Author Topic: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread  (Read 436386 times)

Marty1920 and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Sakalas26

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 2
  • Country: lt
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #1000 on: August 23, 2020, 12:27:30 pm »
I am connecting via wi-fi. Setting the camera in the USB rndis mode, and then pinging the camera's IP by typing "ping IRCAM...." in cmd. I am able to connect to the camera using FileZilla, and then the fun part starts while using putty.
 

Offline victorhooi

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 25
  • Country: au
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #1001 on: August 30, 2020, 04:03:40 am »
I have a Flir E4 Wifi, and I am trying to hack the resolution per Weston's summmary in this earlier post.

Unfortunately, even after applying the changes - my IR resolution is still 80 x 60  :-\. Is anybody able to help, or spot anything wrong with the below steps?

Here are my unit details:
  • Model: E4 2.0L
  • Serial Number: 639053926
  • Part number: 63906-0604
  • Firmware version: 3.16.0 (out of the box)
I have downloaded the following files:
  • Basic_3.12.0.zip (link)
  • common_dll_3.16.zip (link)
  • cfccfg_V2.zip (link)
On my Mac, I used homebrew to install lftp (FTP client), as well as telnet.

I then connected the E4 to my local Wifi network, and checked my DHCP leases to find the IP address of the E4.

I used lftp to make a full backup from the root directory ("/") of the E4 (some files couldn't be backed up - see attached).

I then connected via telnet, and got the suid of the E4:

Code: [Select]
$ telnet -l flir 10.5.1.215
Trying 10.5.1.215...
Connected to 10.5.1.215.
Escape character is '^]'.

Welcome to the Windows CE Telnet Service on IRCAM3926

FLIR Command Line Interpreter
Version 0.4.3 running on WinCE 6.0

\>suid
57E5D3020060152E
\>exit

Connection closed by foreign host.
I then edited the conf.cfg file extracted from Basic_3.12.0.zip - the last two lines then read:
Code: [Select]
# ID 639053926
# CRC03 11223344
(I left the hash at the beginning of the line, I assume they are needed?)

I ran the cfccfg_v2.py script to create conf.cfc:

Code: [Select]
$ python ./cfccfg_V2.py 57E5D3020060152E conf.cfg conf.cfc
(It didn't return any output)

I then connected via telnet to the camera, and ran stopapp:
Code: [Select]
\>stopapp

\>ps -k facet

\>ps -k uicore

\>ps -k Gui

\>ps -k Prod

\>ps -k prod

\>ps -k MediaServer

\>ps -k appcore
Failed to terminate process 0x5BA000E (170)

\>ps -k AppServices
Successfully terminated process 0x6AA000A

\>ps -k Resmon
Successfully terminated process 0x6BC000A

\>ps -k Bit

\>ps -k syslog

\>ps -k Cam

\>ps -k cam

\>ps -k geni

\>ps -k dig

\>ps -k watch

\>ps -k Watch

\>ps -k RTP

\>ps -k fwa

\>ps -k progress

\>ps -k dig

\>ps -k Med

\>ps -k ChargeApp
Successfully terminated process 0x406000E
I then connected via lftp, and uploaded a new common_dll.dll file:

Code: [Select]
$ lftp -u flir,3vlig 10.5.1.215
lftp flir@10.5.1.215:/> cd FlashBFS/
lftp flir@10.5.1.215:/FlashBFS> cd system/
lftp flir@10.5.1.215:/FlashBFS/system> mv common_dll.dll common_dll_org.dll
mv common_dll.dll=>common_dll_org.dll [Waiting for response...]
rename successful
lftp flir@10.5.1.215:/FlashBFS/system> put common_dll.dll
1276928 bytes transferred in 2 seconds (647.2 KiB/s)
lftp flir@10.5.1.215:/FlashBFS/system> exit
I then powered off the E4, and powered it on again - it turned on successfully.

The next step was to transfer the conf.cfc file.

I didn't run stopapp this time via telnet, as the README doesn't mention it.

Code: [Select]
$ lftp -u flir,3vlig 10.5.1.215
lftp flir@10.5.1.215:~> cd FlashFS/system/appcore.d/config.d/
lftp flir@10.5.1.215:/FlashFS/system/appcore.d/config.d> ls
04-09-19  12:40                 6608 conf.cfc
lftp flir@10.5.1.215:/FlashFS/system/appcore.d/config.d> mv conf.cfc conf_org.cfc
mv conf.cfc=>conf_org.cfc [Waiting for response...]
rename successful
lftp flir@10.5.1.215:/FlashFS/system/appcore.d/config.d> put conf.cfc
7712 bytes transferred
lftp flir@10.5.1.215:/FlashFS/system/appcore.d/config.d> exit

I then powered down the camera, removed the battery for several seconds, then powered it on again.

The E4 turned on successfully, and I took a photo.

I then uploaded this photo to a Windows machine, to run FLIR tools on it - however, the IR resolution is still 80 x 60  |O. (The filesize of the output is also the same as before.)

I've attached my conf.cfg and conf.cfc files, in case there's something obvious there, as well as two JPGs, one before the changes, and one after.

Is anybody able to help please?
 

Offline Bud

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 6877
  • Country: ca
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #1002 on: August 30, 2020, 06:21:23 am »
Make copies of the original dll and cfc files to your computer and delete them from the camera. Only one cfc file must be in the folder.
Facebook-free life and Rigol-free shack.
 

Offline victorhooi

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 25
  • Country: au
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #1003 on: August 30, 2020, 02:30:20 pm »
Hi Bud,

Thanks for your awesome work on this guide, and for helping answer this issue.

You were correct - I deleted the FlashFS\system\appcore.d\config.d\conf_org.cfc file (and also common_dll_org.dll), and rebooted - and the resolution is now 320x80.

Code: [Select]
lftp flir@10.5.1.215:/FlashBFS/system> get common_dll_org.dll
1276928 bytes transferred in 4 seconds (348.6 KiB/s)
lftp flir@10.5.1.215:/FlashBFS/system> rm common_dll_org.dll
rm ok, `common_dll_org.dll' removed
lftp flir@10.5.1.215:/FlashBFS/system> cd ..
lftp flir@10.5.1.215:/FlashBFS> cd ..
lftp flir@10.5.1.215:/> cd FlashFS/system/appcore.d/config.d/
lftp flir@10.5.1.215:/FlashFS/system/appcore.d/config.d> ls
04-09-19  20:40                 6608 conf_org.cfc
08-30-20  06:26                 7712 conf.cfc
lftp flir@10.5.1.215:/FlashFS/system/appcore.d/config.d> get conf_org.cfc
6608 bytes transferred
lftp flir@10.5.1.215:/FlashFS/system/appcore.d/config.d> rm conf_org.cfc
rm ok, `conf_org.cfc' removed
I did notice that the cross-hair is now in the top left corner, and not in the centre.

Is there a recommended way of fixing this so the crosshair is back in the middle all the time?

I also then copied the other files into place.

Code: [Select]
Victors-MacBook-Pro-Personal:system victorhooi$ pwd
/Users/victorhooi/Documents/flir_e4_resolution_hack/hacked_files/Basic_3.12.0/FlashBFS/system
Code: [Select]
Victors-MacBook-Pro-Personal:system victorhooi$ lftp -u flir,3vlig 10.5.1.215
lftp flir@10.5.1.215:/> cd FlashBFS/
lftp flir@10.5.1.215:/FlashBFS> cd system
lftp flir@10.5.1.215:/FlashBFS/system> !ls
appcore.d arctic.pal battery.icons heat_det.pal lava.pal rainhc.pal ui.d
lftp flir@10.5.1.215:/FlashBFS/system> mput *.pal
12249 bytes transferred
Total 4 files transferred
lftp flir@10.5.1.215:/FlashBFS/system> cd appcore.d/factory.d/
lftp flir@10.5.1.215:/FlashBFS/system/appcore.d/factory.d> put appcore.d/factory.d/ui_control.rsc
461 bytes transferred
lftp flir@10.5.1.215:/FlashBFS/system/appcore.d/factory.d> cd ../..
lftp flir@10.5.1.215:/FlashBFS/system> cd ui.d/
lftp flir@10.5.1.215:/FlashBFS/system/ui.d> put ui.d/design_ui.xml
50680 bytes transferred
lftp flir@10.5.1.215:/FlashBFS/system/ui.d> put ui.d/facet.rcc
960556 bytes transferred in 2 seconds (397.3 KiB/s)
lftp flir@10.5.1.215:/FlashBFS/system/ui.d> put ui.d/toolbar-config.xml
2716 bytes transferred
lftp flir@10.5.1.215:/FlashBFS/system/ui.d> cd presets.d/
lftp flir@10.5.1.215:/FlashBFS/system/ui.d/presets.d> mput ui.d/presets.d/*.rsc
9750 bytes transferred in 1 second (8.0 KiB/s)
Total 9 files transferred
lftp flir@10.5.1.215:/FlashBFS/system/ui.d/presets.d> cd ../..
lftp flir@10.5.1.215:/FlashBFS/system> cd battery.icons/
lftp flir@10.5.1.215:/FlashBFS/system/battery.icons> put battery.icons/
lftp flir@10.5.1.215:/FlashBFS/system/battery.icons> mput battery.icons/*
79964 bytes transferred
Total 2 files transferred

I am still playing around with the new settings.

One thing I noticed - for measurement mode, Hot spot - it finds the hottest spot on the screen, within the central bounding box.

Is there some way of setting it up so that it finds the hottest spot on the screen, not just within the central bounding box?
« Last Edit: August 30, 2020, 02:44:57 pm by victorhooi »
 

Offline Bud

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 6877
  • Country: ca
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #1004 on: August 30, 2020, 03:04:32 pm »
Turn the crosshair off and back on and it should fix itself.

For the hotspot this is how it is supposed to work. You can try increasing the bounding box size, try looking in the hotspot preset file for the box coordinates on the screen.
Facebook-free life and Rigol-free shack.
 

Offline calel

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 97
  • Country: ch
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #1005 on: September 15, 2020, 11:53:49 pm »
hey folks just a quick question anyone know for certain if the (original) Fubar hack - the one that only works on 2.3.0 - also completely disables the artificial noise generator? cause I dont recall reading about the noise generator on his tutorial

if no one knows, then anyone know how can I verify if it's disabled or not? is it something as simple as logging into the cam with password, and opening a text file in it? (like an ini file or something)
 

Offline Bud

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 6877
  • Country: ca
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #1006 on: September 17, 2020, 04:02:08 am »
Fubar did not do any e4 hacks. Fubar only collected and put together information in a form of step by step procedure. For the hacks for  v2.3.0 search for posts from the user janekivi.  As to the "original" , credits go to several people who developed it for earlier software versions prior to v2.3.0. And this is a wrong thread , you should be posting in the original E4 thread where information for v2.3.0 was released.
Facebook-free life and Rigol-free shack.
 

Offline calel

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 97
  • Country: ch
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #1007 on: September 17, 2020, 05:24:08 am »
ok so now I'm confused

this is the thread for 'FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack'

so you mean there's a seperate thread for 'FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack for 2.3.0'?  ??? (so this here thread is for non-2.3.0 hacks only? but it dont specify that in the title)


PS. I just wanted know if the hack for the E4 version 2.3.0 (the one on the old fubar.gr site) also disabled the noise generator
« Last Edit: September 17, 2020, 05:25:52 am by calel »
 

Offline Fraser

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 13148
  • Country: gb
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #1008 on: September 17, 2020, 11:49:33 am »
Calel,

I can understand your confusion so I will answer as it may help others as well.

In the beginning, way back in 2013, when the E4 was released and people like Mike were delving into its inner workings, the FLIR E4 Teardown thread was created by Mike and included his video. That thread created a lot of interest amongst the forum membership and the thread quickly grew to a very large number of posts that were discussing ways to improve the camera. The post count grew so large that the forum thread Handling configuration had to be changed ! The thread was about the Ex series and became the default location for all discussion on upgrading the camera. In hindsight, maybe a separate thread titled Ex series upgrade should have been created. To be honest, those who knew about ten E4 tended to congregate in the teardown thread so no one needed a separate thread for the upgrade.

Time moved on and FLIR released new versions of the Ex series and these included a version with a Wi-Fi module installed. Discussions regarding upgrading of the E4 on the teardown thread started to become confusing now that there were two distance versions of the E4 camera. It was decided, very sensibly I might add, to create a separate thread that covered the later version of ten E4 that was available with or without Wi-Fi. The upgrade was a different process due to FLIR encryption countermeasures. This thread that I am writing in is applicable to just the later versions of E4 and the associated firmware versions that are encrypted. Bud has done a lot of work on the upgrade to the later E4 model and is to be applauded for his efforts and dedication to the task  :clap:

I hope you will understand that efforts are made to keep discussions about the two Ex series versions in their respective threads to avoid confusing newcomers to the forum.

If you look at the FLIR E4 Teardown thread first post by Mike, you will see that he has detailed the cameras firmware versions that are covered in that thread and has provided links to the relevant posts. You have an early version of tenE4 so that mammoth thread is your best friend. It contains masses of useful information that goes way beyond the upgrade alone  :-+ Some of the content is also applicable to the later Ex camera versions as well.

https://www.eevblog.com/forum/thermal-imaging/flir-e4-thermal-imaging-camera-teardown/

I produced a “E4 Useful information thread” to provide newcomers to the E4 with information that was not related to the upgrade. There is much to learn about thermal cameras and I wanted to help on that front. I will add th slink to that thread below for you to read.

You can do worse than use the forums search function to find all threads relating to the Ex, E4, Exx and E40 as they are full of useful information. In fact this whole sub forum focussed on thermal imaging is an amazing repository of knowledge found nowhere else on the internet. I personally dislike having to answer the Sam questions time and again and tend to ignore posts that are easily answered using the forum search function or good old research using Google.


The E4 Useful information thread.......

https://www.eevblog.com/forum/thermal-imaging/flir-e4-the-useful-information-thread/

Sadly I did not keep adding to it but the content may be of interest.

Fraser
« Last Edit: September 17, 2020, 11:55:19 am by Fraser »
If I have helped you please consider a donation : https://gofund.me/c86b0a2c
 
The following users thanked this post: randfee

Offline calel

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 97
  • Country: ch
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #1009 on: September 18, 2020, 01:01:59 am »
btw the splash screen that says "Special Edition" is an image right? it's part of the mod

is it just a separate image file? (if so can it be easily replaced with the original Flir splash?)

 

Offline exe

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 2559
  • Country: nl
  • self-educated hobbyist
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #1010 on: September 22, 2020, 10:07:09 am »
Are all E4 hackable, or it requires certain firmware versions? (sorry if I missed that in the long thread)
 

Offline bdeianov

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 10
  • Country: us
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #1011 on: September 27, 2020, 05:54:08 am »
Success with a E5xt, hardware 2.1L, firmware 3.16.0. Installed the basic, advanced and Christmas packs, all working OK.

I needed the XML snippet in reply #941 to see the user preset icons in the Measurement menu. I now have the same menu items as listed in reply #944.

I needed the XML snippet in reply #956 to get back the second temperature range. With that addition, both ranges work and appear to be accurate.

Thanks, Bud! (I understand Bud doesn't support these mods on non-E4 models.)
 
The following users thanked this post: exe, hpmaxim

Offline jrannison

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 5
  • Country: us
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #1012 on: October 16, 2020, 06:23:26 pm »
Hello everyone.......

I am new to this forum and have gone through many pages (but not all), so here are my questions:
I recently bought a used E6 1.2L, P/N 63902-0202 with S/W 2.11.0. , which functions fine.
Is it now possible to upgrade to the E8 resolution, and if possible add some of the enhancements which Bud has developed?
If possible then what pages to start at?

Thanks much
John
 

Offline alphonse777

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 4
  • Country: fr
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #1013 on: October 22, 2020, 06:53:49 am »
Dear All,

I have a E6 camera from Aug 2016
I could install the SW combinaison from
SW combination   2.11.0 + Free enhanced menu some years ago.

Question 1 :
I'm not sure that I have 320x240 resolution,

Looking inside JPEG exif file ->

Filename - FLIR0485.jpg
Make - FLIR Systems AB
Model - FLIR E6
Orientation - Top left
XResolution - 72
YResolution - 72
ResolutionUnit - Inch
Software - 2.11.0
DateTime - 2020:10:21 06:03:28
YCbCrPositioning - Centered
ExifOffset - 202
ExposureTime - 1/43.2 seconds
ExifVersion - 0220
DateTimeOriginal - 2020:10:21 06:03:28
DateTimeDigitized - 2020:10:21 06:03:28
ComponentsConfiguration - CrCb
FocalLength - 6.50 mm
FlashPixVersion - 0100
ColorSpace - sRGB
ExifImageWidth - 320
ExifImageHeight - 240
DigitalZoomRatio - 1.00 x

Reply : looked inside the 'I' information file in the camera and got the info, I'm still 160x120 pixels ...

Is there a way to increase thermal resolution to 320x240 for this model ??
 

2. I tried to upgrade to 3.12 and give a luck to it ... (saved all files before in my PC -> MANDATORY)

------
Update procedure for E4 v3.12.0
Basic Package
------

Camera does not start... after update of  common_dll.dll (that was 1 222 216 byte size)
Tried twice. Failed twice.
Not way to get FTP connexion with account / password  -> flir / 3vlig

I have to perform a recovery procedure that worked well (fortunately) with account / password  -> anonymous + NcFTP@

If I just update the encrypted file conf.cfc, the camera starts but I lost all MSX features and resolution decrease also ...

So I restored all files in FlashFS, FlashIFS and FlashBFS and was OK.

My undertandind is that

common_dll.dll and conf.cfc are bound and does not work for my E6 camera.

In the readme file, the # ID is changed but not the
 -------
6. Open the supplied conf.cfg , scroll down to the very bottom to the line that starts with "# ID " and replace the 9-digit number with your camera serial number.
   Save the file.
--------

What about  ?

# CRC03 11223344

No need to update it ?

Rgds,
« Last Edit: October 22, 2020, 08:17:26 am by alphonse777 »
 

Offline jrannison

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 5
  • Country: us
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #1014 on: October 25, 2020, 06:53:43 pm »
I was able to update my E6, 1.2L, with Flir S/W: 3.16.0, to Bud’s “Basic Package” and did verify 320X240 resolution by using Flir Tools 5.13. Any other add-on features will not work so far.
Just follow Bud’s Basic Package procedure. The files I ONLY used are:
1.   Basic Package 3.12.0: config.cfg
2.    Cfccfg.V2.py file
3.   Flirvers.rsc file; from the E6…..will not show up unless you are logged in as: flir, P/W: 3vlig utilizing FlieZilla.
4.   Common_dll.dll ver.3.16
I did not us any other files because for example the files in Ui.d have a different original file name format with apparently the E5,6 units. (example: design_ui_z3.xml)

When you import the images into Flir Tools, it will indicate the correct resolution. I obtained both resolutions from my E6 and you can see the difference also.
« Last Edit: October 25, 2020, 08:44:46 pm by jrannison »
John
 

Offline Bud

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 6877
  • Country: ca
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #1015 on: October 25, 2020, 07:03:41 pm »
If I just update the encrypted file conf.cfc, the camera starts but I lost all MSX features and resolution decrease also ...


You can't change conf.cfc until you replace commondll.dll and the camera boots properly. Do not attempt to trying anything else until you get the new commondll working. I can't tell though if the E6 has a different one from the E4.
Facebook-free life and Rigol-free shack.
 

Offline jrannison

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 5
  • Country: us
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #1016 on: October 25, 2020, 11:19:58 pm »
As an update of what I just posted earlier today.
My E6 as I obtained it was a E6 1.2L  S/W Ver. 2.11.0
Updated to current Flir  S/W 3.16.0......Then did the updates.

I was able to update to Bud’s “Basic” and “Advanced”. Just followed the procedures.
My previous concern of a different file name format for the E5,6 units was not an issue. Just add the new files.
I might note that a few of the files in presets.d within the E6 were already there and I did not overwrite them.
 Everything seems to function correctly…so far.

I would like to thank Bud and all the others for all their hard work!
John
 
The following users thanked this post: Bud

Offline alphonse777

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 4
  • Country: fr
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #1017 on: October 26, 2020, 01:45:08 pm »
To jrannison ->
Seems you were successful with E6 camera ... I was not.

Did you follow the basic procedure as described or changed something ?

Also, are you now 320x240 for sure ?

Thanks
 

Offline jrannison

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 5
  • Country: us
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #1018 on: October 26, 2020, 08:27:45 pm »
To jrannison ->
Seems you were successful with E6 camera ... I was not.

Did you follow the basic procedure as described or changed something ?

Also, are you now 320x240 for sure ?

Thanks

Yes I did confirm the 320x240 resolution…..Please read my previous 2 posts. There is some information there.
I first updated my E6 to the current (latest) Flir software 3.16.0

There are a few errors in the text procedure dated January 10, 2018 by Bud.

Line 3.1 should be……..FlashIFS\flirvers.rsc (not version.rsc).
This file resides on the E6 and should be in your backup. That is a text file and the SUID is on the second line down. As a note I found you must log in on the FTP client as: flir   Password: 3vlig.......If you log in as: anonymous  Password: NcFTP@  the file is not visible, and also will not be backed up.
Line 3.2 was not necessary for me.

Line 6 Mentions 9-digit number.........the pervious versions (in my case 1.2L) of the camera has only 8-digits, just enter the 8 digits.

Line 7 was a little confusing as it never mentions the path of where the files are located. In my case I just created a folder named UF at the root C: drive. Placed the cfccfg_V2.py and the Conf.cfg files in there.
Then executed the following in the Command.com window:
C:\cd\Python27
Python  C:\UF\cfccfg.V2.py  XXX(the SUID num.)XXX  C:\UF\conf.cfg  C:\UF\conf.cfc

That places the created conf.cfc in the UF folder.

Hope this helps.
John
 

Offline Bud

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 6877
  • Country: ca
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #1019 on: October 26, 2020, 10:30:02 pm »
There are a few errors in the text procedure dated January 10, 2018 by Bud.

They are not errors, but differences between the E4 for which the procedure was developed and your E6.
Facebook-free life and Rigol-free shack.
 

Offline jrannison

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 5
  • Country: us
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #1020 on: October 27, 2020, 04:57:14 am »
There are a few errors in the text procedure dated January 10, 2018 by Bud.

They are not errors, but differences between the E4 for which the procedure was developed and your E6.

Well that is true. I only have seen the E6. Just an incorrect phrase that I used.
John
 

Offline Mannyb

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 8
  • Country: ca
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #1021 on: November 01, 2020, 12:50:55 am »
Hi All
i have Flir E4 with software 3.16
it was successfully liberated and i've got 320X 240 Resolution
but there's POP up saying "This device has Unsupported software for learning" during boot
i spent hours trial and error which file causes the POP up which is very inconvenience
and found out it is the uploaded Facet.rcc, using original facet_Z3.rcc, the pop up disappear, but some icon picture on the menu is missing, the menu are fully functional even though icon picture is missing or doesn't appear.
any help to resolve or appear the missing icon would be appreciated
thanks
 

Offline Fraser

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 13148
  • Country: gb
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #1022 on: November 01, 2020, 01:01:23 am »
The author of the E4-WiFi upgrade placed that notification there for good reason so I doubt anyone here is going to help remove it as we respect his wishes.
If I have helped you please consider a donation : https://gofund.me/c86b0a2c
 

Offline Mannyb

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 8
  • Country: ca
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #1023 on: November 02, 2020, 11:19:02 pm »
Thanks Fraser for your reply
the E4 product is old and discontinued, means there's no more production, i can't see the logic or good reason for putting that inconvenience pop up. it's like a helpless man that has been helped, but he is being reminded everyday that he has been help. LOL
a genuine help and support should be free... thanks anyway
 

Offline Fraser

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 13148
  • Country: gb
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #1024 on: November 02, 2020, 11:51:18 pm »
The upgraded E4 Wi-Fi model is vulnerable to issues if a new FLIR firmware release is ever loaded. Some profiteers sold upgraded E4 cameras on eBay but did not warn the buyers that the cameras had this vulnerability. The designer of the upgrade wanted to make sure that no one could pass off the E4 Wi-Fi as a standard firmware build, it is not, unlike the early (FW 1.18/1.19) versions of the E4.
If I have helped you please consider a donation : https://gofund.me/c86b0a2c
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf