #6452 on: January 10, 2015, 04:33:32 am »
Cool???
You haven't seen nothing yet...
I upload little video for you : )

http://wikisend.com/download/260172/2015_B_O.2.avi

FYI If you record video with virtualdub you can get 15fps video recordings, I think VLC Player is also capable of it too. Great job BTW!
« Last Edit: January 10, 2015, 04:36:31 am by Emoticon »
 

Offline OrBy

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 220
Re: Flir E4 Thermal imaging camera teardown
« Reply #6453 on: January 10, 2015, 05:16:49 am »
I believe that you can set the frame rate to cap at 15 FPS but your still only getting 9 FPS of valid data. To get more then that some one would have to look into unlocking the frame rate witch has been avoided so far due to not wanting to raise legal issues.
 

Offline janekivi

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 359
  • Country: ee
Re: Flir E4 Thermal imaging camera teardown
« Reply #6454 on: January 10, 2015, 07:48:54 am »
Those videos I made with WinXP and Mediaplayer Classic.
I select there video "320x240 3.75" - is this fps? There no other options.
Then xVid MPEG-4 and they are small enough but may be I find other
software what is working for me and have more options.

And Ic_MeasureTool_ProfileGraph had wrong name in rcc, I repack it.
This is Graph icon for line. May be I'm digging in wrong place. I took
Exx software, may be I must get something from upper end.

What camera have cool stuff without need for touch screen?
 

Online Bud

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 3329
  • Country: ca
Re: Flir E4 Thermal imaging camera teardown
« Reply #6455 on: January 10, 2015, 05:15:26 pm »
some strings are confusing:
ID_SETUP_SAVE_IMAGE_RESOLUTION_SUPER_BRIEF IMAGE_RESOLUTION_SUPER
ID_SETUP_SAVE_IMAGE_RESOLUTION_NORMAL_BRIEF IMAGE_RESOLUTION_NORMAL
but .ui.userSettings.saveImageResolution is integer and default it is 0
What is this?
That seems to be another menu for setting up save image resolution but heck knows what that means.

Here is a screenshot
Facebook-free life and Rigol-free shack.
 

Offline janekivi

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 359
  • Country: ee
Re: Flir E4 Thermal imaging camera teardown
« Reply #6456 on: January 10, 2015, 05:23:12 pm »
You remember my last video preview... actually, all this is working in realtime too.
And there is alarm with sound - there was place on board for buzzer?

Now I wondering here, you had all this and more easily available all the time
and nobody wasn't turn them on? They didn't talk to everyone?
(in nonencrypted machines)

But now I'm in trouble and must say goodbye to my hideGraphics
in Nomeasure preset because measure option is using this and after "Clear"
all is clear... and nothing you add there comes visible after that.
« Last Edit: January 11, 2015, 08:29:45 am by janekivi »
 

Online Bud

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 3329
  • Country: ca
Re: Flir E4 Thermal imaging camera teardown
« Reply #6457 on: January 10, 2015, 05:45:56 pm »
HideGraphics is not a big loss.
Facebook-free life and Rigol-free shack.
 

Offline FredB

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 29
  • Country: nl
Re: Flir E4 Thermal imaging camera teardown
« Reply #6458 on: January 10, 2015, 07:23:01 pm »
More measurements is better than less or nomeasurement.... :)
 

Offline gemrough

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 42
Re: Flir E4 Thermal imaging camera teardown
« Reply #6459 on: January 11, 2015, 05:51:10 am »
thanks janekivi for your hard work. New menu is working like a charm.
 

Offline janekivi

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 359
  • Country: ee
Re: Flir E4 Thermal imaging camera teardown
« Reply #6460 on: January 11, 2015, 08:58:20 am »
Good but all my things is not working like I want...
Something I can do. For example all spots and boxes not movable always
but they can be deleted and you can add new and move this. And to settings
menu I can't add things I want. For example MSX focus value in
resource=".image.fusion.userDistance" is changeable
but how I can change .ui.userSettings.hideGraphics
to false or true?
http://wikisend.com/download/605102/2015_B_0.3.avi
 

Online Bud

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 3329
  • Country: ca
Re: Flir E4 Thermal imaging camera teardown
« Reply #6461 on: January 11, 2015, 10:31:45 am »
For example all spots and boxes not movable always

You may be stretching the camera beyond its capabilities
Facebook-free life and Rigol-free shack.
 

Offline janekivi

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 359
  • Country: ee
Re: Flir E4 Thermal imaging camera teardown
« Reply #6462 on: January 11, 2015, 12:07:51 pm »
Ok! Thanks for hint.
I found from T6xx software some needed stuff to add.
This is expanding my playground.
Give more hints and do your own experiments too.  :-+

It have .caps.config.image.services.store.superResolution.enabled
for IMAGE_RESOLUTION_ULTRAMAX :(

(But I stole from it "TimeLapse". Saves images after time you set, min 15 sec.
And I can rotate stuff on screen now. Don't tell to anybody)

Yeah... and what you think, how big in T6XX all icons and other stuff is... logo is half of screen
Where I get igons I need or how to resize?
« Last Edit: January 11, 2015, 07:59:00 pm by janekivi »
 

Offline FredB

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 29
  • Country: nl
Re: Flir E4 Thermal imaging camera teardown
« Reply #6463 on: January 11, 2015, 08:42:53 pm »
In post #888 and #910 are some files to download that are decrypted for use with earlier firmware. In this files are also icons.
 

Online Bud

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 3329
  • Country: ca
Re: Flir E4 Thermal imaging camera teardown
« Reply #6464 on: January 12, 2015, 04:43:27 am »
:-DD
Facebook-free life and Rigol-free shack.
 

Offline Garball

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 2
Re: Flir E4 Thermal imaging camera teardown
« Reply #6465 on: January 12, 2015, 04:59:00 am »
So I've read about 20 pages of the blog and it's really hard to know what to do because instructions are spread over 430 pages. I want to buy a new E4 but it would be great if there was a sticky for the latest up to date instructions (unless I'm missing something). I'm technically ok with UNIX and have a Windows 7 laptop somewhere.

Thanks.
 

Offline mamalala

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 777
  • Country: de
Re: Flir E4 Thermal imaging camera teardown
« Reply #6466 on: January 12, 2015, 05:27:20 am »
:-DD

I'm wondering if it would be possible to simply add a touchscreen overlay to the display? I mean, does the processor have the pins for that exposed or on a (unpopulated) connector somewhere?

Greetings,

Chris
 

Online Bud

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 3329
  • Country: ca
Re: Flir E4 Thermal imaging camera teardown
« Reply #6467 on: January 12, 2015, 06:35:30 am »
May possibly have a switch in the software somewhere to allow using E4 hard keys. Will keep looking
 8)
Facebook-free life and Rigol-free shack.
 

Online Bud

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 3329
  • Country: ca
Re: Flir E4 Thermal imaging camera teardown
« Reply #6468 on: January 12, 2015, 06:51:00 am »
So I've read about 20 pages of the blog and it's really hard to know what to do because instructions are spread over 430 pages. I want to buy a new E4 but it would be great if there was a sticky for the latest up to date instructions (unless I'm missing something). I'm technically ok with UNIX and have a Windows 7 laptop somewhere.

Thanks.

Be realistic, nobody will sit and dig through 400 pages to write instructions for you and then keep them current , since you want "the latest up to date". How do you expect one to do this.
But i will make it easier for you- all necessary information for a new e4 is in the last 50 pages. I did not read the whole thread either.

Facebook-free life and Rigol-free shack.
 

Offline janekivi

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 359
  • Country: ee
Re: Flir E4 Thermal imaging camera teardown
« Reply #6469 on: January 12, 2015, 02:37:11 pm »
There was table and I can select data to table and save but... touch
https://www.eevblog.com/forum/testgear/flir-e4-thermal-imaging-camera-teardown/msg582236/#msg582236
Now I disabled it and have there "Sketch". Pen is useless but I can add markers.
For recording I found "TimeLapse" and "Screening".
For Measuretools I found 2 "User Presets" - you can make them and save.
Advanced measuretools - Line have "Center and Rotate"
Alrms can be set.
About HideGraphics - clear screen - they have programmable button on some cameras
and this function can be set to it.

What I found out, there some things needs enabling in many places and many things.
With that video recording - I need help. I can't figure out that easily what I must enable
and set in resource. I need [rls -rl > \FlashIFS\allsettings-yourcameratype.txt] from
camera which have video, from EXX is good.
« Last Edit: January 12, 2015, 02:56:30 pm by janekivi »
 

Offline janekivi

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 359
  • Country: ee
Re: Flir E4 Thermal imaging camera teardown
« Reply #6470 on: January 12, 2015, 05:19:32 pm »
I want to buy a new E4 but it would be great if there was a sticky for the latest up to date instructions (unless I'm missing something).
So, buying instructions...
There was info where is the cheapest deals but actually this is "Flir E4 Thermal imaging camera teardown" and we taking 2.3.0 software apart right now.
 

Offline gemrough

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 42
Re: Flir E4 Thermal imaging camera teardown
« Reply #6471 on: January 12, 2015, 05:40:23 pm »
Here is instructions for resolution hack for 2.3.0. I am re posting this with a few edits to the original:

(originally posted by compet17)

STEP BY STEP INSTRUCTIONS for Flir E4 (Firmware 2.3.0) for beginners (How I did it... and it worked)
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

(If somebody finds an error in this procedure, please tell me immediately and I will correct it)

- Get FlirTools from Flir website (free download) PC version recommended (Note: V5 does not work on Win XP...)
Get 4.1 here:http://cdn.cloud.flir.se/update/flir tools/4.1.14066.1001/flir tools.zip
- Install FlirTools on your PC
- Get the files "Set_RNDIS_temporary.fif" and "Set_RNDIS_permanent.fif" from this forum here.
- If you want to use the "permanent" file, you also need "remove_RNDIS_Permanent.fif"
   (Temporary.fif sets the USB of your cam to RNDIS mode UNTIL A REBOOT. Permanent does the same but it stays in RNDIS until YOU RUN   
     REMOVE.fif)
- Get E4 hack "v04.zip" for Version 2.3.0 here.
- I assume that the installation of FlirTools does also install the camera driver. If not install it manually. Links are found in this thread
- Get PYTHON version 2.x (not version 3.x!) from the Python website and install it. This is needed to run the hack script. It's a programming language.

- Connect your E4 via USB to your PC and turn it on
- Go to "Programs(x86)/Flir systems/Flir Tools/bin and execute FLIRInstallNet.exe (this is part of the FlirTools software installed in step 2)
- Select the Set_RNDIS_xxxxxxx.fif (permanent or temporary) and click RUN FIF button.
  (A timeout error is normal after the command has succeeded because USB is now set to RNDIS mode)
(On mine I had to disconnect and hard reboot for the change to show up.... which meant I had to use the permanent file.  I had to use a win 8 PC.  After the Hard reboot I moved to a win XP PC)
- Wait a moment and open a CMD window, then enter IPCONFIG
- An additional network connection should be listed with IP Address 192.168.0.1 and gateway 192.168.0.2
- Enter "FTP", then "open 192.168.0.2" and a connection to your cam should be established
- Login with user "flir" and password "3vlig"
- Issue a "dir" command and the files and directories of your cam are listed.
- If all that works, type "quit" to exit and close ftp connection.

- copy the hack files from the v04.zip into the PYTHON folder.
- open CMD, use the command cd and go into python folder and enter "python apply.py apply 192.168.0.2"
- it will read two files from your cam and stores them in a backup folder, then it will do some magic with the files.
- you will find newly created conf.cfc and common_dll.dll in that folder and upload them back to the camera.

- In case you get an error 500 at the upload, you have to upload the files manually by FTP:

*** Only in case of error 500 ***
- Open CMD and FTP again and connect to your camera as before
- go to the indicated folders (cd /foldername/foldername/foldername)
- check the folder with "pwd" to make sure you're in the right one
- Use the lcd command to change to your local directory where the conf and common files are.
- put the files to the correct folders (put filename)

MAKE SURE YOU PUT THE RIGHT FILES INTO THE RIGHT FOLDER!!!
***------***

- Reboot your cam by removing/inserting the battery
- Be happy!!!

- It is possible that the measuring spot is off center after reboot. Turn the spot off/on in the setup menu of the cam and it should be centered.
« Last Edit: January 29, 2015, 07:56:23 pm by gemrough »
 

Online Bud

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 3329
  • Country: ca
Re: Flir E4 Thermal imaging camera teardown
« Reply #6472 on: January 12, 2015, 06:06:28 pm »
gemrough,
Now expect them saying my zoom/pip/scale/whatever not working please help
Facebook-free life and Rigol-free shack.
 

Offline gemrough

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 42
Re: Flir E4 Thermal imaging camera teardown
« Reply #6473 on: January 12, 2015, 06:23:51 pm »
gemrough,
Now expect them saying my zoom/pip/scale/whatever not working please help

LOL I know....
 

Online Bud

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 3329
  • Country: ca
Re: Flir E4 Thermal imaging camera teardown
« Reply #6474 on: January 12, 2015, 07:42:46 pm »
...that is why a new person should go 50 pages back and read.

And it is not hard to do, two months ago i had no idea about the camera. By now i learned how to navigate through the file structure, learned some QML, had good start using information others posted, and now can try different  tweaks by myself.
Facebook-free life and Rigol-free shack.
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf